Related Topics
Missouri Animal Species
Print Resources
- Amphibians and Reptiles of Missouri
Ellis Library Reference QL 653 .M8J64 1987 - Birds in Missouri
Ellis Library Reference QL 684 .M8 .J33 2001 - Birds of Missouri Their Distribution and Abundance
Ellis Library Reference QL 684 .M8R6 1992 - Butterflies and Moths of Missouri
Ellis Library Reference QL 551 .M8H45 1987 - Fishes of Missouri
Ellis Library Reference QL 628 .M8P47 1997 - Wild Mammals of Missouri
Ellis Library Reference QL 719 .M853 2001
Websites
- Missouri Conservation Department Nature Page
Provides access to the Missouri Fish and Wildlife Information System, a searchable database of over 700 species of fish and wildlife in Missouri. Information also available on endangered species in Missouri.
Databases
- Biological Abstracts
Biological Abstracts encompasses all disciplines of the life sciences including zoology. Over 6,500 journals worldwide are monitored for inclusion in the database. Try searching by scientific name, common name or taxon. Links to some full-text. Coverage is 1980 to date. Earlier years are available in print: Ellis Library Reference QH 301 .B37
How to limit your search results geographically to Missouri: After creating a set of search terms, click on the Limit button at the top of the screen. Scan down to the bottom of the page and select Missouri from the States Provinces and Territories category. Click on the Limit Search button at the bottom of the screen. - Fish and Fisheries Worldwide
Fish and Fisheries Worldwide provides citations and some abstracts on all aspects of ichthyology, fisheries, and related aspects of aquaculture. Major topics include culture and propagation, limnology and oceanography, genetics and behavior, natural history, parasites, diseases, habitat management, fish processing/marketing, general research, and fisheries management. The database includes, FISHLIT (1985-date), Fisheries Review (1971-date), Fish Subset of Medline (1966-date), Fishing Industry Research Institute (FIRI) Database, Fish Database (1960-date), Castell's Nutrition References (1970-date), AQUACULTURE (1970-1984), Fish Health News (1978-1985).
How to limit your search results geographically to Missouri: lnclude Missouri as one of your search terms. For example: Missouri and catfish - Wildlife and Ecology Studies Worldwide
Wildlife Worldwide indexes literature on wild mammals, birds, reptiles, and amphibians. All aspects of wildlife and wildlife management are covered. This resource is comprised of: Wildlife Review Abstracts (1935 and earlier to date), Swiss Wildlife I nformation Service (1974 to date), Wildlife Database (1960 to date), BIODOC (1970-1989), Waterfowl and Wetlands Database (1838 to date), and the IUCN - World Conservation Union (1946 to date).
How to limit you search results geographically to Missouri: Include Missouri as one of your search terms. For example: Missouri and beaver - Zoological Record
Zoological Record indexes and abstracts worldwide zoological literature. The database provides references from over 6,500 international journals, review annuals, monographs, meeting proceedings, books, and reports. All major areas of zoology are represented, including: behavior, ecology, evolution, habitat, nutrition, parasitology, reproduction, taxonomy, and zoogeography. Coverage is 2005 to date.
How to limit you search results geographically to Missouri: Include Missouri as one of your search terms. For example: Missouri and beaver - Biological Abstracts/Zoological Record
This link allows you to search both databases, Biological Abstracts and Zoological Record , simultaneously.
Last Updated: 9/11/09