Birds
Print Resources
- Birds of North America MU
Ellis Library Reference QL 681 .B625 (print edition)
- Complete Illustrated Encyclopedia of Birds of the World
Ellis Library Reference QL 672.2 .A43 2006
- Firefly Encyclopedia of Birds
Ellis Library Reference QL 672.2 .F53 2003
- Grzimek's Animal Life Encyclopedia
Ellis Library Ready Reference QL 7 .G7813 2003 (Print Volumes 8-11: Birds I-IV)
- Stokes Field Guide to Birds Western Region
Ellis Library Reference QL 683 .W4S76 1996
- Stokes Field Guide to Birds Eastern Region
Ellis Library Reference QL 682 .E27S76 1996
Websites
- Birdnet: the Ornithological Information Source
Ornithological Council site providing information on birds. Includes a link to Recent Ornithological Literature Online a compilation of citations and abstracts from the worldwide scientific literature pertaining to birds.
- DUCKDATA
Comprehensive bibliography of published literature on the ecology, conservation, and management of North American waterfowl and their wetland habitats.
- eNature.com
Searchable database to Audubon animal and plant field guides.
- Raptor Information System (RIS)
Searchable catalog of over 33,000 references about the biology and management of birds of prey. It includes books, articles, theses, government reports, and other gray literature regarding raptors worldwide.
Databases
- Biological Abstracts
Biological Abstracts encompasses all disciplines of the life sciences including zoology. Over 6,500 journals worldwide are monitored for inclusion in the database. Try searching by scientific name, common name or taxon. Links to some full-text. Coverage is 1980 to date. Earlier years are available in print: Ellis Library Reference QH 301 .B37
- Wildlife and Ecology Studies Worldwide
Wildlife Worldwide indexes literature on wild mammals, birds, reptiles, and amphibians. All aspects of wildlife and wildlife management are covered. This resource is comprised of: Wildlife Review Abstracts (1935 and earlier to date), Swiss Wildlife I nformation Service (1974 to date), Wildlife Database (1960 to date), BIODOC (1970-1989), Waterfowl and Wetlands Database (1838 to date), and the I UCN - World Conservation Union (1946 to date).
- Zoological Record
Zoological Record indexes and abstracts worldwide zoological literature. The database provides references from over 6,500 international journals, review annuals, monographs, meeting proceedings, books, and reports. All major areas of zoology are represented, including: behavior, ecology, evolution, habitat, nutrition, parasitology, reproduction, taxonomy, and zoogeography. Coverage is 2005 to date
- Biological Abstracts/Zoological Record
This link allows you to search both databases, Biological Abstracts and Zoological Record , simultaneously
Last Updated: 3/11/08