Skip to main content
 MU Libraries University of Missouri MU Libraries

Ellis Library Sourcepack for English 1150
World Literature and Progress
Instructor: Nicole Beer
Librarian: Anne Barker


Encyclopedias
Encyclopedia of the Future
Ref. CB158.E53 1996
The United States in the First World War: an Encyclopedia
Ref. D510.U65 1995
World War II: the Encyclopedia of the War Years
Ref. D743.5.P57 1996
American Decades   
Ready Ref.
E169.12 .A419 1994 (10 volumes).  One volume for each decade of the twentieth century.
St. James Encyclopedia of Popular Culture 
Ref. E169.1 .S764.  (5 volumes). Use this to look up 20th-century concepts.  Articles often include a short bibliography.
Encyclopedia. of American Cultural and Intellectual History 
Ref. E169.1 .E624 2001 
Science, Technology, and Society: an Encyclopedia
Ref. HM846.S43 2005
Encyclopedia of American Social History 
Ref. HN 57 .E58 1993  (3 volumes).  
Encyclopedia of Urban America: the Cities and Suburbs
Ref. HT123.E5 1998
Literature and its times : profiles of 300 notable literary works and the historical events that influenced them
Ref PN50 .L574 1997
Encyclopedia of Twentieth Century Architecture
Ref. NA680.E495 2004
McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science and Technology
Ready Ref. Q121.M3 2002
Encyclopedia of Science, Technology, and Medicine in Non-Western Cultures
Ref. Q124.8.E53 1997
Encyclopedia of the History of Technology
Ref. T15.E53 1990
The Internet Encyclopedia
Ref. TK5105.875.I57 I5466 2004

RESOURCES FOR FINDING PRIMARY SOURCES (20TH CENTURY)
ProQuest Historical Newspapers  Full-text New York Times and Wall Street Journal newspaper coverage. 
Reader's Guide to Periodical Literature  
Ready Ref AI 3.R48  
Covers entire 20th century & more.

RESOURCES FOR FINDING ARTICLES
Academic Search Premier For magazines, journals, some newspapers, much full text:
America: History and Life In-depth index to history articles and books in publication.  No full text.  Use Advanced Search to limit years covered in the content of the articles.
PAIS Covers social science and public policy issues back to 1972.  No full text.
MLA International Bibliography Articles on languages and literature.
LION: Literature Online Full-text reference works, texts, and journal articles.
FIAF: International Federation of Film Archives Articles on films and film studies
Sociological Abstracts Academic articles on sociology.

For additional subject-specialty databases, consult a reference librarian, or the list of databases by subject.
All the above databases are available via the list of databases by name.

LOCATING ARTICLES AND BOOKS 
Some databases provide the full text of some articles, but not all. If the full text is not provided, look up the journal title in the MERLIN catalog to see if we subscribe and get the call number, or check Find it @ MU to see if full text is provided elsewhere. 
If you can't find what you need, please ask a librarian.   Use the MERLIN catalog to locate books in the MU Libraries. 
Use the MOBIUS catalog to request books from other academic libraries in Missouri. 
Again, if you can't find what you need, please ask a librarian
TIPS ON SEARCHING DATABASES AND ONLINE CATALOGS 
  • Put an AND between words when you want to find all the words: Atlanta AND travel
  • Put an OR between words when you'd be happy with one word or the other or both: Atlanta and (travel OR tourism)

     

  • Use truncation symbols or wildcards to search for variants. E.g., tour* retrieves tour, tours, tourist, tourists, tourism, touring, etc.
  • If you get too much, limit your search to subject headings or descriptors.
  • To find primary sources in library catalogs, look for the following words in the subject headings: correspondence, diaries, personal narratives, sources.


  • CITATION GUIDES
    This SOURCEPACK is a service of Ellis Library