Content
Sports Education
Finding Books
MERLIN Catalog & MOBIUS Catalog Keyword Search: (e.g., sports, athletics, athletes, college sports, collegiate athletics, basketball, football, etc.)Subject Search, e.g.
Baseketball Training
College Sports
Feminism and Sports
Fencing
Football Training
Games
Gymnastics
Hockey Training
Physical Education and Training
Professionalism in Sports
Sports
Swimming
Wrestling
Selected Encyclopedias, Dictionaries, Handbooks, & Manuals
ACSM's resource manual for Guidelines for exercise testing and prescriptionACSM's health-related physical fitness assessment manual
The Oxford dictionary of sports science and medicine [electronic resource]
The A to Z of the Olympic movement
Sport psychology
Sports injury prevention
Encyclopedia of Title IX and sports
Finding Articles
Databases These and other databases can be found through the link above:Academic Search Premier
CABDirect
CQ Researcher
Education Full Text ERIC
Gale Virtual Reference Library
JSTOR
MEDLINE (Ovid)
National Center for Complementary and Alternative Medicine Project Muse
PubMed
Finding Periodicals
MERLINCheck to see library holdings for periodicals by doing a Journal, Newspaper, Magazine Title Search. .
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://finditatmu.library.missouri.eduCheck for electronic availability of periodicals.
Selected Periodicals
Doping Journal
Journal of sports science & medicine [electronic resource]
Texas review of entertainment & sports law
Psychology of sport and exercise [electronic resource]
Athletic insight [electronic resource] : the online journal of sport psychology
The sport journal [electronic resource]
Sports illustrated
Browse Physical Education Periodicals
FINDING THE FULL-TEXT OF JOURNAL ARTICLES
If you're looking at results in one of the databases listed above, just click on the
article linker button next to the article citation. The article will display if it's available electronically. If there is no online access, you'll be given the opportunity to look for a print copy in the MERLIN Catalog.
If you have an article reference, but are not currently in a database, go to the MU Libraries' Gateway page and click "Find a Specific Article or Journal" link on the left hand side of the page. Type in the name of the journal or, if you have the citation, a specific journal article. If electronic coverage is not available, check the MERLIN Catalog to see if we have a print subscription to the journal. MU Libraries does not subscribe to all journal titles.
If you find a journal article that you need, but cannot find the article using
article linker, fill out a journal article request form.You will need to register the first time you use our interlibrary loan service which is called https://ill.mul.missouri.edu/MUU/logon.html. Usually you will receive the article electronically via email within a few days of placing your request.
Websites
Google Directory Sports http://www.google.com/Top/Sports/
NationalCenter for Health Statistics http://www.cdc.gov/nchs/default.htm
National Collegiate Athletic Association http://www.ncaa.org/
Future Athletes http://www.futureathletes.com/
MUTigers.com
My Library Account
Related Sourcepack
The Black Athlete in American Society
Quick Video: I Have a Citation...Find Me the Article!http://mulibraries.missouri.edu/showmehow/videos/findcitation/finditatmucitation.htm
Take a reference to an article from a bibliography, and check whether MU Libraries provides it online or in print. Time: 4 minutes, 7 seconds
Quick Video: Locating Books by Call Number in Ellis Library ![]()
http://mulibraries.missouri.edu/showmehow/videos/locate/locate.htm
I've got a call number. Now how do I find the book? Time: 1 minute, 31 seconds
Quick Video: Requesting a Book from the Depository ![]()
http://mulibraries.missouri.edu/showmehow/videos/bookdepository/bookdepository.htm
Citation Guides and Using EndNote or Zotero http://mulibraries.missouri.edu/guides/WritingCiting.htm Evaluating Web Resources Source Checklist