Skip to main content
 University of Missouri - Columbia University of Missouri Health Sciences Library MU Libraries

Resources For Medical Students

Quick Links

Resources by Objective

Epocrates Essentials 
Mobile/smartphone resource (free to medical students)

Citing Resources for PBL

 
Core Resources

AccessMedicine Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://www.accessmedicine.com
Includes recommended books for PBL: Harrison's Online, Goodman & Gilman's Pharmacological Basis of Therapeutics, Basic & Clinical Pharmacology, Ganong's Review of Medical Physiology, Harper's Illustrated Biochemistry, Behavioral Medicine

DynaMed Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?authtype=uid&user=s8946134&password=password&profile=dynamed
An evidence-based clinical reference tool. Recommended for PBL. [more]

MDConsult Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://www.mdconsult.com
Also Known as: MD Consult ; md-consult
Includes recommended books for PBL: Cellular and Molecular Immunology, Pollard's Cell Biology, Epidemiology (Gordis), Fundamental Neuroscience for Basic and Clinical Applications, Guyton and Hall Textbook of Medical Physiology, Robbins and Cotran Pathologic Basis of Disease, Developing Human, Textbook of Physical Diagnosis, Braunwald's Heart Disease, Harriet Lane Handbook, Essentials of Radiology [more]

Medical Letter on Drugs and Therapeutics Available only from within the Health Sciences Library.
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://www.medicalletter.org/
Also Known as: medical letter ; medical letter treatment guidelines
Offers unbiased critical evaluations of drugs, with special emphasis on new drugs, to physicians and other members of the health professions. The Medical Letter is an independent, peer-reviewed, nonprofit publication that accepts no advertising, grants or donations. Recommended for School of Medicine PBL Block 1.

MEDLINE (Ovid) Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://ovidsp.ovid.com/ovidweb.cgi?T=JS&MODE=ovid&PAGE=main&NEWS=N&D=mesd
[more]

PubMed Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/entrez/query.fcgi?otool=umochsclib&dr=abstract
[more]

STAT!-REF Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://online.statref.com/Default.aspx?grpalias=MU
Locked out of STAT!-Ref? You have options [more]

Stedman's Medical Dictionary Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://online.statref.com/Entry.aspx?lt=Dictionary&grpalias=MU&type=Dictionary
Can't access Stedman's? Try this dictionary

UpToDate Available only from within the Health Sciences Library.
https://healthlibrary.missouri.edu/secure/UpToDate/goto_UpToDate.cfm
A convenient starting point for learning objectives and open-book exams; don’t let this be your only source. Recommended for PBL.

The rational clinical examination : evidence-based clinical diagnosis Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://site.ebrary.com/lib/umcolumbia/Doc?id=10257254
Also Known as: rational clinical exam jama

Users' guides to the medical literature : a manual for evidence-based clinical practice Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://site.ebrary.com/lib/umcolumbia/Doc?id=10246365
Also Known as: users guide to the medical literature ; user guide to the medical literature

Other Resources

Stanford Medicine 25
http://stanfordmedicine25.stanford.edu/the25/
Outline notes and review of 25 bedside diagnosis procedures from Stanford University School of Medicine's course on physical examination and diagnosis.

VH Dissector
mailto:neffp@health.missouri.edu
Available the M148 anatomy lab and from the M1 medical student labs. Students can buy their own copy for about the price of a textbook. Contact Dr. Carol Ward in Anatomy.

Clinical Evidence Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://www.clinicalevidence.com/ceweb/index.jsp
A compendium of evidence on the effects of common clinical interventions in a variety of medical specialties, from the publishers of the British Medical Journal. Summarizes the current state of knowledge, ignorance, and uncertainty about the prevention and treatment of a wide range of clinical conditions based on thorough searches and appraisal of the literature. Updated monthly.

Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (EBM Reviews) Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://ovidsp.ovid.com/ovidweb.cgi?T=JS&MODE=basic&PAGE=main&NEWS=N&D=coch
Also Known as: Cochrane
Includes the full text of the regularly updated systematic reviews of the effects of healthcare prepared by The Cochrane Collaboration. The reviews are presented in two types: includes both completed reviews and protocols for reviews in progress. EBM Reviews is integrated with Ovid MEDLINE. When browsing MEDLINE results, click on "Topic Review" to see the related Cochrane review. [more]

Diagnosaurus Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://www.accessmedicine.com/diag.aspx
A differential diagnosis tool from McGraw-Hill and CogniQ, included with AccessMedicine. [more]

mdcalc
http://www.mdcalc.com
Also Known as: md+calc ; md calc
Clinical calculators for a variety of medical specialties. Created and maintained by a resident in New York City.

Medscape Reference: Drugs, Diseases, Procedures
http://emedicine.medscape.com/
Also Known as: emedicine
Clinical knowledge base of more than 7,000 diseases and disorders, formerly known as emedicine. Free registration required. An iPhone download version is available.

