Skip to main content
 MU Libraries University of Missouri MU Libraries

Ellis Library Sourcepack for English 330
American Women's Writing, 1820-1865


<>
</>
Background Information
American Eras Ref. E168.A5118 1997
Encyclopedia of American Cultural and Intellectual History Ref. E169.1.E624 2001
Encyclopedia of the United States in the Nineteenth Century
Ref. E169.1.E626 2001
Dictionary of American History
Ref. E174.D52 1976
Encyclopedia of American Social History Ref. HN57.E58 1993
Everyday Life: American Social History Ref. HN57.E93 1998
Encyclopedia of Women's History in America Ref. HQ1410.C85 2000
Handbook of American Women's History Ref. HQ1410.H36 2000
Routledge Historical Atlas of Women in America Ref. HQ1410.P68 2000
Women's America: Refocusing the Past Ref. HQ1426.W663 1995
Literature and Its Times Ref. PN50.L574 1997
Women Writers in the United States: a Timeline of Literary, Cultural, and Social History Ref. PS147.D38 1996

Biographical Sources
Basic biographical information can be found in the following sources.  For more detailed biographies, use the MERLIN catalog to do a subject search on your person's name, putting last name first.  Scroll down the resulting list of subject headings to find biographies.
Bloomsbury Guide to Women's Literature Ref. PN471.B47 1992
Feminist Companion to Literature in English Ref. PN471.F45 1990
Oxford Companion to Women's Writing in the United States Ref. PS147.O94 1995
Nineteenth Century American Women Writers: A Bio-bibliographical Critical Sourcebook Ref. PS217.W64 N56 1997
LION: Literature Online  
Click on "Find Authors" and type in your author's name, last name first. 
Dictionary of Literary Biography Ref. Alcove 9. 
Use the Literary Index or check the index in the last volume of this series to see which volume contains information on your author. The DLB also gives nice lists of the authors' works.
Discovering Collection(Also called "Authors Modules".) 
Use the "Person Search" or "Literature Search" to find biographical information as well as criticism and plot summaries. 

Criticism
Criticism may be published in books or as articles in journals.

Use the MERLIN and MOBIUS catalogs to locate books of criticism about an author or topic. 
Do a subject search on the author's name and scroll to an appropriate subheading. 
For example: Twain, Mark--Criticism and Interpretation.
Do a table of contents search to locate relevant chapters in books with a broader focus.
Note that tables of contents are not included in the catalog records for all books. Another way to find essays in collections is to use The Essay and General Literature Index (Ref. Alcove 9 AI3.E752 )
The keyword search searches for words in author, title, subject headings, tables of contents and notes all at once.  You can use various search options to make your search more precise and to sort the results in various ways.
You may expand your search to include all MOBIUS libraries. Materials requested through MOBIUS are usually delivered in about 48 hours.
If you haven't found enough, use WorldCat to search libraries throughout North America. You may request books from WorldCat by clicking on the Interlibrary Loan button at the top left of each record.