Skip to main content

Navigation

 MU Libraries University of Missouri MU Libraries

Content

Datasets on Health and Health Care

You may download any of the datasets below from the Roper Center website.

Health Poll Report--Healthcare and Politics

Study# USPSRA2004-HNI59
Survey firm: Princeton Survey Research Associates International
Survey Sponsor: Kaiser Family Foundation & Harvard School of Public Health
Dates: August 5-8, 2004
Sample: National adult
Sample size: 1,200
Variables: 99
Major topics covered:
Most important health problem for government to address (4); significance of health problem to presidential vote (9); George W. Bush vs. John Kerry (2); how closely followed certain news stories in last month or so (8); recent change in Medicare's policy towards obesity (1); buying prescription drugs from Canada (4); lower price of prescription drugs for people on Medicare (5); respondent's health insurance (7); HMO and managed care plans (9); law to sue health plans (1); how worried is respondent about certain issues (13); health insurance premiums (2).

Obesity

Study# USABC2004-954
Survey firm: TNS Intersearch
Survey sponsor: ABC News / Time Magazine
Dates: May 10-16, 2004
Sample: National adult
Sample size: 1,202
Variables: 113
Major topics covered:
Respondent's health (4); seriousness of public health problems in this country (8); federal government is doing too much/too little/about the right amount in addressing certain health problems (8); about how many hours per day does respondent watch television (1); about how many hours does respondent spend using internet in a typical week (1); exercise habits (5); about how many hours a day does respondent's child watch television (1); about how many hours a week does respondent's child use internet/computer games (1); respondent's child does/does not get enough physical exercise (1); physical education classes at child's school (2); child does/does not participate in any regularly scheduled after-school or weekend sports activities (1); how much of a say does responden't child have in deciding what foods family eats (1); child's weight (1); how often eat at restaurants (2); what does respondent keep track of in daily diet (3); respondent does/does not keep a supply of fresh fruits and vegetables in house (1); respondent's weight (3); weight-loss diet plans (4); hardest thing about losing weight (1); have/have not ever been discriminated against because of weight (1); most important causes of obesity in this country (9); responsibility for the nation's obesity problem (6); misleading advertising to sell high-calorie foods (2); do/do not have at least some negative feelings about overweight people (1); government policies on food content and marketing (5); health insurance companies should/should not be permitted to charge higher premiums for overweight people (1); health insurance companies should/should not be permitted to drop people from coverage because they're overweight (1); schools should/should not be allowed to raise money by allowing soda and candy machines in school (1).

Virginia Commonwealth University Life Sciences Survey, 2003

Study# USVIRGCU2003-LIFE
Survey firm: Virginia Commonwealth University Center for Public Policy
Survey Sponsor: Virginia Commonwealth University--Division of Life Sciences
Dates: September 3-26, 2003
Sample: National adult
Sample size: 1,003
Variables: 55
Major topics covered:
Developments in new technology have/have not helped make society better (1); scientific research (3); new technology used in medicine does/does not allow people to live longer and better (1); favor/oppose medical research that uses stem cells from human embryos (1); human cloning technology (5); changing a baby's genetic characteristics (2); how likely would respondent be to use genetic therapies if it meant living longer (1); agree/disagree that "[s]ometimes new developments in science seem so complicated that a person like me can't really understand what's going on" (1); agree/disagree with statement "I really enjoy learning how things work in science and technology" (1); scientific discoveries (2); medical discoveries (2); science education in high school (2); abortion (1); religion is/is not an important part of respondent's life (1); religious beliefs provide some/quite a bit/a great deal of guidance in day-to-day living (1); feelings about the Bible (1); one or two words that come to mind when respondent hears phrase "new developments in science and technology" (1).

