Family, Class, Order and Phylum
Print Resources
- Animal: The Definitive Visual Guide to the World's Wildlife
Ellis Library Reference QL 45.2 .A56 2001
- Concise Encyclopedia Biology
Ellis Library
Ready Reference QH 302.5.A2313 1996
- Encyclopedia of Animals: A Complete Visual Guide
Ellis Library Reference QL 7 .E53 2004
- Five Kingdoms: An Illustrated Guide to the Phyla of Life on Earth
Ellis Library Ready Reference QH 83 .M36 1998
- Grzimek's Animal Life Encyclopedia MU
Print copy: Ellis Library Ready Reference QL 7 .G7813 2003 (17 volumes)
- Life on Earth: An Encyclopedia of Biodiversity, Ecology, and Evolution
Ellis Library Reference QH 541.15 .B56L54 2002 (2 volumes)
- Synopsis and Classification of Living Organisms
Ellis Library Ready Reference QH 83 .S89 (2 volumes)
- Tree of Life
Ellis Library Ready Reference QH 83 .L42513 2006
Websites
- Animal Diversity Web
Online database of animal natural history, distribution, classification and conservation biology produced by the University of Michigan. Searchable by common name, scientific name, phylum, class, order, suborder, subfamily, and genus.
- Catalogue of Life 2006
Component of the Species 2000 project which has the objective of enumerating all known species of plants, animals, fungi and microbes on Earth. Database is searchable by scientific or common name. It provides complete taxonomic hierarchy for each species from Kingdom down to Species.
- EOL Encyclopedia of Life
Growing collection of information on the world's 1.8 million known species.
- Integrated Taxonomic Information System
Taxonomic information on North American animals, plants and microbes compiled by U.S., Canadian, and Mexican agencies, organizations and taxonomic specialists.
- NatureServe Explorer an Online Encyclopedia of Life
Authoritative information on more than 65,000 plants and animals in the U.S. Type in scientific or common name and then click on comprehensive report. The report includes distribution and conservation information, ecology and life history, and references to further information.
- Tree of Life Web Project
Information on organisms compiled by biologists around the world. Searcable by taxonomic or common name. Includes basic information, key references and web sites.
- World Biodiversity Database
WBD, produced by the Expert Center for Taxonomic Identification, is attempting to document all presently known species (about 1.7 million). The WBD contains taxonomic information (hierarchies), species names, synonyms, descriptions, illustrations and literature references when available.
Databases
- Biological Abstracts
Biological Abstracts encompasses all disciplines of the life sciences including zoology. Over 6,500 journals worldwide are monitored for inclusion in the database. Try searching by scientific name, common name or taxon. Links to some full-text. Coverage is 1980 to date. Earlier years are available in print: Ellis Library Reference QH 301 .B37
- Fish and Fisheries Worldwide
Fish and Fisheries Worldwide provides citations and some abstracts on all aspects of ichthyology, fisheries, and related aspects of aquaculture. Major topics include culture and propagation, limnology and oceanography, genetics and behavior, natural history, parasites, diseases, habitat management, fish processing/marketing, general research, and fisheries management. The database includes, FISHLIT (1985-date), Fisheries Review (1971-date), Fish Subset of Medline (1966-date), Fishing Industry Research Institute (FIRI) Database , Fish Database (1960-date), Castell's Nutrition References (1970-date), AQUACULTURE (1970-1984), Fish Health News (1978-1985).
- Wildlife and Ecology Studies Worldwide
Wildlife Worldwide indexes literature on wild mammals, birds, reptiles, and amphibians. All aspects of wildlife and wildlife management are covered. This resource is comprised of: Wildlife Review Abstracts (1935 and earlier to date), Swiss Wildlife I nformation Service (1974 to date), Wildlife Database (1960 to date), BIODOC (1970-1989), Waterfowl and Wetlands Database (1838 to date), and the I UCN - World Conservation Union (1946 to date).
- Zoological Record
Zoological Record indexes and abstracts worldwide zoological literature. The database provides references from over 6,500 international journals, review annuals, monographs, meeting proceedings, books, and reports. All major areas of zoology are represented, including: behavior, ecology, evolution, habitat, nutrition, parasitology, reproduction, taxonomy, and zoogeography. Coverage is 2005 to date.
- Biological Abstracts/Zoological Record
This link allows you to search both databases, Biological Abstracts and Zoological Record , simultaneously.
Last Updated: 8/6/08