Skip to main content

Navigation

 MU Libraries University of Missouri MU Libraries

Arts & Humanities : English Language & Literature : American Literature

Core Resources

This guide lists resources that focus on American literature. Be sure to see the guide to English Language and Literature for more general resources.

Databases for Articles

Databases for American Literature
America History and Life Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?authtype=ip,uid&profile=ehost&defaultdb=ahl
  
America History and Life contains citations and abstracts of books, dissertations, and articles from approximately 2,000 journals published worldwide. Covers all aspects of U.S. and Canadian history, culture, and current affairs from prehistoric times to the present. [more]

American Periodical Series Online Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://search.proquest.com/americanperiodicals/advanced?accountid=14576
  
APS Online provides full-page images (PDF) of more than 1,000 magazines and journals published between 1741 and 1900. In addition to general circulation magazines like Harper's and Ladies Home Journal, many several medical titles from the early 1800s are included, such as American Journal of the Medical Sciences (1827-1850). Although full content is displayed, only the titles, authors, and journal names can be searched. Not all years are available yet for each included journal, since content is still being added. [more]

American State Papers, 1789-1838 Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://infoweb.newsbank.com/?db=ASPA
  
American State Papers, 1789-1838, features not only new bibliographic records for every one of its 6,354 publications, but also superior images created by digitizing every page of every publication from the print volumes issued between 1832 and 1861. Unlike the U.S. Congressional Serial Set, the publications in the American State Papers are not divided into reports and documents and do not include House and Senate journals. Approximately two-thirds of the publications cover the first 14 Congresses (1789-1817), whereas the remaining third chronologically overlap with the Serial Set from 1817-1838. [more]

C19: The Nineteenth Century Index Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://c19index.chadwyck.com
  
C19 Index provides access to nineteenth-century books, periodicals, official documents, newspapers and archives. [more]

Early American Imprints Series I Evans (1639-1800) Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://infoweb.newsbank.com/?db=EVAN&s_startsearch=customized
  
Based on the historic "American Bibliography" by Charles Evans and enhanced by the "Supplement to Evans American Bibliography" by Roger Bristol, the collection includes all titles contained in the Evans microform editions - more than 36,000 items published in 17th and 18th century America and over 2.3 million images. [more]

Early American Imprints Series II Shaw-Shoemaker (1801-1819) Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://infoweb.newsbank.com/?db=SHAW&s_startsearch=customized
  
Based on the "American Bibliography, 1801-1819" by Ralph R. Shaw and Richard H. Shoemaker, the collection includes more than four million pages from over 36,000 items (books, documents, broadsides, pamphlets)—including 1,000 catalogued new items unavailable in previous microform editions. [more]

Early American Newspapers. Series I, 1690-1876 Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://infoweb.newsbank.com/?db=EANA&s_search_type=customized
  
Also Known as: Early American Newspapers; America's Historical Newspapers; Archive of Americana
This collection provides images and full-text content access to a selection of historic newspapers based on Clarence Brigham's authoritative bibliography, History and Bibliography of American Newspapers, 1690-1820 and additional subsequent bibliographies. [more]

Historical Statistics of the United States Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://hsus.cambridge.org
  
Historical Statistics of the United States presents the numerical history of the United States. It contains more than 37,000 annual time series of quantitative historical information covering virtually every quantifiable dimension of American history, all from the earliest times to the present. [more]

Illustrated Civil War Newspapers and Magazines Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://staging.lincolnandthecivilwar.com/welcome.asp
  
Contains 65,000 pages with articles, illustrations, cartoons and maps drawn from 49 periodicals, including 15 campaign newspapers published from 1860 to 1865, from four viewpoints? Union, Confederate, Abolitionist, and British. Every page has been scanned to grayscale or color standards at up to 1200 dpi. The database also includes essays detailing the background and importance of each of the publications and on Civil War topics. [more]

Periodicals Index Online Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://c19index.chadwyck.com
  
Formerly known as Periodical Contents Index, Periodicals Index Online covers magazines and journals published worldwide from 1790 to 1919. Part of C19 database. [more]

ProQuest Historical Newspapers: New York Times Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://search.proquest.com/hnpnewyorktimes/advanced?accountid=14576
  
Also Known as: New York Times;historical New York Times; NYT
ProQuest Historical Newspapers digitally reproduces every issue of the New York Times (1851-2006) from cover-to-cover. It provides full page-image and full-text searching of the newspaper. [more]

U.S. Congressional Serial Set Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://infoweb.newsbank.com/?db=SERIAL&s_startsearch=customized&s_home=mulibraries.missouri.edu
  
The U.S. Congressional Serial Set, 1817-1980 is a vast primary source collection for U.S. political, social, cultural, military and ethnic history, as well as international relations, explorations, genealogy, commerce, industrial development and more. [more]

Wellesley Index to Victorian Periodicals Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://c19index.chadwyck.com
  
This database indexes British and American Periodicals from 1824-1900. Matches pseudonyms to actual authors. Part of C19 database. No full-text. [more]

Journals

Tips for finding journals and journal articles
  • Looking for a specific article or journal? Try the Journal/Article Finder
  • Need to search for articles by keyword or topic? Try Databases in the Databases tab

eBooks / Books

eBooks / Books for American Literature
American Verse Project
http://quod.lib.umich.edu/a/amverse/
  
The American Verse Project, a collaboration between the University of Michigan Humanities Text Initiative (HTI) and the University of Michigan Press, provides an electronic archive of volumes of American poetry prior to 1920.

