Skip to main content
 MU Libraries University of Missouri MU Libraries

Arts & Humanities : English Language & Literature : Nineteenth Century Literature

Core Resources

This guide lists resources that focus on Brisih literature of the 19th century. Be sure to see the guide to English Language and Literature for more general resources.

Databases for Articles

Databases for Articles

Databases
19th Century Masterfile Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://mulibraries.missouri.edu/search/databases/poolescancellation.htm
  
The 19th Century Masterfile is an index to periodical articles appearing in British and American scholarly journals from 1802 to 1906. [more]

British Periodicals Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://c19index.chadwyck.com
  
British Periodicals is an index that covers important 19th-century British magazines and journals from the late 18th century to 1900. Part of C19 database. No full-text. [more]

C19: The Nineteenth Century Index Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://c19index.chadwyck.com
  
C19 Index provides access to nineteenth-century books, periodicals, official documents, newspapers and archives. [more]

House of Commons Parliamentary Papers Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://c19index.chadwyck.com
  
House of Commons Parliamentary Papers covers 1801-1919. Covers social, political, economic and foreign policy, showing how British laws were created. [more]

Index to English Literary Periodicals Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://www.comp-index.com/english
  
Index to English Literary Periodicals is an index to articles on all subjects in English periodicals from the 1680s to the 1860s. Cover literary, science, religion, philosophy, history, economics, political science, music, art and theater as well. [more]

Palmer's Index to the Times Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://c19index.chadwyck.com
  
This index covers the London Times newspaper from 1790-1905. Part of C19 database. The MU Libraries has the London Times on microfilm in the Special Collections department. [more]

Periodicals Index Online Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://c19index.chadwyck.com
  
Formerly known as Periodical Contents Index, Periodicals Index Online covers magazines and journals published worlswide from 1790 to 1919. Part of C19 database. [more]

Wellesley Index to Victorian Periodicals Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://c19index.chadwyck.com
  
This database indexes British and American Periodicals from 1824-1900. Matches pseudonyms to actual authors. Part of C19 database. No full-text. [more]

Journals

Journals for Nineteenth Century Literature
RaVoN: Romanticism and Victorianism on the Net
http://www.ron.umontreal.ca/
  

Tips for finding journals and journal articles
  • Looking for a specific article or journal? Try the Journal/Article Finder
  • Need to search for articles by keyword or topic? Try Databases in the Databases tab

Other Resources Online

Other Resources Online for Nineteenth Century Literature
British Women Romantic Poets
http://digital.lib.ucdavis.edu/projects/bwrp/
  

Corvey Project
http://extra.shu.ac.uk/corvey/
  

Romantic Chronology
http://english.ucsb.edu:591/rchrono/
  

Romantic Circles
http://www.rc.umd.edu/
  

Victorian Web
http://www.scholars.nus.edu.sg/landow/victorian/index.html
  
The Victorian Web provides essays, books, bibliographies, links to resources covering all areas of Victorian culture.

Women Romantic-Era Writers
http://www.bbk.ac.uk/english/ac/wrew.htm
  

eBooks / Books

eBooks / Books for Nineteenth Century Literature
Victorian Women Writers Project
http://www.indiana.edu/~letrs/vwwp/
  
The goal of the Victorian Women Writers Project is to produce highly accurate transcriptions of works by British women writers of the 19th century. The works include anthologies, novels, political pamphlets, religious tracts, children's books, and volumes of poetry and verse drama.

Romantic Age, The CD/DVD based resource available only from within the Ellis Library.
http://mulibraries.missouri.edu/search/databases/ellisonly.htm
  
The Romantic Age includes 18 volumes of correspondence of significant British writers of the romantic era, such as Blake, Burns, Shelley, Maria Edgeworth, Jane Austen, Samuel Wesley. See http://www.nlx.com/titles/title17.htm. CD-ROM only accessible within Ellis Library [more]

Literature Online: Text Collection Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://lion.chadwyck.com/gotoSearchTexts.do;jsessionid=D99987337B34AEA3A50ED08900024C3A?initialise=All
  
Use this general Literature Online text collection to define a searchable body of literary texts by genre, time period, nationality, and author characteristics. Use the databases listed below to browse or search predefined collections of texts.

British Drama of the Romantic Period, 1780-1837 Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://lion.chadwyck.com/contents/volumes-uk/Rom_dr.jsp
  

British Drama of the Victorian Period, 1837-1901 Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://lion.chadwyck.com/contents/volumes-uk/BrVic_dr.jsp
  

British Poetry of the Romantic Period, 1780-1837 Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://lion.chadwyck.com/contents/volumes-uk/Rom_po.jsp
  

British Poetry of the Victorian Period, 1837-1901 Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://lion.chadwyck.com/contents/volumes-uk/BrVic_po.jsp
  

British Prose of the Romantic Period, 1780-1837 Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://lion.chadwyck.com/contents/volumes-uk/Rom_pr.jsp
  

British Prose of the Victorian Period, 1837-1901 Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://lion.chadwyck.com/contents/volumes-uk/BrVic_pr.jsp
  

Library Catalogs
Nineteenth Century Microfiche Project Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://c19index.chadwyck.com
  
This index covers 19th century books from the British Library that were reproduced on microfiche due to deterioriation of wood pulp papers. In addition to the General Collection, topic areas of collection strength include Women Writers, Art and Architecture, Economics, Childrens Literature, British Colonization, Ireland, China, Linguistics, Publishing and Bookselling and Evolution and Creation. Part of C19 database. No full text. [more]

Nineteenth Century Short Title Catalogue Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://c19index.chadwyck.com/gotoSearchCollections.do?initialise=nstc
  

Also Known as: NCST
The NCST aims to document the 19th century by indexing all printed works published in Britain, its colonies and the United States of America, all printed works in English wherever published, and all translations from English. It indexes thousands of periodicals, directories and other ephemeral publications in addition to monographs.

Tips for finding books
  • Looking for a specific book? Try the Book Finder
    • The Book Finder first searches in the MERLIN catalog.
    • If no resources are found in MERLIN, the search moves to the MOBIUS catalog (a catalog of many Missouri libraries).
  • Need to search for a book by keyword or topic? Search the MERLIN catalog