Skip to main content
 MU Libraries University of Missouri MU Libraries


Ellis L
ibrary Sourcepack for English 2100
Basic Resources for Research on Literature and Poetry
Librarian: Anne Barker


How to Find a Poem: Indexes of Poetry Publications

LION: Literature Online provides online texts of many English and American literary works with a search mechanism to facilitate text analysis.
From the main LION menu, choose Texts to search for words and phrases within a specific work or group of works. The advanced search feature allows you to define a corpus by period, literary movement, author's gender or ethnicity, and other criteria.

Use the following indexes to locate poems published in anthologies, collections, and periodicals.

ABELL: Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature 
Limit to "literary works" to find poems published in the publications indexed by ABELL.
Subject Index to Poetry
(Ref. PN1021.B7)
Columbia Granger's Index to Poetry in Anthologies
(Ref. PN1022 .F73 1997)

Granger's Index to Poetry (Ref. PN1022.H39, PN1022.G7)
Columbia Granger's Index to Poetry in Collected and Selected Works (Ref. PN4784.W7 F58 1997)
 The main bibliography of poetry in English from all periods.  Indexes collections.  Check all editions for complete coverage.
Last lines : an index to the last lines of poetry (Ref. PN1022 .K55 1991)
Poetry Index Annual: A Title, Author, and Subject Index to Poetry in Anthologies. (Ref. PN1022.P63)
1989-1992  Reputedly more inclusive than Granger's
Chicorel Index to Poetry in Anthologies and Collections in Print (Ref. PN1022.C5 and Ref. PN1022. C54)
American Poetry Index: An Author and Title Index  to Poetry by Americans in Single-Author Collections (Ref. PS323.5.A43)
Roth's American Poetry Annual (Ref. PS580 .R68)
Index of American Periodical Verse (Ref. Z1231.P7 I47)
1971-1978  Indexes poems published in about 200 little magazines.
Chicorel Index to Poetry in Collections in Print, on Discs and Tapes (Ref. Z7155 .C48)
International Index to Recorded Poetry  (PN1022 .H63 1983)
Women's Poetry Index (Ref. PN1024 .G89 1985)
Index to Poetry by Black American Women  (Z1229.N39 C45 1986)
Index to Black Poetry (Ref. PS153.N5 C45)
Columbia Granger's Index to African-American Poetry (Ref. PS153.N5 C628 1999)
A Bibliographical Catalogue and First-line Index of Printed Anthologies of English Poetry to 1640 (Ref. PR521 .B36 2002)
First-line Index of English poetry, 1500-1800, in Manuscripts of the Bodleian Library, Oxford ( Z2014.P7 F5)
Bibliography and Index of English Verse Printed 1476-1558 (SPEC Rare Ref. Z2014.P7 R56 1988)
Index to Canadian Poetry in English ( Z1377.P7 M35 1984 )
Index of Australian and New Zealand Poetry ( Z4024.P7 C8  )
Hoffman's Index to poetry : European and Latin American Poetry in Anthologies  (Ref. PN1022 .H627 1985)
Twentieth-century Poetry from Spanish America : an Index to Spanish Language and Bilingual Anthologies
(Ref. PQ7082.P7 S66 1998)


Handbooks & Encyclopedias

The Longman Dictionary and Handbook of Poetry (Ref. PN1021.M94 1985)
The New Princeton Encyclopedia of Poetry and Poetics
(Ref. PN1021.N39 1993)
The Princeton Handbook of Poetic Terms
(Ref. PN1042. P75 1986) 
The Handbook of Poetic Forms
(Ref. PN1042.T43 2000)
A variety of literary reference books are available in LION. Click on Criticism & Reference, and then on Reference.


Biographical Sources

Basic biographical information can be found in the following sources.  For more detailed biographies, use the MERLIN catalog to do a subject search on your person's name, putting last name first.  Scroll down the resulting list of subject headings to find biographies.

LION: Literature Online  
Click on " Authors" and type in your author's name, last name first. 

Dictionary of Literary Biography Ref. PN451 .D43 
Use the Literary Index or check the index in the last volume of this series to see which volume contains information on your author. The DLB also gives nice lists of the authors' works.

Contemporary Authors Ref. Z1224 .C62 
This covers more recent authors than the DLB. Use the Literary Index or check the index in the last volume of this series to see which volume contains information on your author. Entries in CA also list reviews and interviews.
Critical Survey of Poetry (Ref. PN1111.C7)
Who's Who in Twentieth-Century World Poetry (Ref. PN1271.W46 2000)
The Oxford Companion to Twentieth-Century Poetry in English (Ref. PR601.O9 1994)
Contemporary Poets (Ref. PR603.C6)
Contemporary Women Poets (Ref. PS151.C67 1997)
Encyclopedia of American Poetry: the Nineteenth Century (Ref. PS316.E63 1998)


Criticism


Finding criticism in journal articles is usually a two step process. 
1) Use the databases and indexes to see what articles have been published and where.  
2) If the full text of the article is not provided in the database, use the MERLIN catalog to see if we have the journal or newspaper and where we keep it. You may also check the Electronic Journals list to see if the journal's available electronically. 
If a journal isn't available locally, use the request forms to request an item through Interlibrary Loan. We'll order a photocopy from another source. This is a free service with delivery usually within a week. Feel free to ask a librarian for help.

 The major literary databases are: 
MLA International Bibliography of Books and Articles on the Modern Languages and Literatures

1963-present online, 1921-1962 in print Ref. Z7006 .M64
ABELL: Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature

1892-present online.
These may both be searched together in LION. Click on Criticism & Reference, and then on Criticism.


