INSECTS AND SPIDERS
Print Resources
- American Insects: A Handbook of the Insects North of Mexico
- Ellis Library Reference QL 474 .A76 2000
- Audubon Society Field Guide to North American Butterflies
Ellis Library Reference QL 548 .P94 1981
- Encyclopedia of Entomology
Ellis Library Reference QL 462.3 .E47 2004 (3 volumes)
- Encyclopedia of Insects
Ellis Library Reference QL 462.3 .E52 2003
- Firefly Encyclopedia of Insects and Spiders
Ellis Library Reference QL 462.3 .F57 2002
- Essential Entomology
Ellis Library Reference QL 468 .M35 2001
- Field Guide to Eastern Butterflies (Peterson Field Guide)
Ellis Library Reference QL 551 .E16O65 1999
- Field Guide to Western Butterflies (Peterson Field Guide)
Ellis Library Reference QL 551 .W3O65 1999
- Field Guide to the Insects, America North of Mexico (Peterson Field Guide)
Ellis Library Reference QL 464 .B65 1970
- Grzimek's Animal Life Encyclopedia
Ellis Library Ready Reference QL 7 .G7813 2003 (Volume 3: Insects)
- Insects of the Northern Hemisphere
Ellis Library Reference QL 469 .M35 1992
- Simon and Schuster's Guide to Insects
Ellis Library Reference QL 473 .A76
Websites
- Arachnology Home Page
International Society of Arachnology page which lists over 2000 sites organized by subject and arachnid order.
- Butterflies of North America
Site, sponsored by the Northern Prairie Wildlife Research Center, includes photos, species accounts, and distribution maps for butterflies occurring in the United States and northern Mexico.
- eNature.com
Searchable database to Audubon animal and plant field guides .
- Entomology Index of Internet Resources
Comprehensive listing of entomological Web resources developed by Iowa State University. Includes insect images and sounds, pesticide information, and sites for specific species.
- Insect Orders and Common Families
University of Florida site which supplies web links to information on various orders of insects.
- Insects on the WWW
Provides links to over 6,000 insect related Web sites. Developed by Virginia Tech.
- Moths of North America
Site, sponsored by the Northern Prairie Wildlife Research Center, includes photos, species accounts, and distribution maps for moths occurring in the United States and Mexico.
Databases
- Biological Abstracts
Biological Abstracts encompasses all disciplines of the life sciences including zoology. Over 6,500 journals worldwide are monitored for inclusion in the database. Try searching by scientific name, common name or taxon. Links to some full-text. Coverage is 1980 to date. Earlier years are available in print: Ellis Library Reference QH 301 .B37
- Zoological Record
Zoological Record indexes and abstracts worldwide zoological literature. The database provides references from over 6,500 international journals, review annuals, monographs, meeting proceedings, books, and reports. All major areas of zoology are represented, including: behavior, ecology, evolution, habitat, nutrition, parasitology, reproduction, taxonomy, and zoogeography. Coverage is 2005 to date.
- Biological Abstracts/Zoological Record
This link allows you to search both databases, Biological Abstracts and Zoological Record , simultaneously.
Last Updated: 3/11/08