Skip to main content
 MU Libraries University of Missouri MU Libraries

Finding Art History Sources

 

Getting an overview and perhaps citations for your research paper.

Although you are not allowed to cite an encyclopedia as one of your sources, it is still a good idea to look at the Dictionary of Art 
 
Ellis Library ---Reference Room----N31 .D5 1996 and the Encyclopedia of World Art
Ellis Library---Reference Room----N31 .E533.

The Dictionary of Art has excellent bibliographies which can provide you with the titles of the best books and journal articles on a topic. 

Finding Books:

1) Break your topic into one or two main terms.

      e.g. Movie theatres and United States
             Chinese architecture and United States

2) Search the MERLIN catalog (link can be found on the MU Libraries' Web Page.)

       --Try searching by SUBJECT first. 
          e.g.  Movie Theatres
                  Chinese architecture
                                  
     --If that fails, search by KEYWORD. If searching multiple keywords, use AND to connect them.
           e.g. movie theatres and united states
                  chinese architecture

3) When you locate a book on your subject, look at the SUBJECT HEADINGS at the bottom of the page
    to locate more books on that topic.

4) If you do not find a book, or the book you find is checked out, press the MOBIUS button at the top of the screen to perform the same search in the statewide catalog. If you find a book on MOBIUS, you can request it. It normally takes two or three days for the book to arrive.  

5) Once you have the book in hand, use its BIBLIOGRAPHY to help you find other books and articles. 

Finding Journal Articles.

1) Go to the Database Page. (Link can be found on the MU Libraries web page.)

2) Determine the best database to search:

         --Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals     --architecture, interior decoration
         --Art Index                                                 -- covers all aspects of art
         --America History and Life                          -- discusses art from a historical angle
         --Bibliography of the History of Art             --located in the Reference Room, no online access, 
                                                                          but an excellent database well worth searching
         --Expanded Academic                                 --some articles in full text
         --EbscoHost                                               --some articles in full text



3) Use the same keywords you used in searching the MERLIN catalog. Use AND to connect the keywords.

4) Identify useful citations. Make sure the citation is not for a DISSERTATION or a BOOK REVIEW.
    Check the length of the article to make sure it is substantial and worth the time you will spend
     locating it. 

5) Print or write out the citations, then follow the instructions on finding a journal article in Ellis Library

 
 

Getting Help

If you have any trouble using the catalog, the databases, or locating materials in the library, 
go to the REFERENCE DESK located on the south end of the 1st floor and ask for assistance.