Videos in Clinical Medicine Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://www.nejm.org/multimedia/medical-videos?emp=marcomtr
Also Known as: nejm videos ; new englande journal of medicine videos
Videos showing common medical procedures from the New England Journal of Medicine. Can also be viewed on mobile devices.

Books/E-books

Electronic textbooks by subject

Textbooks on Reserve (behind Circulation Desk); *Search/preview many of these reserve textbooks*

MERLIN Catalog

Find a specific book

 

Faculty Recommended PBL Textbooks

Basic and Clinical Pharmacology Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://www.accessmedicine.com/resourceTOC.aspx?resourceID=16

Behavioral Medicine : A Guide for Clinical Practice Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://www.accessmedicine.com/resourceTOC.aspx?resourceID=633

Braunwald's Heart Disease: A Textbook of Cardiovascular Medicine Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://www.mdconsult.com/public/book/view?title=Bonow:+Braunwald's+Heart+Disease
Also Known as: Heart Disease: A Textbook of Cardiovascular Medicine


Cell Biology - Pollard Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://www.mdconsult.com/public/book/view?title=Pollard:+Cell+Biology
Also Known as: pollards
Recommended for PBL

Cellular and Molecular Immunology Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://www.mdconsult.com/public/book/view?title=Abbas:+Cellular+and+Molecular+Immunology
Also Known as: abbas immunology

Developing Human Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://www.mdconsult.com/books/about.do?about=true&eid=4-u1.0-B978-1-4377-2002-0..C2009-0-60419-0--TOP&isbn=978-1-4377-2002-0&uniqId=317507803-2

Epidemiology Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://www.mdconsult.com/public/book/view?title=Gordis:+Epidemiology

Essentials of Radiology Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://www.mdconsult.com/public/book/view?title=Mettler:+Essentials+of+Radiology
Also Known as: mettler ; mettlers radiology

Fundamental Neuroscience for Basic and Clinical Applications Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://www.mdconsult.com/public/book/view?title=Haines:+Fundamental+Neuroscience+for+Basic+and+Clinical+Applications

Ganong's Review of Medical Physiology Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://www.accessmedicine.com/resourceTOC.aspx?resourceID=11
Also Known as: Review of Medical Physiology

Goodman & Gilman's The Pharmacological Basis of Therapeutics Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://www.accessmedicine.com/resourceTOC.aspx?resourceID=28
Also Known as: Goodman & Gilman's Pharmacological Basis of Therapeutics

Harper's Illustrated Biochemistry Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://www.accessmedicine.com/resourceTOC.aspx?resourceID=18
Also Known as: Harper's Biochemistry

Harriet Lane Handbook, The Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://www.mdconsult.com/public/book/view?title=Johns+Hopkins:+The+Harriet+Lane+Handbook
Also Known as: harriet lane pediatrics

Harrisons Online Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://www.accessmedicine.com/resourceTOC.aspx?resourceID=4
Also Known as: Harrison's Principles of Internal Medicine
[more]

Physiology in Medicine - review articles from the American Physiological Society
http://guides.library.muhealth.org/physiologyinmedicine
Also Known as: APS physiology in medicine
A series of review articles from the American Physiological Society designed to promote physiological understanding of disease with the proper application of new molecular models and tools. Use CTRL-F (Find in Page) to search the titles and abstracts of all articles in the series from 1998-2011 and link to the complete articles. From 1998-2001, the reviews were published in the American Journal of Medicine. From 2001-2011, these articles were published in the Annals of Internal Medicine. Note: as of 2011, the APS Publications Committee has launched an initiative to continue the series. Future PIM articles will be published in the various APS journals, with each journal soliciting PIM articles in their area of focus. [more]

Practice Guidelines: American Association for the Study of Liver Diseases
http://www.aasld.org/practiceguidelines/Pages/default.aspx
Also Known as: aasld guidelines ; liver guidelines
Recommended for PBL Block 7.

Practice Guidelines: American College of Gastroenterology
http://gi.org/clinical-guidelines/clinical-guidelines-sortable-list/
Also Known as: ACG guidelines
Recommended for PBL Block 7

Practice Guidelines: American Gastroenterological Association
http://www.gastro.org/practice/medical-position-statements
Also Known as: AGA guidelines
Recommended for PBL Block 7

Textbook of Medical Physiology Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://www.mdconsult.com/public/book/view?title=Hall:+Guyton+and+Hall+Textbook+of+Medical+Physiology
Also Known as: Guyton and Hall Textbook of Medical Physiology

Textbook of Physical Diagnosis Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://www.mdconsult.com/public/book/view?title=Swartz:+Textbook+of+Physical+Diagnosis

Robbins and Cotran Pathologic Basis of Disease Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://www.mdconsult.com/public/book/view?title=Kumar:+Robbins+and+Cotran+Pathologic+Basis+of+Disease

Journal Articles

Looking for a specific article? Try Article Finder

Looking for articles by topic?  Try Databases such as MEDLINE or PubMed

Tip: Click on FindIt@MU links to check for article availability.