Books/E-books
African-American Poetry of the Eighteenth and Nineteenth Centuries Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://lion.chadwyck.com/contents/volumes-uk/AfAm_po.jsp
  

African-American Poetry of the Twentieth Century Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://lion.chadwyck.com/contents/volumes-uk/AfAmC20_po.jsp
  

American Poetry of the Modernist Period, 1899-1945 Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://lion.chadwyck.com/contents/volumes-uk/AmMod_po.jsp
  

American Poetry of the Postwar Period, 1945-1999 Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://lion.chadwyck.com/contents/volumes-uk/AmPost_po.jsp
  

Drama of the American Colonial Period, 1715-1765 Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://lion.chadwyck.com/contents/volumes-uk/AmCol_dr.jsp
  

Drama of the American Romantic and Realistic Periods, 1830-1900 Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://lion.chadwyck.com/contents/volumes-uk/AmRomRel_dr.jsp
  

Drama of the Revolutionary and Early American Period, 1765-1830 Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://lion.chadwyck.com/contents/volumes-uk/RevEAm_dr.jsp
  

Nineteenth Century Microfiche Project Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://c19index.chadwyck.com
  
This index covers 19th century books from the British Library that were reproduced on microfiche due to deterioriation of wood pulp papers. In addition to the General Collection, topic areas of collection strength include Women Writers, Art and Architecture, Economics, Childrens Literature, British Colonization, Ireland, China, Linguistics, Publishing and Bookselling and Evolution and Creation. Part of C19 database. No full text. [more]

Nineteenth Century Short Title Catalogue Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://c19index.chadwyck.com/gotoSearchCollections.do?initialise=nstc
  
Also Known as: NCST
The NCST aims to document the 19th century by indexing all printed works published in Britain, its colonies and the United States of America, all printed works in English wherever published, and all translations from English. It indexes thousands of periodicals, directories and other ephemeral publications in addition to monographs.

Poetry of the American Colonial Period, 1607-1765 Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://lion.chadwyck.com/contents/volumes-uk/AmCol_po.jsp
  

Poetry of the American Romantic and Realistic Periods, 1830-1900 Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://lion.chadwyck.com/contents/volumes-uk/AmRomRel_po.jsp
  

Poetry of the Revolutionary and Early American Period, 1765-1830 Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://lion.chadwyck.com/contents/volumes-uk/RevEAm_po.jsp
  

Prose of the American Romantic and Realistic Periods, 1830-1900 Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://lion.chadwyck.com/contents/volumes-uk/AmRomRel_pr.jsp
  

Prose of the Revolutionary and Early American Period, 1789-1830 Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://lion.chadwyck.com/contents/volumes-uk/RevEAm_pr.jsp
  

Wright American Fiction
http://www.letrs.indiana.edu/web/w/wright2/
  
Wright American Fiction offers full-text of American novels published from 1851-1875. [more]

Background Resources and Research Guides
American History Through Literature 1820-1870 Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://go.galegroup.com/ps/i.do?id=GALE|9780684314921&v=2.1&u=morenetuomcolum&it=aboutBook&p=GVRL&sw=w
  

American History Through Literature 1870-1920 Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://go.galegroup.com/ps/i.do?id=GALE|9780684314938&v=2.1&u=morenetuomcolum&it=aboutBook&p=GVRL&sw=w
  

American Women Writers: A Critical Reference Guide from Colonial Times to the Present Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://go.galegroup.com/ps/i.do?id=GALE|9781558625389&v=2.1&u=morenetuomcolum&it=aboutBook&p=GVRL&sw=w
  
A dictionary of about 1300 women writers of all types. Provides biographical information, overview of works, and selected bibliography. "The essays vary considerably in quality....now useful only for those few writers not profiled in other biographical dictionaries." (James L. Harner, The Literary Research Guide, 2008.)

Columbia Companion to the 20th Century American Short Story Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://lion.chadwyck.com/contents/ref_toc/TheColumbiaCompaniontotheTwenti/issues.jsp
  

Concise Oxford Companion to American Literature Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://www.oxfordreference.com/views/BOOK_SEARCH.html?book=t53&subject=s13
  

Encyclopedia of American Poetry: The Nineteenth Century Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://lion.chadwyck.com/contents/ref_toc/EncyclopediaofAmericanPoetryThe/issues.jsp
  

Modern American Literature Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://go.galegroup.com/ps/i.do?id=GALE|9781558625372&v=2.1&u=morenetuomcolum&it=aboutBook&p=GVRL&sw=w
  

Oxford Companion to American Literature Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://www.oxfordreference.com/views/BOOK_SEARCH.html?book=t123&subject=s13
  

Oxford Encyclopedia of American Literature Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://www.oxfordreference.com/views/BOOK_SEARCH.html?book=t197&subject=s13
  

Tips for finding books
  • Looking for a specific book? Try the Book Finder
    • The Book Finder first searches in the MERLIN catalog.
    • If no resources are found in MERLIN, the search moves to the MOBIUS catalog (a catalog of many Missouri libraries).
  • Need to search for a book by keyword or topic? Search the MERLIN catalog