Ellis Library Sourcepack
Textile and Apparel Management 1100
Introduction to the Textile and Apparel Industry

Professor: Pam Norum
Librarians: Gwen Gray; Brenda Graves-Blevins



Private and Public Company Directories

*Dun & Bradstreet, Inc.  MILLION DOLLAR DIRECTORY.
Volumes 1-3 alphabetically list 160,000 U.S. businesses with an indicated net worth of over $500,000.  There are two cross-reference volumes, one by SIC code and the other by geographical location.
READY REF HC102 .D8 

*STANDARD & POOR'S REGISTER OF CORPORATIONS, DIRECTORS, AND EXECUTIVES.
Volume 1 alphabetically lists over 45,000 U.S., Canadian, and major international corporations.  Volume 2 is a list of executives and directors with brief biographical information.  Volume 3 lists companies by SIC code and geographic location, new companies added, family tree indices for identifying parents/subsidiary relationships as well as other indices.
READY REF HG4057 .A 4 

*Dun & Bradstreet, Inc.  DUN'S DIRECTORY OF SERVICE COMPANIES.
Lists more than 50,000 businesses in the service sector (SICs 70-81, 83, & 89) which employ 50 or more people.
READY REF HD9981 .3 .D88 

Industry Information

STANDARD & POOR'S NETADVANTAGE
This database provides information on companies, industries, stocks, mutual funds and the economy. Sources include Industry Surveys, Stock Reports, Bond Reports and Corporation Records. The Industry Surveys is an excellent resource to locate information on 53 industries. It is available from the MU Libraries’ Gateway. Click on Find a Database from the left menu and choose from the alphabetized list of databases.

After you connect to NetAdvantage , choose the Industries tab toward the top of the page.  Under the Industry Surveys pull-down menu you'll find detailed reports on "Apparel  & Footwear". Retailing: General" and "Retailing: Specialty" industries.


Value Line
Information on about 90 U.S. industries.  Updated quarterly.
READY REF HG 4501 .V26

Searching for Articles

ABI/INFORM
This is an index to magazines and journals in the world of business.  Some full text articles are included.  It is available from the MU Libraries’ Gateway. Click on Find a Database from the left menu and choose from the alphabetized list of databases.

ACADEMIC SEARCH PREMIER
This index provides full text for nearly 4,600 scholarly publications including more than 3,500 peer-reviewed publications.  In addition to the full text, this databases offers indexing and abstracts for all 8,052 journals in the collection.  It is available from the MU Libraries’ Gateway.  Click on Find a Database from the left menu and choose from the alphabetized list of databases.

BUSINESS & COMPANY RESOURCE CENTER
This is a particularly excellent source for trade magazines, as it indexes articles from more than 900 business-related magazines. It is also good for research on companies and industries.
It is available from the MU Libraries’ Gateway. Click on Find a Database from the left menu and choose from the alphabetized list of databases.

BUSINESS SOURCE PREMIER
This provides fulltext access to more than 8,300 journals, magazines, and other resources such as country reports, reports on industry, and market data.  It is available from the MU Libraries’ Gateway.  Click on Find a Database from the left menu and choose from the alphabetized list of databases.
                                   
FACTIVA
Provides full-text access to current issues and an archive of over 8,000 publications from around the world as well as business and financial data on companies around the world.
It is available from the MU Libraries’ Gateway. Click on Find a Database from the left menu and choose from the alphabetized list of databases.

Note: Factiva is available only to MU students, staff and faculty

LEXIS-NEXIS ACADEMIC  
This source provides mostly full-text access to thousands of general and business-related publications, from around the world, as well as business and financial information. 
It is available from the MU Libraries Gateway. Click on Find a Database from the left menu and choose from the alphabetized list of databases.

Note: LEXIS-NEXIS ACADEMIC is available only to MU students, staff, and faculty


Periodicals in Ellis Library

Apparel Industry Periodicals

Apparel

Women's Wear Daily/WWC


Textile/Fiber Industry Periodicals

International Textiles

Textile Asia

Textile World


Retail Industry Periodicals

Daily News Record

DSN Retailing Today 

Footwear News

Stores


Consumer Periodicals

Glamour

Harpers Bazaar

Vogue

Textile Information

ALL ABOUT COTTON: A FABRIC DICTIONARY AND SWATCHBOOK
REF TS1582 .P37 1998

ALL ABOUT SILK: A FABRIC DICTIONARY AND SWATCHBOOK
REF TS1665 .P37 1991

CONTEMPORARY FASHION
REF TT505 .A1 C66 2002

ENCYCLOPEDIA OF CLOTHING AND FASHION
REF GT507 .E53 2005

ENCYCLOPEDIA OF TEXTILES
REF TS1309 .J47 1992

FABRIC GLOSSARY
REF TS1445 .H84 2004

FABRIC SCIENCE:  A COMPLETE TEXTILE TEXTBOOK/WORKBOOK WITH ACCOMPANYING FABRIC SAMPLES TO ILLUSTRATE THE TEXT MATERIAL
TS1765 .P5 1987
    in Special Collections, 4 West

FAIRCHILD DICTIONARY OF TEXTILES
REF TS1309 .F34 1996

FAIRCHILD DICTIONARY OF FASHION
REF TT 503 .C34 2003

GARMENT AND TEXTILE DICTIONARY
REF TT494 .C66 1997

 HANDBOOK OF TECHNICAL TEXTILES
TS1767 .H62 2000

OFFICIAL NORTH AMERICAN TEXTILE RED BOOK
REF TS1312 .A17 2000

TECHNO TEXTILES
TT699 .B73 1998

TEXTILE TERMS AND DEFINITIONS
REF TS1309 .T47 1991

TEXTILES
TS1446 .K33 2000