Fish
Print Resources
- Encyclopedia of Fishes
Ellis Library Reference QL 614.7 .E435 1998
- Fishes of the World
Ellis Library Reference QL 614.7 .W47 1975
- Freshwater Fishes (Peterson Field Guide)
Ellis Library Reference QL 627 .P34 1991
- Grzimek's Animal Life Encyclopedia
Ellis Library Ready Reference QL 7 .G7813 2003 (Volumes 4-5: Fishes I-II)
- National Audubon Field Guide to Fishes (North America)
Ellis Library Reference QL 625 .G56 2002
- New Encyclopedia of Aquatic Life
Ellis Library Reference QL 120 .E53 2004 (2 volumes)
Websites
- eNature.com
Searchable database to Audubon animal and plant field guides.
- FishBase
Provides information on over 23,000 species of fish including classification, distribution, biology, and environment.
Databases
- Biological Abstracts
Biological Abstracts encompasses all disciplines of the life sciences including zoology. Over 6,500 journals worldwide are monitored for inclusion in the database. Try searching by scientific name, common name or taxon. Links to some full-text. Coverage is 1980 to date. Earlier years are available in print: Ellis Library Reference QH 301 .B37
- Fish and Fisheries Worldwide
Fish and Fisheries Worldwide provides citations and some abstracts on all aspects of ichthyology, fisheries, and related aspects of aquaculture. Major topics include culture and propagation, limnology and oceanography, genetics and behavior, natural history, parasites, diseases, habitat management, fish processing/marketing, general research, and fisheries management. The database includes,FISHLIT (1985-date), Fisheries Review (1971-date), Fish Subset of Medline (1966-date), Fishing Industry Research Institute (FIRI) Database , Fish Database (1960-date), Castell's Nutrition References (1970-date), AQUACULTURE (1970-1984), Fish Health News (1978-1985).
- Zoological Record
Zoological Record indexes and abstracts worldwide zoological literature. The database provides references from over 6,500 international journals, review annuals, monographs, meeting proceedings, books, and reports. All major areas of zoology are represented, including: behavior, ecology, evolution, habitat, nutrition, parasitology, reproduction, taxonomy, and zoogeography. Coverage is 2005 to date.
- Biological Abstracts/Zoological Record
This link allows you to search both databases, Biological Abstracts and Zoological Record, simultaneously.
Last updated: 3/11/08