Ellis Library Sourcepack for Sociology 7130

Advanced Social Statistics

Instructor: Takeshi Wada
Office: 318 Middlebush Hall
Phone & Email: 884-6173; wadat@missouri.edu
Office Hours: Wednesdays 11:00-1:00

Finding Books and Journals:  

The MU Libraries Gateway is the main access point to all of the MERLIN Libraries' catalogs, which include libraries at Columbia, St. Louis, Kansas City, and Rolla campuses of UM, and St. Louis University.  Through the Library Gateway you can also search MOBIUS, a union catalog which includes library holdings of Washington University and many other Missouri academic libraries.  As an MU student, you have access to the approximately 14 million books and other materials in all of these libraries. You do not have to be in the library, or even on campus, to access MERLIN and MOBIUS.  You can get to them from any computer that has internet/web access. If a book you need is not listed in MERLIN or MOBIUS, request it through our Interlibrary Loan service.

Locating Articles: 

From the MU Libraries Gateway page, click on the Databases link to go to a list of nearly 300 databases that index thousands of journals, magazines, newspapers, government documents, and many other types of materials. Click on All Subjects and then Sociology to go to a list of a dozen or so resources recommended for Sociology. This includes Sociological Abstracts, a database that provides in-depth indexing of the international serials literature in sociology and its complementary fields. Coverage is 1963 to the present.

Depending on the topic you are working on, and other factors such as time period and type of publication, there may be many other choices. Consult the categories listed under All Subjects for other relevant fields, (e.g., Psychology, Women Studies, Health & Medicine). The Popular Databases category is particularly good for very current topics, wide coverage of popular press, including broadcast media, and topics that are interdisciplinary.

Note: If you are accessing MU databases from a non-MU server, (e.g., AOL, Socket, Mediacom), you will be asked to authenticate yourself by entering your MU e-mail user name and password (your Pawprint).

Finding the particular journals that contain articles you want:

When you find an article citation in a database, your next step will be to locate the journal which published the article. The library offers some journals in print form and some in full-text online, but some journals we do not own in any format. Here are the possibilities:

  • If the article's full text is provided by the database, just click to open it.
  • If the database provides a connection to a different database for the full text of the article, follow the links.
  • MU may have both a print subscription and electronic access to articles within a journal. Search MERLIN for the journal title. You might find a hotlink to the full text.
  • MU may have a print subscription only. Use MERLIN to look up the journal title. Find the call number and location, then locate the print copy in Ellis or another library building.
  • MU might not have a print subscription but could offer electronic access through the "Electronic Journals" (Find it At MU) link on the Library Gateway.
  • If MU Library does not offer the journal in full-text electronic format, try Google. Occasionally articles may be available through the publisher's website.
  • If neither print nor electronic access is available, request the article through our Interlibrary Loan service.

Finding and acquiring data for statistical analysis

Your assignment requires that you replicate a published article, so it might be helpful to choose an article for which the data is easily available. Fortunately, ICPSR's Bibliography of Data-Related Literature makes the process quite easy.

The MU Libraries' Data Services website will answer almost all questions you could have about selecting and acquiring datasets. We recommend you read through the site's FAQ page if you have never used datasets before. ICPSR's Data Use Tutorial is also excellent for newcomers.

I. Sources for raw data:

III. Search tools for finding datasets

  • Browse ICPSR's Subject Thesaurus
  • Search at the variable level
    • The General Social Survey website allows subject searches by variable.
    • Search public opinion survey questions by keyword through Lexis Nexis Academic database.
      (Click on "Reference" in the left navigation bar, then on "Polls and Surveys.")
    • Also try the iPOLL database, which searches the full text of over 500,000 survey questions. NOTE: Some questions you'll find in iPOLL are from surveys we cannot acquire in raw data form.

Technical Assistance

Library Assistance:

If you have questions questions related to finding books, articles and other secondary sources,
contact Nancy Turner Myers, Social Sciences Librarian, 
office 164 Ellis Library, myersn@missouri.edu, phone 882-3342

If you have questions about finding statistics and acquiring data,
contact Marie Concannon, Government Documents and Data Services Librarian,
office 106-B Ellis Library,  concannonm@missouri.edu, phone 882-0748