Ellis Library Sourcepack for Plant Science 1010
Professor: David Trinklein
Librarian: Brenda Graves-Blevins
Finding books
From the MU Libraries Gateway page, click on MERLIN from the left menu. MERLIN is a catalog of the books, journals, magazines and other materials owned by libraries on this campus, as well as the libraries at the University of Missouri campuses at St. Louis, Kansas City and Rolla.
When you enter a search, by keyword, author, etc., the computer will default to searching only the MU campus, denoted 'MU' in the pull-down menu on the right side of the screen, unless you choose a different library from that menu. By choosing 'ALL MERLIN' from the menu, you can expand your search to include all the libraries in the University of Missouri System. To expand your search still further to find what is available from nearly all the academic libraries in the state of Missouri, click on the MOBIUS button found at the extreme top the the MU Libraries Gateway page.
A record that you find in MERLIN or MOBIUS, provides you with citation information and a call number so that you can find the actual item in a library on this campus or request that an item be sent from one of the other libraries in the MERLIN or MOBIUS systems. Please note that items can only be borrowed from other libraries if they are unavailable from any of of the libraries on the MU campus.
If the item that you want is not available at MU, or through the other MERLIN libraries, or even MOBIUS, you still may request the book through Interlibrary Loan by clicking on the Ill@MU Logon found in the middle of the Gateway page.
Finding articles
Again, from the MU Libraries Gateway page, click on Find a Database. Databases are electronic indexes that usually provide you with citations to journal and magazine articles, but citations to book chapters, dissertations and other documents may also be included in some databases. Like the MERLIN Catalog, these databases allow you to search by keyword, author, etc. and to retrieve citations, abstracts and often, even the fulltext of articles.
From the Databases page, if you click on the broad subject division of Science and Technology, you will find another list, further dividing the Science and and Technology division. You may want to look at all the databases assigned to Plant Science, or perhaps also to Biology.
For the library assignment in this course, the following databases will probably be the most useful to you:
- Academic Search Premier is a general database that provides some fulltext access to over 4,600 scholarly publications in all disciplines, including more that 3,500 that are peer-reviewed. In addition to the fulltext journals, this database offers indexing and abstracts for all 8, 052 publications in the database. Coverage is 1984 to date, updating is constant and many articles are fulltext.
- Agricola is produced by the U.S. National Agricultural Library and provides access to worldwide periodical literature and USDA publications. Subject coverage includes platn and animal sciences, food and nutrition, agriculture, biotechnology, entomology, forestry and wildlife. Coverage is 1970 to date, updating is monthly and there is no fulltext.
- Biological Abstracts encompasses all disciplines of the life sciences. Coverage includes traditional areas of biology such as botany, zoology and microbiology, as well as related fields such as plant and animal science, agriculture, pharmacology and ecology. Interdisciplinary fields such as biochemistry, biophysics, and biotechnology are also included. Over 6,500 journals worldwide are monitored for inclusion in the database. Coverage is 1980 to date, updating is quarterly and there are some links to fulltext articles.
- CABDirect is produced by CAB International and provides worldwide coverage of agriculture in a very broad sense. Coverage includes plant and animal sciences, forestry, human health and nutrition, veterinary medicine, agricultural biotechnology, ecnomics and engineering. Coverage is 1900 to date, updating is quarterly and there are some links to fulltext.
- MasterFile Premier provides searchable fulltext for over 1100 magazines and journals. In addition, it indexes over 2600 journals. Fulltext is available for some titles from 1990. Indexing is available from 1984.
- SciFinder Scholar contains a comprehensive database of the chemical literature and patents, the CAS Registry with information on over 18 million substances, and is highly useful for biotechnology, biology, chemical engineering, toxicology, environmental science, medicine and food science. Coverage is 1907 to date, updating is daily, and there are some links to fulltext.
Important Note: SciFinder is not available directly from the list of Databases, but rather the software must be individuallly loaded on computers. All the computers in Ellis Library have the SciFinder icon on the desktop that you can click on and access the database. If you have trouble finding SciFinder, ask at the Reference Desk. If you want to load the software onto a lab or personal computer, ask at the Reference Desk for one of the Science Librarians.
- Web of Science encompasses the Arts and Humanities Citation Index, the Science Citation Index, and the Social Science Citation Index. It covers the most prestigious, heavily cited journals, those with the highest impact factors, in all fields. Coverage is 1990 to date, updating is weekly and there are some links to fulltext.
-
Selected Reference Sources
The following books should be useful in helping you find a topic of interest to research. Most are Reference books, and are located on 1 Central. The rest are either located in the 2 Central stacks, (those titles with call numbers beginning with QK) or in the 2 West stacks (those titles with call numbers beginning with SB).
Botanica North America
REF QK 115 .H365 2003Compendium of Turfgrass Diseases
SB 608 .T87 S58 2005The Complete Encyclopedia of Trees and Shrubs
REF QK 474.87 .C66 2003The Cultural History of Plants
REF SB 71 .C86 2005Encyclopedia of Gardens
REF SB 465 .E63 2001Encyclopedia of Plant and Crop Science
REF SB 45 .E486 2004Encyclopedia of Plant Pathology
REF SB 728 .E53 2001, vol.1, vol. 2Encyclopedia of Plants and Flowers
REF SB 403.2 .A438 2002An Encylclopedia of Shade Perennials
REF SB 434 .S297 2002Flora: A Gardener's Encyclopedia
REF SB 403.2 .F66 2003The Grasses of Missouri
REF QK 495 .G74 k8 1998Handbook of Plant and Crop Physiology
REF SB 112.5 .H35 1995Handbook of Turfgrass Insect Pests
SB 608 .T87 H36 1995Handbook of Vegetable Pests
REF SB 605 .V4 2001The Illustrated Encyclopedia of Trees
REF QK 475 .M67 2005Invasive Plants
SB 612 .A2 K38 2007International Turf Management Handbook
SB 433 .I56 1999Manual of Woody Landscape Plants
REF SB 435.5 .D57 1998Modern Corn and Soybean Production
REF SB 191 .M2 H63 2000Native Trees for North American Landscapes
REF SB 435.5 .S74 2004Plant (Focus is plant conservation)
REF QK 45.2 .P57 2005The Review of Natural Products
REF QK 99 .A1 R47 2002Steyermark's Flora of Missouri
REF QK 170 .Y28 1999 v.1, v.2
QK 170 .Y28 1999 v.1, v.2Toxic Plants of North America
REF QK 100 .N6 B87 2001Turfgrass Encyclopedia for Golf Courses, Grounds, Lawns, Sports Fields
SB 433 .B268 2005Westcott's Plant Disease Handbook
REF SB 731 .W47 2001World Economic Plants: A Standard Reference
REF SB 107 .W59 1999
This SOURCEPACK is a service of Ellis Library