How to Link to Full-text Articles
Direct Link Guidelines (most e-journals, some full-text databases)
- Locate article (HTML, PDF or other format) and display it through your browser
- Save the URL posted in the Address box at the top of your browser
- Cut and paste into ERes, BlackBoard or on your own web page
- Insert proxy prefix before URL --> http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url= if you wish to allow off-campus access. For example: http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://dx.doi.org/10.1016/j.addbeh.2004.10.001
More Examples of Direct and Indirect Links; Guidelines for Indirect Links
- Locate a specific article.
- In the field labeled DOI Bookmark, copy the URL listed and paste into your document/webpage.
Example: http://doi.acm.org/10.1145/1183907.1183908 - Add the proxy prefix (http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=) to the beginning of the URL so that off-campus users will be able to access.
Example: http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://doi.acm.org/10.1145/1183907.118390
Citation Example: Journal of the ACM Volume 53, No. 5 (September 2006) pp. 707-721 New Hardness Results for Congestion Minimization and Machine SchedulingAuthors: Julia Chuzhoy and Joseph (Seffi) Naor
American Chemical Society --Electronic Journal Collection -- a direct link; locate article, save URL, cut and paste into citation.
Megias, M. D.,* A. Martínez-Teruel, and M. R. Hérnandez. Potential Environmental Impact of Effluents from the Artichoke (Cynara scolymus L.) Byproduct Ensiling Process Using Additives. J. Agric. Food Chem., 47 (6), 2455 -2458, 1999.
ASCE Journals
Building Energy Management as Continuous Quality Control Process
Gregor P. Henze
Journal of Architectural Engineering--December 2001 Volume 7, Issue 4, pp. 97-138
pp. 97-106
http://ojps.aip.org/getpdf/servlet/GetPDFServlet?filetype=pdf&id=JAEIED000007000004000097000001&idtype=cvips
ASME Journals
Finite Element Analysis of a Computer Hard Disk Drive Under Shock
Chen-Chi Lin
Journal of Mechanical Design--March 2002 Volume 124, Issue 1, pp. 1-142
pp. 121-125
http://ojps.aip.org/getpdf/servlet/GetPDFServlet?filetype=pdf&id=JMDEDB000124000001000121000001&idtype=cvips
ASTM Standards
Enter the Standard abbreviation "ASTM" and the standard number in the Doc No: box. See the example below:

- Blackwell-Synergy
- Locate the specific article.
- Find the DOI number (Digital Object Identifier) located at the top of the record for the article.
- Copy the DOI and paste it at the end of this URL: http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://dx.doi.org/
- An example of the complete direct URL to an article is: http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://dx.doi.org/10.1111/j.1600-0447.2005.00549.x
- Cambridge Journals Online
- Locate the specific article.
- Find the DOI number (Digital Object Identifier) located at the top of the abstract for the article.
- Copy the DOI and paste it at the end of this URL: http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://dx.doi.org/
An example of the complete direct URL to an article is: http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://dx.doi.org/10.1017/S0022278X98002742
Citation Example:
Bingen, R. James. Cotton Democracy and Development in Mali. The Journal of Modern African Studies, volume 36, issue 2, June 1998, pp. 265-285.
To link to a journal found in FindIt@MU use the following algorithm:
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://mulibraries.1cate.com/?issn=XXXX-XXXX
Substitute the ISSN (xxxx-xxxx) for your journal in the linking algorithm. Check Ulrich's Periodical Directory for the ISSN for your journal.
Example: Nineteenth Century Music (ISSN: 0148-2076)
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://mulibraries.1cate.com/?issn=0148-2076
If you want off-campus access, you must include the MU Libraries proxy server prefix: http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://mulibraries.1cate.com/?genre=journal&issn=0148-2076 Sage (Highwire)- Locate the specific article.
- Find the DOI number (Digital Object Identifier) located at the top of the record for the article.
- Copy the DOI and paste it at the end of this URL: http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://dx.doi.org/
- An example of the complete direct URL to an article is:
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://dx.doi.org/10.1177/0741713604263051
- Journals@OVID
- The base URL for linking directly to articles within Journals@OVID is:
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://ovidsp.ovid.com/autologin.html?
T=JS&MODE=ovid&PAGE=fulltext&D=ovft&AN=XXXXXXXX-XXXXXXXX-XXXXX
(Note: Above URL is all one line with no spaces)
- The specific information you need to identify the article is the accession number, which will be placed after the AN= in the base URL above.
- To locate the citation in the Journals@OVID database. li>To find the accession number, search Journals@OVID and find the citation for the article.
Example URL for:
Patz, J.A., P.R. Epstein, et al. (1996). "Global climate change and emerging infectious diseases." Journal of the American Medical Association 275:217-223.
- ScienceDirect
- Locate the specific article.
- Find the DOI number (Digital Object Identifier) located at the top of the record for the article.
- Copy the DOI and paste it at the end of this URL: http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://dx.doi.org/
- An example of the complete direct URL to an article is:
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://dx.doi.org/10.1016/j.addbeh.2004.10.001
- When you first access a WilsonWeb Database, click on the “Customize Display” button at the bottom of the search menu.
- Under the option “Select Fields to Include in…,” click on the “Article Records” link.
- Scroll down the list and ensure that the box beside "Persistent URL" is checked.
- Select “Save Changes” button at the bottom of the screen.
- This will return you to the search screen. Run your search.
- Select the citation to view the full record. At the bottom of the record there are "Persistent URL" links: "Click to copy the HTML full text article link" and "Click to copy the PDF full text article link."
- Copy the desired URL and paste it into your ERes page, web page, etc.
- Insert the proxy prefix in front of the URL so that off-campus students will still be able to access it. The proxy prefix is:
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url= - The link will take the student to the citation within the WilsonWeb database. From that point, he/she can click on the full-text icon to view the actual article.
Example URL:
Citation Example:
Jacobi, L. Chatting at Gallaudet. Library Journal (1976) part Net Connect (Spring 2004) p.3
Other tipsYou can use the Make a Shorter Link service http://www.makeashorterlink.com/ if the URL exceeds 250 characters.
Add this PROXY prefix to all your persistent URLs for articles: Other Linking examples:
