Construct Your Search
Most databases default to a keyword or a basic search, i.e., they allow for individual words to be searched anywhere (text, title, source, author, etc.) in a record. An Advanced Keyword search broadens a search, allows use of any word, searches all fields, etc.
Most databases allow you to use Boolean operators (AND, OR, NOT) to combine terms. AND narrows a search, OR broadens a search, and NOT eliminates term(s). Commonly a * or other truncation symbol will let you search for all terms beginning with a set of letters.
Examples:
- college AND scholarships
- colleges OR universities
- Mexico NOT New Mexico
Most databases allow you to limit or focus your search results. Common limits used in database are:
- By publication date
- By language
- By peer reviewed or scholarly journals
- By full text
- By publication title
Most databases allow you to truncate words. Truncation allows you to search a word stem with different endings. The truncation symbols (e.g., * $ # + !, etc.) vary from database to database, though * is most common. Consult the help feature in a database to determine the truncation symbol for the database.
Example:
- politic* would retrieve political, politician(s), politicking, politically, politics, etc.
- Some databases are completely full-text or have some full-text articles. Full-text indicates that the complete journal or magazine article is in the database.
- Many databases link to the full-text of the article through FindIt@MU.
- Most databases allow you to mark selected articles so that you can print, download, or email your selected articles.
- Most databases have the help feature. It is a good idea to read the help screens before beginning a search.
Subject searching in databases requires the use of special terms unique to each database. A subject search narrows a search and searches only the subject field of a record.