Subject Librarians
Diane Johnson
(573) 882-6142
JohnsonE@health.missouri.edu
Subject Specialist for:
Health & Medicine
Health Related Professions
Nursing
Local/Missouri Resources
University of Missouri
University of Missouri Health Care ![]()
http://www.muhealth.org/
Center for Health Policy, University of Missouri ![]()
http://healthpolicy.missouri.edu/Researches and publishes information on health policy issues of interest to Missourians, including Medicaid, stem cell research, patient safety, insurance, and access issues.
DocuShare Document Management System for MU Healthcare ![]()
![]()
https://docushare.umh.eduPolicies and procedures for MU Healthcare. Logon with your pawprint.
Guide to Patient and Visitor Services ![]()
http://www.muhealth.org/center/patientguide.shtmlOnline guide for patients and visitors of University of Missouri Health Care. Includes information about topics such as visiting hours, checking in and checking out and patients rights and responsibilities.
University of Missouri Health Care Office of Clinical Effectiveness ![]()
http://www.muhealth.org/outcomes/Develops and publishes practice guidelines and patient care algorithms for the University of Missouri Health Sciences Center, using the techniques of evidence-based medicine and continuous quality improvement. Currently available guidelines include: myocardial infarction, acute pancreatitis, congestive heart failure, community acquired pneumonia, intrauterine growth retardation (IUGR), medical error reduction, pneumonia & sepsis in fullterm newborns, pediatric asthma, and venous thromoboembolism (VTE).
About Clinical Trials ![]()
https://apps.muhealth.org/clinical_research/Provides information about current clinical trials at the University of Missouri Health Care. Includes a sign up form questionnaire for consumers interested in possibly participating in a trial.
UMCHC Formulary ![]()
![]()
https://docushare.umh.edu/dsweb/Get/Document-12899/Formulary%2008_01_10.docThe list of drugs and dosage forms approved for usage at the University of Missouri Columbia Hospitals and Clinics.
MU and Columbia news sources ![]()
http://www.muhealth.org/news/SOURCES.shtmlLinks to University of Missouri and Columbia, Missouri news sources including newspapers, television stations and radio stations.
MU Authors ![]()
http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/entrez/query.fcgi?otool=umochsclib&dispmax=100&db=PubMed&pmfilter_EDatLimit=60&cmd_current=Limits&orig_db=PubMed&cmd=Search&term=columbia[affl]+AND+missouri[affl]+AND+university[affil]+OR+columbia[affl]+AND+missouri[affl]+AND+univ[affil]+OR+65201[affl]+OR+65211[affl]+OR+65212[affl]&relentrezdate=60&dispmax=100Provides citations to articles by University of Missouri-Columbia affiliates that have been added to the NLM MEDLINE database in the last 60 days.
Scopus: Recent MU Faculty Publications ![]()
![]()
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://healthlibrary.missouri.edu/mashup/ScopusAPI_URL_AdvSearch.cfm?AdvSearch=AFFIL(columbia)%20AND%20AFFIL(Missouri)%20AND%20PUBYEAR%20AFT%202007
Also Known as: Scopus MU authorsView the 2000 most recent articles by MU researchers added to the Scopus database. The page may take up to a minute to load.
MU Broader Impact Info for National Science Foundation Grant Proposals ![]()
![]()
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://research.missouri.edu/funding/impact2.htmSince 1997, NSF proposals have been evaluated by two criteria: intellectual merit and broader impact. This webpage was designed to assist MU investigators in writing their "broader impact" statements. Contains information, web links, and contact information to ongoing programs at MU that a faculty member might wish to tie into to enhance outreach, educational components (e.g., undergraduate research , K-12; teacher training, graduate student development, Professional development such as training in responsible conduct of research), and diversity as part of their proposed program to a sponsor, particularly NSF.
History of the University of Missouri-Columbia School of Health Related Professions (HRP) ![]()
http://library.muhealth.org/docs/history/historyhealthrelatedprofessions.htmA Selected List of Sources in MU Libraries
History of the University of Missouri-Columbia School of Medicine ![]()
http://library.muhealth.org/docs/history/historyschoolofmedicine.htmA Selected List of Sources in MU Libraries
History of the University of Missouri-Columbia, School of Nursing ![]()
http://library.muhealth.org/docs/history/historyschoolofnursing.htmA Selected List of Sources in MU Libraries
Review of the Hospitals of the University of Missouri-Columbia ![]()
http://library.muhealth.org/docs/history/historyreviewhospital1986.htmWritten by Keith J. Weinhold in April 1986, it examines the history of the University of Missouri hospitals.
Missouri
County Health Departments ![]()
http://www.dhss.mo.gov/LPHA/LPHAs.htmlContact information for county health departments in Missouri.
HCUPnet ![]()
http://hcupnet.ahrq.gov/An interactive tool for identifying, analyzing and comparing statistics on hospital inpatient care. Uses the data from the Nationwide Inpatient Sample (NIS) of over 1000 hospitals. Also includes data from the State Inpatient Database (SID), representing inpatient care in community hospitals in 36 states (including Missouri), which represents more than half of all U.S. hospital discharges. Create and export tables on costs, demographics, mortality, length of stay, and insurance coverage for diseases or medical procedures. From the U.S. Agency for Health Care Research and Quality. [more]
Kansas City Star ![]()
![]()
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://infoweb.newsbank.com/iw-search/we/InfoWeb?p_product=NewsBank&p_action=explore&p_theme=aggregated5&p_clear_search=&s_search_type=keyword&s_category=none&d_refprod=NEWSARCHIVES&f_clearContext=yes&f_clearSearch=yes&d_place=KCSB(1991-Current) Complete full-text content of local and regional news, including community events, schools, politics, government policies, cultural activities, local companies, state industries, and people in the communiity. Paid advertisements are excluded. Available through NewsBank courtesy of MORENET.
