Ellis Library Sourcepack
Textile and Apparel Management 4510
19th and 20th Century Western Dress
Professor: Laurel Wilson
Librarian: Brenda Graves-Blevins
Finding books
From the MU Libraries Gateway page, click on MERLIN from the left menu. MERLIN is a catalog of the books, journals, magazines and other materials owned by libraries on this campus, as well as the libraries at the University of Missouri campuses at St. Louis, Kansas City and Rolla.
When you enter a search, by keyword, author, etc., the computer will default to searching only the MU campus, denoted 'MU' in the pull-down menu on the right side of the screen, unless you choose a different library from that menu. By choosing 'ALL MERLIN' from the menu, you can expand your search to include all the libraries in the University of Missouri System. To expand your search still further to find what is available from nearly all the academic libraries in the state of Missouri, click on the MOBIUS button found at the extreme top the the MU Libraries Gateway page.
A record that you find in MERLIN or MOBIUS, provides you with citation information and a call number so that you can find the actual item in a library on this campus or request that an item be sent from one of the other libraries in the MERLIN or MOBIUS systems. If you find that the item is available in Ellis Library, please check the Location Guide to find where the item can be found in the stacks. Please note that items can only be borrowed from other libraries if they are unavailable from any of of the libraries on the MU campus.
If the item that you want is not available at MU, or through the other MERLIN libraries, or even MOBIUS, you still may request the book through Interlibrary Loan by clicking on the ILL@MU Logon found in the middle of the Gateway page.
Finding articles - online
Again, from the MU Libraries Gateway page, click on Find a Database . Databases are electronic indexes that usually provide you with citations to journal, magazine or newspaper articles, but citations to book chapters, dissertations and other documents or kinds of information may also be included in some databases. In same cases you will note that the fulltext of the item is available from the database, but more than not, finding a citation is the first step of a search that will require you to search MERLIN to determine if we own the item in print. Once you have the call number for an item that we own in print, consult one of the yellow location guides to determine on what floor in Ellis library the item of interest is held.
For this course, the following databases will probably be some of the most useful to you. Click on the link to go directly to that database.
- 19th Century MasterFile is an index to periodical articles appearing in British and American scholarly journals from 1802 to 1906. Indexing is by key word only, and there is no fulltext.
- ABI/Informis the primary index to over 1,000 business journals. The database provides information about companies and products, business conditions and trends, corporate strategies and tactics, and management policies and techniques. Includes access to ABI/Inform Global, ABI/Inform Dateline and ABI/Inform Trade & Industry. Coverage is 1971 to date, is updated daily and there is some fulltext.
- Academic Search Premier is an index provides full text for nearly 4,600 scholarly publications including more than 3,500 peer-reviewed publications. In addition to the full text, this databases offers indexing and abstracts for all 8,052 journals in the collection. Coverage is 1984 to date, is constantly updated with some fulltext.
- America: History and Lifecontains citations and abstracts of books, dissertations, and articles from approximately 2,00 journals published worldwide. Covers all aspects of U.S. and Canadian history, culture, and current affairs from prehistoric times to the present. Coverage is 1964 to date.
- American Civil War: Letters and Diariesis a fulltext searchable letters and diaries of soldiers and noncombatants on both sides of the U.S. Civil War. The database can be searched and browsed in many ways, including by U.S. state, topics described, year of writers death, Union or Confederate loyalty, and other variables. Coverage is 1861-1865.
- American Periodical Series Online is a fulltext collection of some 1000 magazines and journals published between 1741 and 1900. Titles include Benjamin Franklin’s General Magazine, the first American professional journals, and several consumer magazines still in publication, such as Vanity Fair, Harper’s Magazine, and Ladies’ Home Journal. The search interface allows you to search the complete text, including tables of contents. Articles are linked to the corresponding page images, allowing downloading and printing in PDF format.
- Factiva contains business and financial data on companies from around the world. It also provides access to current issues and an archive of over 8,000 publications from around the globe. License terms restrict access to MU students, faculty and staff only. This database is fulltext and is updated daily.
-
GenderWatch is adatabase of periodicals and newsletters that focus on women and women issues. Publications included are academic and scholarly journals, regional publications, magazines, newspapers, newsletters, booklets and reports. GenderWatch contains a significant body of archival material going back to 1970.
- Historical Abstracts contains citations and abstracts of books, dissertations, and articles from approximately 2,000 journals worldwide, excluding the United States and Canada. It covers all aspects of world history from 1450 AD to the present. It has mostly English articles but includes material in other languages.
- JSTOR A full-text database consisting of the Arts and Sciences I, II, III, IV, Ecology & Botany and General Science Collections which provide access to the back files of over 300 scholarly journals. Areas included are history, sociology, business, economics, ecology, literature, mathematics, music, political science, population studies, Asian studies, philanthropy and finance.Coverage begins with volume one of each title and continues to within 4-5 years of the present. It includes graphs, photographs and images.
