Ellis Library Sourcepack
Textile and Apparel Management 2500
Social Appearance in Time and Space
Professor: Laurel Wilson
Librarian: Brenda Graves-Blevins
Finding books
From the MU Libraries Gateway page, click on MERLIN from the left menu. MERLIN is a catalog of the books, journals, magazines and other materials owned by libraries on this campus, as well as the libraries at the University of Missouri campuses at St. Louis, Kansas City and Rolla.
When you enter a search, by keyword, author, etc., the computer will default to searching only the MU campus, denoted 'MU' in the pull-down menu on the right side of the screen, unless you choose a different library from that menu. By choosing 'ALL MERLIN' from the menu, you can expand your search to include all the libraries in the University of Missouri System. To expand your search still further to find what is available from nearly all the academic libraries in the state of Missouri, click on the MOBIUS button found at the extreme top the the MU Libraries Gateway page.
A record that you find in MERLIN or MOBIUS, provides you with citation information and a call number so that you can find the actual item in a library on this campus or request that an item be sent from one of the other libraries in the MERLIN or MOBIUS systems. If you find that the item is available in Ellis Library, please check the Location Guide to find where the item can be found in the stacks. Please note that items can only be borrowed from other libraries if they are unavailable from any of of the libraries on the MU campus.
If the item that you want is not available at MU, or through the other MERLIN libraries, or even MOBIUS, you still may request the book through Interlibrary Loan by clicking on the ILL@MU Logon found in the middle of the Gateway page.
Finding articles
Again, from the MU Libraries Gateway page, click on Find a Database . Databases are electronic indexes that usually provide you with citations to journal, magazine or newspaper articles, but citations to book chapters, dissertations and other documents or other kinds of information may also be included in some databases.
For this course, the following databases will probably be some of the most useful to you. Click on the title of any database to go directly to that database.
After conducting your search in one of the databases, you may see HTML or PDF, which means the fulltext of the article is embedded in the database you are searching. Otherwise, choose the FINDIT@MU button where you will usually be redirected to the fulltext of the article, or at least to the fulltext of the journal you are seeking. If not then you will have a choice to see if we have print access to the journal.
If we have neither electronic or print access to an article you need, then you will need to request your article through Interlibrary Loan.
- Academic Search Premier is an index provides full text for nearly 4,600 scholarly publications including more than 3,500 peer-reviewed publications. In addition to the full text, this databases offers indexing and abstracts for all 8,052 journals in the collection.
- American Civil War: Letters and Diariesis a fulltext searchable letters and diaries of soldiers and noncombatants on both sides of the U.S. Civil War. The database can be searched and browsed in many ways, including by U.S. state, topics described, year of writers death, Union or Confederate loyalty, and other variables.
- America: History and Lifecontains citations and abstracts of books, dissertations, and articles from approximately 2,000 journals published worldwide. Covers all aspects of U.S. and Canadian history, culture, and current affairs from prehistoric times to the present. Coverage is 1964 to date.
- Historical Abstracts contains citations and abstracts of books, dissertations, and articles from approximately 2,000 journals worldwide, excluding the United States and Canada. It covers all aspects of world history from 1450 AD to the present. It has mostly English articles but includes material in other languages
- JSTOR A full-text database consisting of the Arts and Sciences I, II, III, IV, Ecology & Botany and General Science Collections which provide access to the back files of over 300 scholarly journals. Areas included are history, sociology, business, economics, ecology, literature, mathematics, music, political science, population studies, Asian studies, philanthropy and finance.Coverage begins with volume one of each title and continues to within 4-5 years of the present. It includes graphs, photographs and images.
- Lexis-Nexis Academic offers access to the fulltext of current and back issues of major newspapers, journals, newsletters, and news sources from around the world and the fulltext of legal materials, (court cases, legislation, statutes, regulations, law reviews, and more). It is an excellent source for current events, business and financial information. Includes very current information.
- MasterFile Premier provides searchable full-text for over 1100 magazines and journals. It indexes over 2600 journals. Full-text is available for some titles from 1990. Indexing is available from 1984.
