Related Research Guides by Subject
EngineeringMU Libraries Course Research Guide: MAE 4980 Capstone Project
Instructor: Judy Siebert Maseles, Engineering Library, W2001 Lafferre HallDatabases
Academic Search Premier ![]()
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?authtype=ip,uid&profile=ehost&defaultdb=aphIndexes journal and some magazine articles across many academic subjects. Time periods indexed vary (1984 is earliest). Full text coverage varies by journal (earliest full text 1990). Good starting point for article research. [more]
SPIN Web ![]()
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://scitation.aip.org/vsearch/servlet/VerityServlet?KEY=ALLSPIN indexes ASCE, ASME and AIP (physics) journals. SPIN database includes bibliographic records and abstracts for more than 1.5 million articles from major physical science journals, magazines, and conference proceedings published by the American Institute of Physics, its member societies, and other affiliated organizations.
Compendex ![]()
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://www.engineeringvillage.comCompendex indexes technical and engineering journals, conference proceedings and papers, technical reports, and monographs. Subjects include all areas of engineering; transportation; management, mathematics, and physics; electronics and communications; computers and data processing, and instruments and measurements. [more]
Technology Research Database (TRD) ![]()
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://www.csa.com/htbin/dbrng.cgi?username=columbia&access=columbia8&db=techresearch-set-c
Also Known as: CSA Materials Research Database with METADEX, CSA High Technology Research Database with Aerospace, and the CSA Engineering Research Database.Locate articles, patents, and other material in a variety of technology related fields, including informatics, computer science, electronics, aerospace and space science. [more]
Scitopia
http://www.scitopia.org/scitopia/Scitopia.org searches the bibliographic records in each partner‘s electronic library (major science and technology disciplines), patents from the US Patent and Trademark Office, European Patent Office, and Japan Patent Office, and US Government documents on the Department of Energy Information Bridge site.entire electronic libraries of the major science and technology disciplines. [more]
Google Scholar ![]()
http://mulibraries.missouri.edu/search/databases/googlescholardirections.htmGoogle Scholar Instructions are provided for setting up Find it at MU in your Google Scholar search. This will enable you to link from your Google search results to the full-text resources provided by the MU Libraries. [more]
Journals
SPIN Web ![]()
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://scitation.aip.org/vsearch/servlet/VerityServlet?KEY=ALLSPIN indexes ASCE, ASME and AIP (physics) journals. SPIN database includes bibliographic records and abstracts for more than 1.5 million articles from major physical science journals, magazines, and conference proceedings published by the American Institute of Physics, its member societies, and other affiliated organizations.
ASME Transaction Journals ![]()
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://asmedl.aip.org/journals/doc/ASMEDL-home/jrnls/ASME's Transaction Journals and Applied Mechanics Reviews from 1990 to the present.
ASME Digital Library ![]()
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://asmedl.aip.org/vsearch/servlet/VerityServlet?KEY=ASMEDLThe ASME Digital Library, is ASME's primary repository of current and archival literature featuring: ASME's Transaction Journals from 1990 to the present and ASME's Conference Proceedings from 2009 to the present.
Handbooks
NIST Gateway
http://srdata.nist.gov/gateway/
Also Known as: Atomic Spectra Database; CODATA Fundamental Physical Constants; NIST Ceramics WebBook; NIST Chemistry WebBook; Physical Reference DataEasy access to many (currently over 80) of the NIST scientific and technical databases. These databases cover a broad range of substances and properties from many different scientific disciplines. The Gateway includes links to free online NIST data systems
ThomasNet
http://www.thomasnet.com/
Also Known as: Thomas RegisterFrom a single search box, users can search over 607,000 industrial suppliers, indexed by 70,000 product and service categories, and have access to thousands of industrial product catalogs and over 20 million CAD drawings.
ASM Handbook Online ![]()
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://products.asminternational.org/hbk/index.jspComplete content of twenty ASM Handbook volumes plus two ASM Desk Editions. 1990 edition also available in print: MU ENGINEERING REFERENCE, TA459 .A52 1990
Ebrary - Electronic Books ![]()
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://site.ebrary.com/lib/umcolumbiaA comprehensive collection of over 2000 full-text computer and engineering handbooks, manuals, and other authoritative technical content, 80% of which were published in the last four years. Key subject areas include Computer Science, Electronics,Engineering, Information Technology & Systems, Materials Science, Math/Statistics, Programming, and Telecommunications. The ebrary reader will need to be installed in order to view the texts. [more]
Books
MERLIN Library Catalog
http://laurel.lso.missouri.edu/search~S1/Searches books and other materials (videos, musical recordings, journal titles, newspaper titles, magazine titles, microformat sets, government documents etc.) owned by the MU Libraries [more]
MOBIUS - Missouri Bibliographic Information User System ![]()
http://mobius.missouri.edu/search/Search the collections of over 70 college and university libraries throughout Missouri. Books can be ordered at no cost using your employee or student ID, and can picked up at a nearby MOBIUS library of your choice. [more]
My Library Account ![]()
http://laurel.lso.missouri.edu/patroninfoLog in to see materials you have checked out, renew or request a book.
Government Sources
NTIS Database ![]()
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://ovidsp.ovid.com/ovidweb.cgi?T=JS&MODE=ovid&PAGE=main&NEWS=N&D=ntisA catalog of publications from the U.S. National Technical Information Service. The premier resource for locating U.S. Government sponsored research reports and studies in the physical sciences, technology, engineering, biological sciences, medicine and health sciences, agriculture and social sciences. Various classification systems enhance subject retrieval. Material can also be searched by corporate source, patent number and CAS registry number. Use the ORDER button to request the corresponding fulltext documents. [more]
Science Accelerator
http://www.scienceaccelerator.gov/The Science Accelerator searches simultaneously across key Department of Energy resources, including the OSTI full-text DOE Information Bridge (1991), the E-Print Network, the EnergyFiles, and DOE Patents. Provided by the Office of Scientific and Technical Information.
US Patent & Trademark Office Fulltext Patents Database
http://www.uspto.gov/patft/The Full-Text Database now offers all US patents issued since 1790, in the form of searchable patent numbers and current US classifications hyperlinked to full-page images of each page of each patent. Searchable in five-year blocks back to 1976, and in one additional block covering the years 1790-1975. [more]
Standards
ASTM Standards ![]()
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://www.ihserc.com/cgi-bin/ihslogin?form=1113&prod=specs2ASTM Standards is a collection of 9,100 standards for testing methods, definitions, practices and classifications, covering metals, construction, petroleum products, textiles, paints, plastics, rubber, electrical insulation and electronics, energy sources and medical de [more]
NIST Gateway
http://srdata.nist.gov/gateway/
Also Known as: Atomic Spectra Database; CODATA Fundamental Physical Constants; NIST Ceramics WebBook; NIST Chemistry WebBook; Physical Reference DataEasy access to many (currently over 80) of the NIST scientific and technical databases. These databases cover a broad range of substances and properties from many different scientific disciplines. The Gateway includes links to free online NIST data systems
NSSN Standards Search ![]()
http://www.nssn.org/A central portal for searching for standards information from many organizations, including the American Society for Testing Materials (ASTM), the International Standards Organization (ISO), the National Committee for Information Technology Standards, the Society for Automotive Engineers (SAE), and more. From the American National Standards Institute (ANSI).
Course Handout
MAE 4980 - Capstone Handout
http://mulibraries.missouri.edu/engineering/sourcepacks/mae.capstone.htm