Content
How to Find Articles
Determine the type of resource you need: journals, magazines, newspapers.
video
- Journals--A publication, issued on a predictable schedule, that contains scholarly articles written by researchers and for researchers in a subject area.
- Peer-reviewed journals (also called refereed journals)-- Scholarly journals that only publish articles which have been reviewed by scholars in the field of interest.
- Magazines--A publication, issued on a predictable schedule, that is intended for the general public.
- Newspapers
Select a database
video
- The following multidisciplinary databases are good starting places:
- For newspaper articles try one of the following:
- Press Display
(last 60 days only) - Factiva
(1980's to current) - Additional newpaper databases
- Press Display
- For additional sources for articles, check our listing of databases by subject
Search the database to find articles on a topic.
- Keywords--Select terms that describe the main concepts of your topic. Include synonyms.
- Boolean operators--combine your keywords using AND and OR
video
- AND narrows your search by looking for articles with all of the words
- OR broadens your search by looking for articles with any of the words
- Use quotation marks to search for phrases
- Use parentheses to indicate search order. Search statements within parentheses are performed first.
- Search topic: What is the effect of dark chocolate on health?
Search strategy: "dark chocolate" and (health or wellness)
Find the full-text of the article.
- Many databases contain the full-text of articles.
- If the article is not full-text in the database follow the
link. One of three things should happen.
- You will be taken directly to the article.
- You will be taken to a screen that tells you we have the publication in print and provides the location (campus library and call number)
- You will be taken to a screen that says this item isn't available at MU and provided with the option to use our interlibrary loan service to request the article from another library. All of the relevant parts of the citation will copy over onto the request form after you log on to the ILL@MU system with your pawprint.
Find a specific article.
- If you have an article citation, fill out this form to locate the full-text of a specific article either online or in print.