MICA (Missouri Information for Community Assessment) ![]()
http://www.dhss.mo.gov/MICA/Use this site to create tailored statistical reports on births, deaths, hospital discharges and other topics. The site also includes a variety of health related fact sheets and reports, and community health initiatives.
Missouri Board of Nursing ![]()
http://pr.mo.gov/nursing.aspContains contact information, a licensee directory, latest news affecting nurses in practice. Also available is information on requirements for state licensure, including LPN and RN licensure applications, information about license renewal, and transferring licensure to another state.
Missouri Department of Health & Senior Services ![]()
http://www.dhss.mo.govIncludes statistical information about such subjects as cause of death, communicable diseases, hospitalization, and maternal child health at both the state and county levels. Use MICA (Missouri Information for Community Assessment) on this site to create tailored statistical reports on births, deaths, hospital discharges and other topics. The site also includes a variety of health related fact sheets and reports, and community health initiatives.
Missouri Healthcare-Associated Infection Reporting ![]()
http://www.dhss.mo.gov/HAI/index.htmlView and compare nosocomial infection rates for Missouri hospitals. Information on central line-associated bloodstream (CLAB) infections is available now for hospital inpatients; ambulatory surgicall centers will be added later, along with rates of surgical site infections. From the Missouri Department of Health and Senior Services.
Missouri Hospital Association ![]()
http://web.mhanet.com/
Also Known as: MHAEstablished in 1922, the Missouri Hospital Association is a not-for-profit organization of 150 member hospitals. Includes news, workforce reports, and information on continuing education. The Focus on Hospitals web site reports on community benefit and economic impact of Missouri hospitals.
Missouri Monthly Vital Statistics Index ![]()
http://library.muhealth.org/docs/mmvs.htmlIndexes the statistical data from the "Focus" articles which appear in each issue of the Missouri Monthly Vital Statistics from volume 29 (9) 1995-present.
National Council of State Boards of Nursing ![]()
http://www.ncsbn.org/Contains information on the exam Missouri uses for licensing registered nurses: the National Council Licensure Examination for RN's (NCLEX-RN). . Format and content distribution guides are available for the last several years in pdf format.
Office of Social and Economic Data Analysis ( OSEDA ) ![]()
http://www.oseda.missouri.edu/A core unit of the Missouri State Census Data Center.
Professional Registration Licensee Search - Missouri State Board for the Healing Arts ![]()
https://renew.pr.mo.gov/licensee-search.aspSearchable directory of licensed professionals including medical physicians & surgeons, physical therapists and occupational therapists among others. Search by county, profession, name and/or license number. Includes information on license and discplinary status.
Show Me Consumer's Guide to Hospital Surgery Volume in Missouri ![]()
http://www.dhss.mo.gov/HospitalSurgeryVolume/Lists the number of surgeries done at various Missouri hospitals for the following procedures: Carotid endarterectomy -- Coronary artery bypass graft -- Heart transplant -- Pediatric cardiac surgery -- Percutaneous transluminal coronary angioplasty -- Abdominal aortic aneurysm repair -- Lower extremity arterial by-pass -- Cerebral aneurysm repair -- Esophageal cancer surgery -- Pancreatic cancer surgery.
St. Louis Post-Dispatch ![]()
![]()
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://infoweb.newsbank.com/iw-search/we/InfoWeb?p_product=NewsBank&p_action=explore&p_theme=aggregated5&p_clear_search=&s_search_type=keyword&s_category=none&d_refprod=NEWSARCHIVES&f_clearContext=yes&f_clearSearch=yes&d_place=SLDB(1989-Current) Complete full-text content of local and regional news, including community events, schools, politics, government policies, cultural activities, local companies, state industries, and people in the community. Paid advertisements are excluded. Available through NewsBank courtesy of MORENET.
State Health Facts Online ![]()
http://www.statehealthfacts.org/
Also Known as: statehealthfacts;statehealthfacts.orgContains latest state-level data on demographics, health, and health policy. Includes information on health coverage, access, financing and state legislation. Site allows comparison of data for all states. From the Kaiser Family Foundation.
Columbia / Boone County
Boone County Health Report Card ![]()
http://www.oseda.missouri.edu/special/boonehealth/Created by the Chamber of Commerce in 1995; to be updated annually. Contains county statistics on various problem health issues such as access to health care, maternal and child health, mental health, and more.
Boone Hospital Center/BJC Physician Referral Database ![]()
http://webserver01.bjc.org/sfnet/BJC_PhysicianSearch.aspSearch for physicians in the BJC referral network (including Boone Hospital Center) by name, specialty, insurance, location, age or gender.
Columbia Daily Tribune ![]()
http://www.showmenews.com/
Daniel Boone Regional Library Catalog ![]()
http://catalog.dbrl.org/uhtbin/cgisirsi/0/0/0/38/1/XSearch library materials in the public libraries in Columbia, Fulton, and Ashland. Those with borrowers cards can place holds and renew material online.
Our Town - Columbia Community Profile ![]()
http://www.columbiatribune.com/2005/OurTown/20050626OurTown008.aspFacts and statistics about Columbia, from the Columbia Daily Tribune.
