Skip to main content
 MU Libraries University of Missouri MU Libraries


Ellis L
ibrary Sourcepack for English 2300
Introduction to Native Studies
Professor: Maureen Konkle
Librarian: Anne Barker


CHRONOLOGIES, Encyclopedias, Background information
Handbook of North American Indians  Ref. E77 .H25
American Indians  Ref. 76.2 .A45 1995
Chronology of Native North America  Ref. E77.C555 1994
Gale Encyclopedia of Native American Tribes  Ref. E77.G35 1998
Atlas of the North American Indian  Ref. E77.W195 1985
Notable Native Americans  Ref. E89. N67 1995
Encyclopedia of Native American Religions  Ref. E98.R3 H73 1992
Encyclopedia. of American Cultural and Intellectual History  Ref. E169.1 .E624 2001 
Atlas of American Indian Affairs  Ref. G1201.E1 P7 1990
Worldmark Encyclopedia of Cultures and Daily Life  Ref. GN333.W67 1998
Encyclopedia of World Cultures  Ref. GN550.E53 1991
Encyclopedia of American Social History  Ref. HN 57 .E58 1993  
Dictionary of Native American Literature  Ref. PM155.D53 1994
Native American Literatures  Ref. PS153.I52 W47 1999
American Indian Studies: A Bibliographic Guide  Z1209.W52 1995
Bibliography of Native American Bibliographies  Z1209.2.N67 W55 2004

LOCATING ARTICLES AND BOOKS 
Use the MERLIN catalog to locate books in the MU Libraries. 
Use the MOBIUS catalog to request books from other academic libraries in Missouri. 
If you can't find what you need, please ask a librarian.  

TIPS ON SEARCHING DATABASES AND ONLINE CATALOGS 
  • Note that the official Library of Congress subject heading for Native Americans is "Indians of North America."  Terms vary from one database to another.
  • Materials on specific tribes are listed under the name of the tribe.
  • Look for information about people, using last name first.
  • Put an AND between words when you want to find all the words: Atlanta AND travel
  • Put an OR between words when you'd be happy with one word or the other or both: Atlanta and (travel OR tourism)
  • Use truncation symbols or wildcards to search for variants. E.g., tour* retrieves tour, tours, tourist, tourists, tourism, touring, etc.
  • If you get too much, limit your search to subject headings or descriptors.
  • To find primary sources in library catalogs, look for the following words in the subject headings: correspondence, diaries, personal narratives, sources.

RESOURCES FOR FINDING ARTICLES
Academic Search Premier For magazines, journals, some newspapers, much full text:
LION: Literature Online Full-text reference works, texts, and journal articles.
America: History and Life In-depth index to history articles and books in publication.  No full text.  Use Advanced Search to limit years covered in the content of the articles.
PAIS Covers social science and public policy issues back to 1972.  No full text.
Sociological Abstracts Academic articles on sociology.
Alternative Press Index Indexes over 250 alternative, radical and left periodicals, newspapers and magazines.
ATLA Religion Database

For additional subject-specialty databases, consult a reference librarian, or the list of databases by subject.
All the above databases are available via the list of databases by name.

RESOURCES FOR FINDING PRIMARY SOURCES 
19th Century MasterFile (1802-1906) Lists articles in magazines and journals.
American Periodical Series (1741-1900) Full text of many articles in magazines and journals. We also have microfilm of this set.
Early American Imprints (1639-1800) Full text of books published in the U.S. or colonies.
American State Papers (1789-1838) Full text of government publications.
U.S. Congressional Serial Set (1817-1877) Full text of congressional documents.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers  Full-text New York Times (1851-1999) and Wall Street Journal (1889-1985) 
Reader's Guide to Periodical Literature  Ready Ref AI 3.R48  Covers entire 20th century & more.

LOCATING ARTICLES AND BOOKS 
Some databases provide the full text of some articles, but not all. If the full text is not provided, look up the journal title in the MERLIN catalog to see if we subscribe and get the call number, or check Find it At MU to see if full text is provided elsewhere. 
If you can't find what you need, please ask a librarian.  

Again, if you can't find what you need, please ask a librarian


WEBSITES
American Indian Resources
North American Indians: Resources on the Internet
Index of Native American Bibliography Resources on the Internet
Internet Resources in Native American Studies
Native Americans Internet Resources
Native American Sites
Native Web

CITATION GUIDES
MLA style manuals
are available at the Reference Desk.
If you use articles you obtained in full-text version directly from a library database, the citation protocol will be different than if you had found the article in paper copy in the library.  Consult EbscoHost's MLA Style Guide for full-text articles in databases.
This SOURCEPACK is a service of Ellis Library