NAC/AARP Poll: Caregivers in the US

Study# USAARP2003-CARE
Survey firm: Belden, Russonello & Stewart
Survey sponsor: National Alliance for Caregiving (NAC) and AARP
Dates: September 5-12, 2003
Sample: Caregivers--ages 18 and older
Sample size: 1,247
Variables: 150
Major topics covered:
Respondent is/was providing unpaid help to a relative or friend 18 years or older (1); number of adults respondent provides/provided care for (1); relationship to person caring/cared for (1); how often does/did respondent visit person caring/cared for (1); living arrangements of person caring/cared for (1); recipient of care is/was frail/sick/disabled (1); main problem or illness recipient of care has/had (1); recipient of care does/does not or did/did not suffer from Alzheimer’s or other mental confusion (1); for how long have been providing/did provide help to recipient (1); kinds of help provide[d] to recipient (13); hours spend/spent in an average week providing help to recipient (1); prescription medicines taken by recipient (3); anyone else has/has not provided unpaid help to recipient during last twelve months (1); relationship of other caregiver to recipient (1); self/someone else provides/provided most of the care for recipient (2); recipient did/did not receive any paid help during last twelve months (4); employment status during time as caregiver (1); effect of caregiving on job (7); money spent per month on recipient’s care (1); effect of caregiving on life (3); physical strain of caregiving (1); emotional stress of caregiving (1); financial hardship of caregiving (1); did/did not have a choice in taking on responsibility for caring for person (1); coping with demands of caregiving (7); looking for information on internet (3); experiences as a caregiver (7); have/have not done certain things to make caregiving easier for recipient (3); do/do not need more help or information on certain things as a caregiver (14); to where would respondent turn for information about some aspect of helping take care of recipient (6); respondent’s own health (2); ever served in U.S. Armed Forces (2).

Stony Brook Poll: Health Pulse of America, 2003

Study# USSTONYB2003-HLTHA
Survey firm: Stony Brook University Center for Survey Research
Date: 2003
Sample: National adult
Sample size: 865
Variables: 85
Major topics covered: Problems faced by country (2); quality of health care (3); receiving the wrong treatment (1); health care protecting the public (1); accurately diagnose and treat medical conditions (1); George W. Bush health care policy (1); federal government and health insurance (1); employment (2); job: health coverage vs. salary (2); job benefits (4); main occupation (2); job stress (1); current job benefits (4); currently covered by a health insurance plan (4); cutbacks in health benefits (1); losing current health benefits (2); labor unions and health insurance (3); prescription drug coverage (3); obesity (6); food manufacturers and junk food (3); government limiting junk food ads (1); public schools and vending machines (1); new government tax on junk food (1); nutritious school lunch programs (1); physical education classes in schools (1); children in the household (1); child concerns (4); children in school (1); paid vacation time (4).

February 2002 Health News Interest Index: Prescription Drugs/Source of Information

Roper study number: USPSRA2002-HNI034
Survey sponsor: Kaiser Family Foundation/ Harvard School of Public Health
Date: 2002
Sample: National adult
Sample size: 1,203
Variables: 36
Major topics covered: Most important health care problem (3); Important news stories (9); prescription drug discount cards (2); source of health care news (3).

Long Term Care Survey

Roper study number: USAARP2001-LTC581
Survey sponsor: American Association of Retired Persons
Date: 2002
Sample: National adults--ages 45 and older and Adult residents of California, Florida, New Mexico, Washington, and Wisconsin--ages 45 and older
Sample size: 1,800
Variables: 186
Major topics covered:
Health Care Issues (1); Long Term Care (5); Assisted Living Facility (2); Cost of Nursing Home Care (1), Estimate of Home Care (6); Financial Situation (1); Way of Pay (1); Partner Received Health Care (2); Way of Pay for Partner (1); Anyone you know Received Health Care (1); How Long (1); Primary Way of Pay (8); Coverage in Your State (9); Insurance (3); Planning (1); Familiar with Long Term Care (2); Follow Health Care Issues (1); Long Term Care in your Own Words (42); Assisted Living Facility Versus Nurse (1); Based Estimate on (44); Financially Prepared (1); Relatives (11); Resident of Health Care (28); Type of Care (25); LTC Services (1); Purchased Insurance (1).

