Skip to main content

Navigation

 MU Libraries University of Missouri MU Libraries

Content

'L'ementary: Guide to Selected Education Resources

ADDRESSES/PHONE NUMBERS COLLEGES & UNIVERSITIES-World of Learning Ref AS2 .W6 Ready Ref; National Faculty Directory Ref L901 .N34 Ready Ref. Directory of colleges and universities available online: http://www.mit.edu/people/cdemello/univ-full.html 

AMERICAN & INTERNATIONAL EDUCATIONAL SYSTEMS-materials on Ready Ref and in Ref Stacks;International Bureau of Education ; International Education Journal http://ehlt.flinders.edu.au/education/iej/articles/mainframe.htm

DISSERTATIONS BY MU STUDENTS-depository; MERLIN search http://laurel.lso.missouri.edu/-author, title, key word; subject: type dissertations academic university of missouri columbia (plus department if known);
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://proquest.umi.com/login?COPT=REJTPTU1M2UmSU5UPTAmVkVSPTI=&clientId=45247 (full-text of MU dissertations from 1995-present); electronic dissertations

DISTANCE LEARNERS-needing remote access to various MU resources should go to the URL http://mulibraries.missouri.edu/resourcesfor/distancelearners/distancemain.htm; for access to electronic resources go to Proxy Accounts;

ELECTRONIC JOURNALS-go to libraries' homepage http://mulibraries.missouri.edu/ click on Find a Specific Article or Journal on the left portion of the screen; electronic journals are also found in the MERLIN Catalog with a Journal, Magazine, Newspaper Title search

ERes-electronic reserves  

ERIC DOCUMENTS

ERIC microfiche-on the first floor near the elevators

Digital ERIC microfiche-many post-1993 documents are available at /http://eric.ed.gov/

GREEK LIFE-Baird's Manual of American College Fraternities Ref LJ31.B2 Ref Stacks; see URLs http://www.greekpages.com/; http://www.greekspot.com/ ; http://www.greekchat.com/

SELECTED EDUCATION REFERENCE WORKS

College Applications & Essays Ready Ref LB2351.52 U6 V37 1997

Patterson's American Education Ready Ref L901.P3-information about elementary, secondary, and post-secondary education

Peterson's Guide to Graduate Programs Ready Ref L901 .P465

INTERNET SITES

http://muarchives.missouri.edu/MU's archives

Search for marching Mizzou in facebook. com.  Click on becoming a fan.  University songs are found under music player about the middle of the page on the left.

Children's Defense Fund

http://studentlife.missouri.edu/mbook.php M Book, the university's student handbook

http://education.missouri.edu/ College of Education web page

http://buros.unl.edu/buros/jsp/search.jsp assists in locating tests

http://admissions.missouri.edu/transferStudents/index.php transfer students can find out about transferring credit hours and other important topics

http://media.asc.missouri.edu/ catalog for films and videos available from MU's Academic Support Center

http://directory.google.com/Top/Reference/Education/ google guide to education related sites on the web

http://mulibraries.missouri.edu/guides/subjects/education.htm  subject guide for education

Digital Resources almanacs, atlases and maps, biographies, catalogs, bibliography, conversions & calculators, dictionaries & thsauri, encyclopedias, postal (zip codes, postal rates), quotations, statistics, data sets, surveys, telephone/address/email finder

FINANCIAL AID- http://fsa.missouri.edu/

GRADUATE STUDENT CARRELS-talk to the Administrative Office (882-4701, Room 104 Ellis).

PHOTOGRAPHS OF MIZZOU-Olson's University of Missouri Ref LD3468. O47 1988 Ready Ref, also, copies at other locations; http://digmo.org/

go to pull down menu at top right or screen, select photos, enter term(s) describing image you deisre (e.g., student, tree); http://www.themaneater.com/ photographs associated with some stories;

image library for web developers http://webcom.missouri.edu/ilibrary/;
Savitar

PUBLISHING-Cabell's Directory of Publishing Opportunities in Educational Psychology and Administration Ref LB14.7 .C323;

Cabell's Directory of Publishing Opportunities in Educational Curriculum and Methods Ref

LB14.7 .C32

READY REFERENCE

The almanac of American education MU Ellis LA217.2 .A45  2004   


REFERENCE STACKS

American College Regalia Ref LB3630 .S64 1988-school name & address, plus nick name, colors, mascot, newspaper, yearbook, song

The Carnegie Classification of Institutions of Higher Education Ref LA227.4 .C53 2001

120 Years of American Education Ref LB2846.054 1993-provides historical data

Philosophies, Missions, Goals Ref LA210 .P53 1990

Student Resource Guide to the Internet Ref LB1044.87 L477 1998

RESERVE-course readings, old tests, etc.; university budget, including salaries; study guides for standardized exams such as the GRE and the LSAT See ERes.

SPECIAL COLLECTIONS-MU FILE-includes information on MU buildings, events, personalities, firsts, etc.

TWO EAST-Bulletin / Bureau of Education L111 .A6 provides statistical and other data on public education in the United States from 1890-1957; Savitar LH1.S2, yearbook of the university

CITATION GUIDES-
http://mulibraries.missouri.edu/guides/writingciting.htm

If you ever need the big guns:

National Library of Education

http://www.ed.gov/NLE

The National Center for Education Statistics http://nces.ed.gov/

has online copies of the Condition of Education, Digest of Education Statistics and related publications.