Mammals
Print Resources
- Encyclopedia of
Mammals
Ellis Library Reference QL 703 .E53 2001 (3
volumes)
- Field Guide to the Larger Mammals of
Africa
Ellis Library Reference QL 731 .A1S88
1998
- Grzimek's Animal Life Encyclopedia
Ellis
Library Ready Reference QL 7 .G7813 2003 (Volumes 12-16: Mammals
I-V)
- Mammalian
Species FindIt@MU
Ellis Library Reference QL 700 .M263
- Mammals (Peterson Field Guide)
Ellis Library Reference QL 715 .B8
1980
- National Audubon Society Guide to Marine Mammals of
the World
Ellis Library Reference QL 713.2 .N37
2002
- Walker's Carnivores of the
World
Ellis Library Reference QL 737 .C2N69 2005
- Walker's Mammals of the World
Ellis Library
Reference QL 703 .N68 1999
Websites
- eNature.com
Searchable database to Audubon
animal and plant field guides.
- Mammal Species of the
World
Smithsonian Institution National Museum of
Natural History's Database of mammalian taxonomy. Searchable by
common and scientific name. Database provides distribution
information and key references.
- Mammalian
Species
This American Society of
Mammalogists' site contains a cumulative index of species accounts from
the long-running AMS publication, Mammalian
Species . The species accounts summarize current
knowledge of a single species, including systematics, distribution,
fossil history, genetics, anatomy, physiology, behavior, ecology, and
conservation." The most current species summaries are available at BioOne . Print
issues are available at Ellis Library Reference QL700 .M263.
Databases
- Biological
Abstracts
Biological Abstracts encompasses all
disciplines of the life sciences including zoology. Over 6,500
journals worldwide are monitored for inclusion in the database.
Try searching by scientific name, common name or taxon. Links to
some full-text. Coverage is 1980 to date. Earlier years are
available in print: Ellis Library Reference QH 301 .B37
- Wildlife
and Ecology Studies Worldwide
Wildlife
Worldwide indexes literature on wild mammals, birds, reptiles,
and amphibians. All aspects of wildlife and wildlife management are
covered. This resource is comprised of: Wildlife
Review Abstracts (1935 and earlier to date), Swiss
Wildlife Information Service (1974 to date),
Wildlife Database (1960 to date), BIODOC (1970-1989), Waterfowl and Wetlands Database (1838 to
date), and the IUCN - World Conservation Union (1946 to
date).
- Zoological
Record
Zoological Record indexes and abstracts worldwide
zoological literature. The database provides references from over 6,500
international journals, review annuals, monographs, meeting proceedings,
books, and reports. All major areas of zoology are represented,
including: behavior, ecology, evolution, habitat, nutrition,
parasitology, reproduction, taxonomy, and zoogeography. Coverage is 2005
to date.
- Biological
Abstracts/Zoological Record
This link allows you to search both
databases, Biological Abstracts and
Zoological Record, simultaneously.
Last updated: 3/11/08