Skip to main content
 MU Libraries University of Missouri MU Libraries


Ellis L
ibrary Sourcepack for English 4970
The Machiavel: Villainy in Early Modern Drama
Prof.: David Read
Librarian: Anne Barker


Background Information 
Historical Dictionary of Tudor England, 1485-1603 Ref. DA315.H5 1991
The Oxford Illustrated History of Tudor and Stuart Britain Ref. DA315.O94 1996
Historical Dictionary of the Elizabethan World Ref. DA357.W34 1999
Encyclopedia of European Social History Ref. HN373.E63 2001
Tudor and Stuart Glossary Ref. PE1667.S5
Shakespeare's World: A Glossary and Language Companion Ref. PR2892.C78 2002
Elizabethan Dramatists: DLB 62 Ref. PN451.D43 62
Jacobean and Caroline Dramatists: DLB 58 Ref. PN451.D43 58
World Literature and Its Times: British and Irish Literature and Its Times Ref. PR25 .M67 2001
Gale Virtual Reference Library
Oxford Reference Online Premium

Locating 16th and 17th Century Sources
  • Use a keyword search in the MERLIN and MOBIUS catalogs and limit by date range.
  • LION: Literature Online. Choose "Search texts" and define the body of literature you wish to search by nationality, dates, etc.

Criticism
Criticism may be published in books or as articles in journals.

Use the MERLIN and MOBIUS catalogs to locate books of criticism about an author or topic. 
A subject search may give more control and organization, but a keyword search may find more specific items.

Here are examples of subject headings that might be relevant for this class:

English drama--early modern
English drama--17th century
Crime--England--History--16th century
England--social conditions--16th century
England--civilization--16th century
Villains in literature
Violence in literature
Violence in the theater
Law and literature
Marlowe, Christopher

If you haven't found enough, use WorldCat to search libraries throughout North America. You may request books from WorldCat by clicking on the https://ill.mul.missouri.edu/MUU/logon.html link.


Finding criticism in journal articles is usually a multi-step process.
 
1) Use databases and indexes to identify articles.  
2) If the full text of the article is not provided in the database, use the MERLIN catalog to see if we have the journal or newspaper and where we keep it. You may also check Find it @ MU to see if the journal's available electronically.
3)If a journal isn't available locally, request the article through https://ill.mul.missouri.edu/MUU/logon.html. We'll order a photocopy from another source. This is a free service with delivery usually within one to two weeks. Feel free to ask a librarian for help.


 
The major literary databases are: 
MLA International Bibliography of Books and Articles on the Modern Languages and Literatures
1963-present online, 1921-1962 in print.  
ABELL: Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature

1920-1999 online.
You can search both databases together through LION Criticism.


Supplement searches in MLA and ABELL with searches in additional databases:
Academic Search Premier
Historical Abstracts
ATLA Religion Database

 


Guides to Research
James L. Harner. Literary Research Guide: An Annotated Listing of Reference Sources in English Literary Studies (Ref. PR83.H34 2002)
Michael J. Marcuse. A Reference Guide for English Studies. (Ref. PR56.M37 1990)
James K. Bracken. Reference Works in British and American Literature (Ref. Z2011.B74 1998)

This SOURCEPACK is a service of Ellis Library