Living Longer

Study# USPSRA2001-NW09
Survey firm: Princeton Survey Research Associates
Survey Sponsor: Newsweek
Dates: July 13-17, 2001
Sample: Adults 45 to 65 years old
Sample size: 801
Variables: 101
Major topics covered:
Personal Health (1); Exercise (11); Medication / Supplements (7); Stress (16); Worries (7); Aging (13); Artificial Organs (1); Live to age of...(1); Living Healthier (9); Medical Procedures (6); Sex Life (7)

Race, Ethnicity and Medical Care

Study# USPSRA1999-RAE006
Survey firm: Princeton Survey Research Associates
Survey Sponsor: Kaiser Family Foundation
Date: 1999
Sample: National Adult with oversamples of Blacks and Latinos
Sample size: Black N=1,189; Latino N=983
Variables: 165
Major topics covered: Important Issues (9); Health Care (31); Trust (12); Racism and Health Care (17); African Americans (20); Latinos (15); Health Insurance (5); Tuskegee Experiment

Medicare

Study# USPSRA2003-MED005
Surver firm: Princeton Survey Research Associates
Survey sponsor: Kaiser Family Foundation & Harvard School of Public Health
Field dates: April 25-June 1, 2003
Sample: National adult with an oversample of those age 65 and over
Sample size: 1,424
Variables: 160
Major topics covered:
Most important health care issue (3); Health Insurance Coverage (2); Medicare supplement(1); Prescription coverage (2); Grade insurance plan (1); Opinion of Medicare (4); Medicare government program (1); Health insurance programs run (3); Which offers more generous health benefits (1); More choices among doctors and hospitals (1); Cost rising faster (2); Medicare able to choose any doctor (1); Medicare covers costs of (2); Medicare sticks with government or privatize (3); Reaction towards things about Medicare (10); Consumer choice in Medicare (1); Most important about own health insurance (1); Medicare Reform (7); Problems with Medicare (8); View of financial condition of Medicare (1); Proposals to keep Medicare financially sound (7); Health Insurance for seniors (1); Prescription coverage for Medicare (2); Differences between Democratic and Republican proposals (3); Two prescription drug plans (10); How much more should seniors pay for prescription drug benefits (5); Drug discount cards (2); Medicare lower costs for drugs only after seniors pay certain amount (2); Easier to buy drugs from Canada (1); Government set limits for prices of drugs (1); Setting price limits would cause drugs companies to do less research and development (1); Other countries setting limits (1); Government negotiating with drug companies (1); Other countries negotiating (1); Medicare government run bureaucracy (1); Private plans put profit first (1); Trust groups for recommending the right thing for Medicare (11); Trust to do better job at handling Medicare (1); Trust with Medicare prescription drugs (2); Any one receive Medicare benefits (1); Problem to pay for prescription drugs (1); Personal health (1); Health stop participation in things (1).

Mental Health [1950]

Study# USRCOM1950-043
Survey firm: the Roper Organization
Field dates: July 1950
Sample: Appears from questionnaire that it is a survey of 4,344 residents of Louisville, Kentucky or the Louisville metropolitan area.

Congress and the Bush Administration/Iraq/Children's Issues/Health

Study# USCBS2003-01A
Survey firm: CBS News
Survey Sponsor: Prevention Magazine
Dates: January 4-6, 2003
Sample: National adult
Sample size: 902
Variables: 125
Major topics covered:
George W. Bush job approval (1); First priority for George W. Bush (1); George W. Bush handling of foreign policy (1); George W. Bush handling of the economy (1); Congress accomplish more of less (1); Bush administration tries for diplomatic solution (1); Most important thing for Republicans in Congress to focus on (1); Economic conditions (2); Opinion of Republican Party (1); Opinion of Democratic Party (1); Republican party take control of Congress (1); Economy get better or worse under republicans (1); Taxes increase or decrease (1); Opportunities for minorities (1); Healthcare system (1); Greatest concern for child (1); Bush administration policies favor which class (1); U.S. taking military action in Iraq (1); Expect fighting or resolution to solve Iraq conflict (1); Saddam Hussein kept promise (1); Iraq has weapons of mass destruction (1); What should U.S. do against Iraq (1); What should U.S. do against North Korea (1); Which is bigger threat (2); U.S. winning war on terrorism (2); News report child abduction (1); Kidnapping of children (3); Registered Sex offenders (1); Develop Hypertension (1); Frequently drink caffeine (1); Frequently add salt (1); Frequently drink alcohol (1); Frequently exercise (1); Check-up in past year (3); Hypertension (3); Diagnoses with Hypertension (1); Do for hypertension (1); Suffer pain (5); Diagnosed with chronic pain (1); Average daily pain (1); Pain Relief (7); Pain interfere with daily life (1); Handle pain (1); Who took respondent to school (1); How does child go to school (2); U.S. response to North Korea (1); Vote 2000 (1); Vote 2002 (1).

Go to menu for more datasets