Finding criticism on a specific poem can be tricky since most catalogs and indexes are not this detailed.  The following specialized indexes identify criticism on specific poems. To find criticism using other databases or library catalogs, search the author's name as a subject and possibly general themes. You may not be able to tell if an article or book treats a specific poem until you have the publication in hand.
Index to Criticisms of British and American Poetry
(Ref. PR89.C5)
American and British Poetry: A Guide to the Criticism (Ref. Z1231.P7 A44 1984)
Guide to American Poetry Explications (Ref. Z1231.P7 G85 1989)
Poetry Explication: A Checklist of Interpretation since 1925 (Ref. Z2014.P7 K8 1980)
Guide to British Poetry Explication (Ref. Z2014.P7 M34 1991)
The Literary Index indexes the print publication Poetry Criticism (Ref. PN1010 .P499), which excerpts criticism of poems published in a variety of sources.

To locate older critical materials, use the following databases and reference tools.
19th Century Masterfile (1802-1906)
The American Periodicals Series Online
(1740-1900)
The Wellesley Index to Victorian Periodicals 1824-1900 (Ref. computers)
The Reader's Guide to Periodical Literature (1890-) (Ready Ref. AI3 .R48)
International Index to Periodicals (1907-1965) (Ref. AI3.R49)
Literary Index to American Magazines 1850-1900 Ref. PS 214.W38 1996
Literary Index to American Magazines, 1815-1865 Ref. Z6513.W44
Literary Reviews in British Periodicals, 1789-1797 Ref. Z2013.W36 1979
Literary Reviews in British Periodicals, 1798-1820 Ref. Z2013.W36

The Literary Index indexes the many Gale literature criticism sets. These books excerpt literary criticism from all periods on individual authors.
Contemporary Literary Criticism (Ref. PN779.C6)
Twentieth-Century Literary Criticism (Ref. PN94.T88)
Nineteenth-Century Literature Criticism (Ref. PN761.N5)
Literature Criticism, from 1400-1800 (Ref. PN80.L57) 
Poetry Criticism (Ref. PN1010 .P499)
Short Story Criticism (Ref. PN3373 .S386)

Alternative and minority publications are not always well represented in the major databases. Use these indexes to hear these voices.
Alternative Press Index
GenderWatch

Index to Black Periodicals
(Ref. AI3 .I552 -- Earlier volumes, including title changes, are in the circulating stacks.)
Women Studies Abstracts (Ref. Z7962 .W65)


Book Reviews

Book reviews may not be as analytical or scholarly as criticism, but reflect more immediate reaction to a book upon publication. 

Book Review Digest Ready Ref. Z1219 .C96  1905-present. 

Book Review Index  Ref. Z1035.A1 B62  1965-present

Academic Search Premier
1984-present. In the Advanced Search search the title of the book being reviewed and choose Document Type "book review".

Lexis-Nexis Academic 
Full text of newspapers and magazines from the mid-1980s on. Choose the "Guided News Search", category "Arts & Sports News", news source "Book, movie, music & play reviews". Search for the author and title of the book being reviewed. 

Readers' Guide to Periodical Literature Ready Ref. AI3 .R48
Indexes journals and magazines from 1900-present. Look under the author of the book being reviewed, last name first.

Nineteenth Century Readers' Guide to Periodical Literature Ready Ref. AI3.R496
Indexes journals and magazines 1890-1922.  Look under the author of the book being reviewed, last name first.

ABELL  
Carries reviews from 1917 on.  Search your author's name in the author slot (not subject!) and limit to reviews in the drop-down menu at the bottom.

American Periodical Series  
Full text of American magazines and journals 1740-1900, when complete. Search your author and/or book title as keywords.

19th Century Masterfile  
An index to many 19th century publications. Search your author and/or book title as keywords.

Index to English Literary Periodicals 
An index to literary periodicals published 1681-1941. This database is a work in progress, currently covering publications from 1691 to 1864. We have the texts themselves on microfilm.

The Wellesley Index to Victorian Periodicals 1824-1900 (Ref. computers)

Literary Index to American Magazines 1850-1900 Ref. PS 214.W38 1996
Look under the author of the book being reviewed. Reviews are indicated by "rev". 
Literary Index to American Magazines, 1815-1865 Ref. Z6513.W44
Literary Reviews in British Periodicals, 1789-1797 Ref. Z2013.W36 1979
Literary Reviews in British Periodicals, 1798-1820 Ref. Z2013.W36

Literary Index  
This indexes many reference books, such as Contemporary Literary Criticism, Nineteenth-Century Literary Criticism, etc. These sets reproduce parts of articles, including reviews and criticism, from earlier publications.


Use the MERLIN and MOBIUS catalogs to locate books of criticism about an author or broad topic. 
Do a subject search on the author's name and scroll to an appropriate subheading. 
For example: Dickinson, Emily--Criticism and Interpretation.
Do a table of contents or keyword search to locate relevant chapters in books with a broader focus.

You may expand your search to include all MOBIUS libraries. Materials requested through MOBIUS are usually delivered in about 48 hours.

If you haven't found enough, use WorldCat to search libraries throughout North America. You may request books from WorldCat by clicking on the Interlibrary Loan button at the top left of each record.


Guides to Research

James L. Harner. Literary Research Guide: An Annotated Listing of Reference Sources in English Literary Studies (Ref. Z2011.H34 2002)

Michael J. Marcuse. A Reference Guide for English Studies. (Ref. PR56.M37 1990)

James K. Bracken. Reference Works in British and American Literature (Ref. Z2011.B74 1998)


Citation Guides
MLA style manuals
are available at the Reference Desk or abbreviated guides are available online.


This SOURCEPACK is a service of Ellis Library
Librarian/Webmaster