Content
Psychology 4815: Cross-cultural Psychology
Instructor: Etti Naveh-BenjaminENCYCLOPEDIA & BACKGROUND INFORMATION
Gale Virtual Reference Library Online access to many useful reference books.EIU Country Profiles and Country Reports
Library of Congress Country Studies
Encyclopedia of Human Behavior (Ref. BF31.E5 1994)
Encyclopedia of Psychology (Ref. BF31.E52 1994)
Handbook of Psychological Assessment (Ref. BF39.H2645 2000)
Encyclopedia of Psychological Assessment (Ref. BF176.E53 2003)
Handbook of Child Psychology (Ref. BF721.H242 1998)
Encyclopedia of Social and Cultural Anthropology (Ref. GN307.E525 1996)
Worldmark Encyclopedia of Cultures and Daily Life (Ref. GN333.W67 1998)
Marriage, Family, and Relationships: A Cross-Cultural Encyclopedia (Ref. GN480.B76 1994)
Handbook of Cross-Cultural Psychology (Ref. GN502.H36 1997)
Handbook of Social Psychology (Ref. HM251.H224 1998)
Handbook of World Families (Ref. HQ515.H3356 2005)
RESOURCES FOR FINDING SCHOLARLY SOURCES
- PsycINFO with PsycARTICLES
- Sociological Abstracts
- Academic Search Premier
- PAIS (Covers sociology and social policy)
- Social Work Abstracts
- Social Services Abstracts
- ATLA Religion Database
- Alternative Press Index
- Ageline
- GenderWatch
- Bibliography of Asian Studies
- HAPI - Hispanic American Periodicals Index
- MLA International Bibliography (Language and Literature)
For additional subject-specialty databases, consult a reference librarian, or the list of databases.
TIPS ON SEARCHING DATABASES AND ONLINE CATALOGS
Put an AND between words when you want to find all the words: Bosnia AND depression
Put an OR between words when you'd be happy with one word or the other or both: depression and (Bosnia OR Serb)
Use truncation symbols or wildcards to search for variants. E.g., Bosnia* retrieves Bosnia, Bosnia's, Bosnian, Bosnians, Bosnian's, etc.
If you get too much, limit your search to subject headings or descriptors.
Try a variety of terms. The following terms are all used in the library catalog: ethnopsychology, transcultural psychiatry, cross-cultural social psychology, national characteristics, intercultural, transcultural, multicultural, cross-cultural. Also use the names of cultural groups: Bosnians, Native Americans, etc.
LOCATING ARTICLES AND BOOKS
Some databases provide the full text of some articles, but not all. If the full text is not provided, checkUse the MERLIN catalog to locate books in the MU Libraries.
Use the MOBIUS catalog to request books from other academic libraries in Missouri.
Again, if you can't find what you need, please ask a librarian.
WEB RESOURCES
- International Association for Cross-Cultural Psychology
- Center for Cross-Cultural Research
- Cultural Psychology Links