- North American Women's Letters and Diaries provides 80,000 pages of fulltext letters, diaries and manuscripts by 632 North American women from colonial times to 1950. The database is fulltext searchable and texts can also be browsed by author, source, year, place, personal event, or historical event.
- ProQuest Historical Newspapers eventually will digitally reproduce every issue of the New York Times (1851-2003) and the Wall Street Journal (1889-1987) from cover-to-cover. It provides full page-image and fulltext searching of these newspapers. Not all years have been digitized yet, so this is a growing collection
from one of the databases is the first step of a search that will require you to search MERLIN to determine if we own the article in print or if it is available electronically. If you find that we only have the article in print, then you need to make note of the call number of that item and then, consult one of the yellow Location Guides to determine on what floor in Ellis library the item of interest is held.
Selected Academic Journals and Magazines
From the MU Libraries Gateway and from the menu on the left, choose Find a Specific Article or Journal, then type in the the article information or the journalor magazine title of interest to see if we own access to it. Although e-access will be available for most articles of interest, for older materials you may need to determine if we have the item in print.
- American Indian Culture and Research Journal
- AARP
- American Journal of Sociology
- American Sociological Review
- Clothing and Textiles Research Journal
- Ebony
- Ethnic Studies Journal
- European Journal of Social Sciences
- Hispanic
- Hispanic Research Journal
- Home Economics Research Journal
- International Migration Review
- National Geographic
- Journal of Asian Studies
- Journal of Black Studies
- Sociogical Journal Quarterly
- Urban Anthropology
Fashion Magazines
Only the call numbers for the magazines are given to you, rather than instructions on how to get e-access, so that you will know where to go to browse paper issues of these magazines.
- American Magazine (title varies; 1876 to 1956, see also, Leslie's)
AP 2 .A346 (4 East)
- Leslie’s ( title varies; 1855 to 1922)
050 L555 (Annex, Depository)
- Collier’s (title varies some; 1908 to 1957)
AP 2 .C65 (4 East)
- Earnshaw's Infants-Girls-Boys Wear Review (1980-1995)
TT 635 .A15
- Glamour (1986-date)
TT500 .G46 (1A West)
- Godey’s (1842 to 1896)
050 G54 (3 West)
- Good Housekeeping (1895 to date)
TX 1 .G7 (1A West)
- Harper's (1850 to date)
AP 2 .H3 (4 East)
- Harper’s Bazaar (1867 to date)
TT 500 .H3 (1A West)
- Life (1878-2000)
AP2 .L54715 (4 East)
- McCall's (1953-2001)
TT 500 .M2 (1A West)
- Saturday Evening Post (1920 to date)
AP 2 .S3 (4 East)
- Seventeen (1973-1993)
AP 2 .S483 (4 East)
- Vogue (1934 to date)
TT 500 .V7 (1A West)
-
Selected Reference Sources
Listed here are some typical resources you might use for background information. Try your hand at doing a keyword search in MERLIN, using 'encyclopedia' with another keyword such as 'immigration' or 'native Americans'.
- American Decades (Covers each decade of the 20th century)
Ready Ref E 169.12 .A419 1994
- Citation Guides (Click on this site for links to various citation guides available online, e.g. APA, MLA, Turabian, Chicago Manual of Style, etc.)
- The Clothing Index (This is a print index published from 1970-1979)
REF TT 490 .C59
- The Clothing and Textile Arts Index (This is name change for The Clothing Index, published from 1980-1993)
REF TT 490 .C59
- Encyclopedia of American Cultural and Intelllectual History
Ref E 169.1 .E624 2001
- Encyclopedia of American Social History
Ref HN 57 .E58 1993
- Index to the New York Times (Covers mid 19th through 20th century)
SPEC REF AND Depository AI 21 .N44
- Index to The Times (Indexes The (London) Times, 1957-1972)
SPEC REF AI 21 .T5
- Palmer's Index to the Times Newspaper (Indexes The (London) Times 1791-1938)
SPEC REF AI 21 .T5
- Reader's Guide to Periodical Literature (Indexes articles from the late 19th-date)
Ready Ref AI 3 .R48
- The Times (London) (1789-2003)
SPEC FILM
This SOURCEPACK is a service of Ellis Library