Subject Librarians
Diane Johnson
(573) 882-6142
JohnsonE@health.missouri.edu
Subject Specialist for:
Health & Medicine
Health Related Professions
Nursing
Resources for Clinicians
Quick Links
askHERMES
http://www.askhermes.org/
Also Known as: ask hermes ; medQA ; med Q A ; MedQ@AAn experimental search engine to mine PubMed/MEDLINE, eMedicine, and the National Guideline Clearinghouse for answers to clinical questions. Type in a specific question for best results. [more]
Clinical xPert ![]()
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://www.thomsonhc.com/clinicalxpert/librarian/PFPUI/JbY1nE2WHHpQ5
Also Known as: PDR - Physicians Desk Reference is included in Clinical xPert.A point-of-care tool from MicroMedex. Click on the Disease, Labs, Calculators, or Drugs tabs for concise, action-oriented evidence-based information from DiseaseDex, DrugDex, and more. Unique Clinical Checklists ("Always do/Never do") are often included to guide patient management. A handheld version is freely available to MU HealthCare employees.
mdcalc
http://www.mdcalc.com
Also Known as: md+calc ; md calcClinical calculators for a variety of medical specialties. Created and maintained by a resident in New York City.
UpToDate ![]()
https://healthlibrary.missouri.edu/secure/UpToDate/goto_UpToDate.cfm
DynaMed ![]()
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?authtype=uid&user=mizzou&password=student&group=dynamed&profile=dynamed[more]
PIER Physician Information and Education Resource ![]()
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://online.statref.com/default.asp?grpalias=BCR
AccessMedicine ![]()
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://www.accessmedicine.com
STAT!-REF ![]()
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://online.statref.com/default.asp?grpalias=mu[more]
National Guideline Clearinghouse
http://www.guideline.gov/[more]
Med/Nursing Calculations ![]()
https://apps.umh.edu/nc/index.html
Clinical Evidence ![]()
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://www.clinicalevidence.com/ceweb/index.jsp
Stedman's Medical Dictionary ![]()
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://online.statref.com/Entry.aspx?lt=Dictionary&grpalias=MU&type=Dictionary
Other Resources
AMA Doctor Finder
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://webapps.ama-assn.org/doctorfinder/home.html
American Board of Medical Specialties (ABMS): Who's Certified
https://www.abms.org/WC/login.aspx
Also Known as: abms ; american board of medical specialties
Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (EBM Reviews) ![]()
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://ovidsp.ovid.com/ovidweb.cgi?T=JS&MODE=basic&PAGE=main&NEWS=N&D=cochIncludes the full text of the regularly updated systematic reviews of the effects of healthcare prepared by The Cochrane Collaboration. The reviews are presented in two types: includes both completed reviews and protocols for reviews in progress. EBM Reviews is integrated with Ovid MEDLINE. When browsing MEDLINE results, click on "Topic Review" to see the related Cochrane review. [more]
Degowin's Diagnostic Examination ![]()
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://online.statref.com/TOC.aspx?grpalias=MU&FxId=36Within the text, there are descriptions of symptoms and signs, highlighted instructions on how to elicit signs and lists of diseases with which to make a differential diagnosis.
Ferri's Clinical Advisor ![]()
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://www.maheclibrary.org/DirectLink.php?url=http://home.mdconsult.com/das/book/view/1701Jump to fulltext from the table of contents or the index. Resource brought to you by the MAHEC Digital Library. These links take up to a minute to load. Please logout when finished.
Free Medical Podcasts
http://FreeMedicalPodcasts.com
Also Known as: freemedicalpodcastsLinks to MP3s and transcripts (where available) for leading medical and scientific journals, and leading medical organizations such as the FDA, the Center for Disease Control, the American Heart Association, and more. Sign up for their mailing list to receive alerts. [more]
Guide to Culturally Competent Healthcare ![]()
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://online.statref.com/TOC.aspx?grpalias=MU&FxId=85
MedlinePlus
Http://medlineplus.govThe premier consumer health gateway from the National Library Medicine. Contents include a medical encyclopedia, drug information and links to evaluated health information.
Journal Articles
Looking for a specific article or journal? Try Journal/Article Finder
MEDLINE (Ovid) ![]()
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://ovidsp.ovid.com/ovidweb.cgi?T=JS&MODE=ovid&PAGE=main&NEWS=N&D=mesdCitations and abstracts to worldwide biomedical literature including research, clinical practice, administration, policy issues, and healthcare services. MEDLINE references articles from about 4000 journals published in 70 countries. Evidence-based search filters are available to assist in narrowing results to methodologically rigorous articles. To run a cited reference search on an article found in MEDLINE,copy and paste the PMID article Identifier here. [more]
PubMed ![]()
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/entrez/query.fcgi?otool=umochsclib&dr=abstractPubMed, developed by the National Library of Medicine (NLM), provides access to Old MEDLINE, MEDLINE, in-process, and publisher-supplied citations. PubMed has more than 17 million bibliographic citations and abstracts from nearly 4,500 journals in the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, pharmacy, allied health, health care systems, and pre-clinical sciences. In addition, PubMed provides access and links to the integrated molecular biology databases maintained by the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI). To run a cited reference search on an article found in PubMed, copy and paste the PMID article Identifier here. [more]
Evidence Updates
http://plus.mcmaster.ca/evidenceupdatesA searchable database of the best evidence from 110 premier clinical journals. A network of clinicians evaluates methodologically sound articles for clinical relevance and newsworthiness. Only articles that have been favorably evaluated by at least 3 clinicians are included. Users can also receive either daily or weekly email updates.
Drug Info
MICROMEDEX ![]()
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://www.thomsonhc.com/[more]
AHFS Drug Information ![]()
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://online.statref.com/TOC.aspx?grpalias=MU&FxId=1
Lexi-Interact Online Drug Interactions Program ![]()
https://healthlibrary.missouri.edu/secure/UpToDate/goto_uptodate.cfmA service of UpToDate, provided by the Lexi-Comp company. Enter a list of drugs to identify potential interactions, or list all potential interactions for a given drug or herb. Results can be filtered by level of risk rating if desired. After logging into UpToDate and accepting the license agreement, Click on Launch Lexi-Interact drug interactions program.
Antibiotic Guide: Johns Hopkins Division of Infectious Diseases
http://hopkins-abxguide.org/[more]
UMCHC Formulary ![]()
https://docushare.umh.edu/dsweb/Get/Document-12899/Formulary%2008_01_10.docThe list of drugs and dosage forms approved for usage at the University of Missouri Columbia Hospitals and Clinics.
Poisoning and Drug Overdose ![]()
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://www.accessmedicine.com/resourceTOC.aspx?resourceID=91
