Health & Medicine : Anatomy
Core ResourcesDatabases for Articles
Other Resources Online
eBooks / Books
Databases for ArticlesDatabases for Anatomy
Citations and abstracts to worldwide biomedical literature including research, clinical practice, administration, policy issues, and healthcare services. MEDLINE references articles from about 4000 journals published in 70 countries. Evidence-based search filters are available to assist in narrowing results to methodologically rigorous articles. To run a cited reference search on an article found in MEDLINE,copy and paste the PMID article Identifier here. [more]
PubMed, developed by the National Library of Medicine (NLM), provides access to Old MEDLINE, MEDLINE, in-process, and publisher-supplied citations. PubMed has more than 17 million bibliographic citations and abstracts from nearly 4,500 journals in the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, pharmacy, allied health, health care systems, and pre-clinical sciences. In addition, PubMed provides access and links to the integrated molecular biology databases maintained by the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI). To run a cited reference search on an article found in PubMed, copy and paste the PMID article Identifier here. [more]
JournalsTips for finding journals and journal articles
- Looking for a specific article or journal? Try the Journal/Article Finder
- Need to search for articles by keyword or topic? Try Databases in the Databases tab
Other Resources OnlineOther Resources Online for Anatomy
Also Known as: anatomy expert ; anatomyexpert.com
An online atlas of human anatomy featuring 3D models, artwork, dissection photographs, cross sections, and histology images.
Display bones from a complete, rotating human skeleton, including information on morphology, insertions, origins, and articulations. Funded by the National Science Foundation.
HEAL - Health Education Assets Library
A prototype medical education multimedia collection of over 2,000 images, audio clips and video clips covering dermatology, histology, hematology, ObGyn, neuroanatomy, neurology, pathology, biochemistry, and cardiology, Developed with funding from the National Library of Medicine and the National Science Foundation, it is based on digital content contributed by various medical schools, including UCLA, the University of Utah, and the University of Oklahoma. Free registration required.
Human Anatomy Online
A site designed for consumers wishing to learn about human anatomy. Each topic contains animations, graphics, and descriptive links.
Karolinska Institute Medical Images
Links to image sites in various clinical and preclinical specialties.
Loyola University Medical Education Network (LUMEN)
Contains course materials in histology, gross anatomy, neuroanatomy, rheumatology, and immunology which are designed to "improve the integration of basic and clinical science curricular content".
Hundreds of faculty-developed, peer reviewed resources to support medical education. From the Association of American Medical Colleges. Free registration required.
A free, non-profit, searchable database of over 1000 memory aids to help students memorize anatomical, biochemical and clinical concepts. Palm and AvantGo PDA versions also available. [more]
Radiologic Anatomy Browser
Offers a comprehensive atlas of radiologic anatomy including labled x-ray studies (plain and with contrast), US, CT, and MRI. This site also includes a glossary of anatomical terms linked to the radiologic images.
Available the M148 anatomy lab and from the M1 medical student labs. Students can buy their own copy for about the price of a textbook. Contact Dr. Carol Ward in Anatomy.
Case studies including symptoms, examination and test results, progression of the case and an interactive cadaver.
Visible Human Project
From the National Library of Medicine (NLM), the Visible Human Project includes complete, anatomically detailed, three-dimensional representations of the normal male and female human bodies.
Who Named It?
An encyclopedic dictionary of eponyms. Aims to ultimately provide biographical information on over 15,000 diseases and medical phenomena named after a person; currently contains over 6000 eponyms. Search by eponym, or by name, gender or national origin of the person.
Also Known as: Winking Skull
A free anatomy study guide. Turn the labels off to test your knowledge.
eBooks / BookseBooks / Books for Anatomy
Tips for finding books
A digital library of anatomy information from the University of Iowa. Includes cross sectional and microscopic images. Formerly part of the Virtual Hospital
Basic human anatomy : a regional study of human structure
An online adaptation of O'Rahilly's 2004 textbook, developed at Dartmouth Medical School.
Big Picture : Gross Anatomy
Also Known as: Gross Anatomy: The Big Picture
Required for School of Medicine PBL Block 1.
Krause's Essentials of Human Histology for Medical Students, 3rd ed.
Lange Case Files
Also Known as: Case Files Emergency Medicine ; Case Files Anatomy ; Case Files Microbiology ; Case Files Pharmacology ; Case Files Physiology
An image library that can be used with PowerPoint. Available only from the computers on the first floor of the library and the medical student PBL labs. [more]
The Art of Examining and Interpreting Histologic Preparations