Skip to main content
 MU Libraries University of Missouri MU Libraries


Ellis L
ibrary Sourcepack for English 398
Basic Resources for Research on Literature


Biographical Sources
Basic biographical information can be found in the following sources.  For more detailed biographies, use the MERLIN catalog to do a subject search on your person's name, putting last name first.  Scroll down the resulting list of subject headings to find biographies.
LION: Literature Online  
Click on "Find Authors" and type in your author's name, last name first. 
Dictionary of Literary Biography Ref. Alcove 9. 
Use the Literary Index or check the index in the last volume of this series to see which volume contains information on your author. The DLB also gives nice lists of the authors' works.
Contemporary Authors Ref. Alcove 10. 
This covers more recent authors than the DLB. Use the Literary Index or check the index in the last volume of this series to see which volume contains information on your author. Entries in CA also list reviews and interviews.

Criticism
Criticism may be published in books or as articles in journals.

Use the MERLIN and MOBIUS catalogs to locate books of criticism about an author or topic. 
Do a subject search on the author's name and scroll to an appropriate subheading. 
For example: Twain, Mark--Criticism and Interpretation.
Do a table of contents search to locate relevant chapters in books with a broader focus.
Note that tables of contents are not included in the catalog records for all books. Another way to find essays in collections is to use The Essay and General Literature Index (Ref. Alcove 9 AI3.E752 )
The keyword search searches for words in author, title, subject headings, tables of contents and notes all at once.  You can use various search options to make your search more precise and to sort the results in various ways.
You may expand your search to include all MOBIUS libraries. Materials requested through MOBIUS are usually delivered in about 48 hours.
If you haven't found enough, use WorldCat to search libraries throughout North America. You may request books from WorldCat by clicking on the Interlibrary Loan button at the top left of each record.

Finding criticism in journal articles is usually a two step process. 
1) Use the following databases and indexes to see what articles have been published and where.  If you're looking for articles from a specific time period, be sure to use an index or database that covers publications from that time. 
2) If the full text of the article is not provided in the database, use the MERLIN catalog to see if we have the journal or newspaper and where we keep it. You may also check Find it @ MU to see if the journal's available electronically. 
If a journal isn't available locally, use the journal request form to tell us what you need. We'll order a photocopy from another source. This is a free service with delivery usually within one to two weeks. Feel free to ask a librarian for help.

 The major literary databases are: 
MLA International Bibliography of Books and Articles on the Modern Languages and Literatures
1963-present online, 1921-1962 in print in Ref. Alcove 9.
ABELL: Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature

1920-1999 online.

Although the MLA  and ABELL specialize in literature, both suffer from a delay in publishing.  
Supplement these specialized indexes with searches in less specialized but more current databases:
Expanded Academic Index


Article1st
Web of Science
Expanded Academic and Periodical Abstracts both contain the full-text of selected journals. 
 

To locate older critical materials, use the following databases and reference tools.
19th Century Masterfile (1802-1906)
The American Periodicals Series Online
(1740-1900)
The Wellesley Index to Victorian Periodicals 1824-1900 (Ref. computers)
The Reader's Guide to Periodical Literature (1890-) (Ref. Index Table 12)
International Index to Periodicals (1907-1965) (Ref. Alcove 2 AI3.R49)

The Literary Index indexes the many Gale literature criticism sets. These books excerpt literary criticism from all periods on individual authors.
Contemporary Literary Criticism (Ref. PN779.C6)
Twentieth-Century Literary Criticism (Ref. PN94.T88)
Nineteenth-Century Literature Criticism (Ref. PN761.N5)
Literature Criticism, from 1400-1800 (Ref. PN80.L57) 
Poetry Criticism (Ref. Alcove 9 PN1010 .P499)
Short Story Criticism (Ref. Alcove 9 PN3373 .S386)

Alternative and minority publications are not always well represented in the major databases. Use these indexes to hear these voices.
Alt-Press Watch
Alternative Press Index
Ethnic News Watch
GenderWatch

Index to Black Periodicals (Ref. AI3 .I552 -- Earlier volumes, including title changes, are in the circulating stacks.)
Women Studies Abstracts (Ref. Alcove 2 Z7962 .W65)

A Guide to Serial Bibliographies for Modern Literature (Ref. PN695.W67 1995) lists many additional specialized bibliographies.


Book Reviews
Book reviews may not be as analytical or scholarly as criticism, but reflect more immediate reaction to a book upon publication. 
Book Review Digest 1983-present. 
Book Review Index  Ref. Table 13 Z1035.A1 B62  1965-present
Expanded Academic Index 
1980-present. Search the title of the book being reviewed and the phrase "book review" as keywords.
Lexis-Nexis Academic 
Full text of newspapers and magazines from the mid-1980s on. Choose the "Guided News Search", category "Arts & Sports News", news source "Book, movie, music & play reviews". Search for the author and title of the book being reviewed. 
Readers' Guide to Periodical Literature Ref. Table 12 AI3 .R48
Indexes journals and magazines from 1900-present. Look under the author of the book being reviewed, last name first.
Nineteenth Century Readers' Guide to Periodical Literature Ref. Table 12 AI3.R496
Indexes journals and magazines 1890-1922.  Look under the author of the book being reviewed, last name first.
ABELL  
Carries reviews from 1917 on.  Search your author's name in the author slot (not subject!) and limit to reviews in the drop-down menu at the bottom.
American Periodical Series  
Full text of American magazines and journals 1740-1900, when complete. Search your author and/or book title as keywords.
19th Century Masterfile  
An index to many 19th century publications. Search your author and/or book title as keywords.
The Wellesley Index to Victorian Periodicals 1824-1900 (Ref. computers)
Literary Index to American Magazines 1850-1900 Ref. PS 214.W38 1996
Look under the author of the book being reviewed. Reviews are indicated by "rev". 
Literary Reviews in British Periodicals, 1789-1797 Ref. Z2013.W36 1979
Literary Reviews in British Periodicals, 1798-1820 Ref. Z2013.W36
Literary Index  
This indexes many reference books, such as Contemporary Literary Criticism, Nineteenth-Century Literary Criticism, etc. These sets reproduce parts of articles, including reviews and criticism, from earlier publications.

Electronic Literary Texts 
LION: Literature Online provides online texts of many English and American literary works with a search mechanism to facilitate text analysis.
From the main LION menu, choose Search Texts to search for words and phrases within a specific work or group of works. The advanced search feature allows you to define a corpus by period, literary movement, author's gender or ethnicity, and other criteria.
 

Additional collections:
The Internet Public Library
Online Text Page

Project Gutenberg

Collections of Internet Resources

Literary Resources on the Net

Voice of the Shuttle
LION: Literature Online contains a database of literary web sites. From the main LION menu, choose Search Criticism and Reference, then WWW.
The Internet Public Library

Guides to Research

James L. Harner. Literary Research Guide: An Annotated Listing of Reference Sources in English Literary Studies (Ref. Alcove 9, Z2011.H34 2002)

Michael J. Marcuse. A Reference Guide for English Studies. (Ref. Alcove 9, PR56.M37 1990)
James K. Bracken. Reference Works in British and American Literature (Ref. Alcove 9, Z2011.B74 1998)

Citation Guides
MLA style manuals
are available on Index Table 11 in Ellis' Reference area in 1 South.
If you use articles you obtained in full-text version directly from a library database, the citation protocol will be different than if you had found the article in paper copy in the library.  
This SOURCEPACK is a service of Ellis Library
Librarian/Webmaster