- Lexis-Nexis Academic offers access to the fulltext of current and back issues of major newspapers, journals, newsletters, and news sources from around the world and the fulltext of legal materials, (court cases, legislation, statutes, regulations, law reviews, and more). It is an excellent source for current events, business and financial information. Includes very current information.
- MasterFile Premier provides searchable full-text for over 1100 magazines and journals. It indexes over 2600 journals. Full-text is available for some titles from 1990. Indexing is available from 1984.
- North American Women's Letters and Diaries provides 80,000 pages of fulltext letters, diaries and manuscripts by 632 North American women from colonial times to 1950. The database is fulltext searchable and texts can also be browsed by author, source, year, place, personal event, or historical event.
- PAIS covers the range of the social sciences, with emphasis on national and international economic, political and public policy issues. The database provides indexing to articles, books, federal, state, and local documents, agency publications, yearbooks and directories.
- ProQuest Historical Newspapers eventually will digitally reproduce every issue of the New York Times (1851-2001) and the Wall Street Journal (1889-1987) from cover-to-cover. It provides full page-image and fulltext searching of these newspapers. Not all years have been digitized yet, so this is a growing collection. Database coverage is 1972 to date, it is updated monthly, but there is not fulltext.
- PsycINFOcontains references to articles in more than 1,300 periodicals as well as technical reports, dissertations, and other materials. References to relevant book chapters and books published from 1987 to date are also included. The database covers literature in psychology and related behavioral and social sciences. Coverage is 1872 to date, there is no fulltext, updating is weekly.
- Sociological Abstracts abstracts and indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. The database provides abstracts of journal articles and citations to book reviews drawn from over 1,809 serials publications, and also provides abstracts of books, book chapters, dissertations, and conference papers. Records added since 1973 contain in-depth and nonevaluative abstracts of journal articles. Many records from key journals in sociology, published since 2001, also include the references cited in the bibliography of the source article. Each individual reference may also have links to an abstract and/or to other papers that cite that reference; these links increase the possibility of finding more potentially relevant articles.
- WorldCat is the OCLC Online Union Catalog containing over 41 million records catalogued by OCLC member libraries covering books and other materials held in libraries worldwide.
-
Finding articles - print
- Index to the New York Times - Mid 19th through 20th century
SPEC REF AND Depository AI 21 .N44
- Index to The Times - Indexes The Times (London), 1957-1972
SPEC REF AI 21 .T5
- Palmer's Index to the Times Newspaper - Indexes The Times (London), 1791-1938
SPEC REF AI 21 .T5
- Reader's Guide to Periodical Literature - Late 19th-date
Ready Ref AI 3 .R48
- The Times (London), 1789-2003
SPEC FILM
Selected Periodicals - some scholarly, some popular culture
-
To access an specific online journal or magazine, first go the MU Libraries Gateway page. From the left menu, under Find a Database, click on Find a Specific Article or Journal . On the next page under Search Journals by Title, you can key in the title of the journal of interest to gain access to the electronic version of the journal.
-
American Magazine (title varies; 1876 to 1956, see also, Leslie's)
AP 2 .A346 (4 East)
- Clothing and Textiles Research Journal
TS 1300 .C64 (1982-date, print)
Online (1982-date)
- Collier’s (title varies some; 1908 to 1957)
AP 2 .C65 (4 East)
- Dress
GT 605 .D74 (1975-date, print)
Online (2000-date)
- Fashion Theory
Online (2004-date)
- Glamour (1986-date)
TT500 .G46 (1A West)
- Godey’s (1842 to 1896)
050 G54 (3 West)
- Good Housekeeping (1895 to date)
TX 1 .G7 (1A West)
- Harper's (1850 to date)
AP 2 .H3 (4 East)
- Harper’s Bazaar (1867 to date)
TT 500 .H3 (1A West)
- The Journal of Interdisciplinary History
D1 .J585 (1970-date, print)
Online (1970-date)
- Leslie’s ( title varies; 1855 to 1922)
050 L555 (Annex, Depository)
- Life (1878-2000)
AP2 .L54715 (4 East)
- McCall's (1953-2001)
TT 500 .M2 (1A West)
- Redbook (1968-date)
AP2 .R28 (4 East)
- Saturday Evening Post (1920 to date)
AP 2 .S3 (4 East)
- Vanity Fair (absorbed by Vogue)
- Vogue (1934 to date)
TT 500 .V7 (1A West)
Micellaneous
- American Decades (Covers each decade of the 20th century)
Ready Ref E 169.12 .A419 1994
- Encyclopedia of American Cultural and Intelllectual History
Ref E 169.1 .E624 2001
- Encyclopedia of American Social History
Ref HN 57 .E58 1993
- Savitar (MU's Yearbook)
LH1 .S2 (Found in several locations: Ellis, Ellis-Special Collections, Annex, and Journalism under this call number.)
C:22/1/1 ( Found in the MU Archives under this number .)
Note: Some locations have missing volumes.