Subject Librarians
Marie Concannon
(573) 882-0748
ConcannonM@missouri.edu
Subject Specialist for:
Data Services
Government Documents
Rachel Brekhus
(573) 882-7563
brekhusr@missouri.edu
Subject Specialist for:
Anthropology
History
Philosophy
Religious Studies
MU Libraries Course Research Guide: HST 4000: Age of Jefferson
Instructor: Jeff Pasley, 214A Read HallBooks
Book Searching Hints:
- To find primary sources in MERLIN, simply add the words and sources to your keyword search
- People, places and wars make good subject searches. Search people last name first.
- Don't forget to use * in keyword searches, e.g., constitution*
- Extend the search to MOBIUS if you can't find books available at MU
MERLIN Library Catalog
http://laurel.lso.missouri.edu/search~S1/![]()
Searches books and other materials (videos, musical recordings, journal titles, newspaper titles, magazine titles, microformat sets, government documents etc.) owned by the MU Libraries. [more]
MU Libraries Book Finder ![]()
http://muarchives.missouri.edu/ms_book_search.pl![]()
Also Known as: Find it at MUUse this link to search for for books in the MERLIN Library catalog and through the MOBIUS statewide library network. Click "Request" to order books from other MERLIN and MOBIUS libraries. If the book is not found in a MERLIN or MOBIUS library, you can request it through interlibrary loan at this URL.
Google Book Search
http://books.google.com![]()
Google Books contains the full text of books provided by libraries and publishers. Materials that are out of copyright (generally pre-1925) can be viewed online. For more recent books, Google Book Search functions as a detailed index. Books identified may be available at MU, via MOBIUS, or may be requested through ILL@MU. [more]
Journal Articles
Academic Search Premier ![]()
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?authtype=ip,uid&profile=ehost&defaultdb=aph![]()
Indexes journal and some magazine articles across many academic subjects. Time periods indexed vary (1984 is earliest). Full text coverage varies by journal (earliest full text 1990). Good starting point for article research. [more]
America History and Life ![]()
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?authtype=ip,uid&profile=ehost&defaultdb=ahl![]()
America History and Life contains citations and abstracts of books, dissertations, and articles from approximately 2,000 journals published worldwide. Covers all aspects of U.S. and Canadian history, culture, and current affairs from prehistoric times to the present. [more]
InfoTrac U.S. History Collection ![]()
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://infotrac.galegroup.com/itweb/morenetuomcolum?db=SPJ.SP24![]()
This collection covers current thought on events in U.S. History as well as scholarly work established in the field. Access provided by MOREnet.
JSTOR ![]()
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://www.jstor.org![]()
Searches digitized versions of high-quality scholarly journals on many subjects. Full-text coverage extends from the first issue to about five years ago for most journals. [more]
Primary Sources
Primary Resources in History (MU Special Collections)
http://mulibraries.missouri.edu/specialcollections/histmf.php![]()
[more]
Newspapers on Microfilm in Special Collections
http://mulibraries.missouri.edu/specialcollections/news.htm![]()
These newspapers can be browsed alphabetically, by geography or by time period. [more]
American Periodical Series Online ![]()
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://proquest.umi.com/login?COPT=SU5UPTAmVkVSPTImREJTPTE0NEQ@&clientId=45247![]()
American Periodical Series Online is full-text collection of over 1,100 magazines and journals published between 1741 and 1900. [more]
Early American Imprints Series I Evans (1639-1800) ![]()
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://infoweb.newsbank.com/?db=EVAN&s_startsearch=customized![]()
Searchable pdf's of material published in Colonial America and the early U.S. In addition to searching, the collection may be browsed by topic (e.g., Genre: Songs, Economics: Liquor Traffic, History: Louisiana Purchase) [more]
Early American Imprints Series II Shaw-Shoemaker (1801-1819) ![]()
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://infoweb.newsbank.com/?db=SHAW&s_startsearch=customized![]()
Searchable pdf's of material published in the U.S. in the early 19th Century. In addition to searching, the collection may be browsed by topic (e.g., Genre: Satires, Peoples: Illinois Indians, Government: Church and State) [more]
C19: The Nineteenth Century Index ![]()
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://c19index.chadwyck.com![]()
Indexes British and U.S. sources (books, articles, government documents, archival sources) from the 19th Century, but only contains a little full text. The MU Libraries own much of the material indexed here in print or microfilm/fiche. [more]
Liberty Library of Constitutional Classics
http://www.constitution.org/liberlib.htm![]()
Collection of "classic books and other works on constitutional government" maintained by the Constitution Society, which is "a private non-profit organization dedicated to research and public education on the principles of constitutional republican government. It publishes documentation, engages in litigation, and organizes local citizens groups to work for reform." [more]
Thomas Jefferson Digital Archive (University of Virginia)
http://etext.virginia.edu/jefferson/![]()
Online copies of material written by, to and about Jefferson. Includes letters, biographical writing, bibliographies, color manuscript images, quotation collections and a guide to the Jefferson papers at the University of Virginia
American Memory
http://memory.loc.gov/ammem/index.html![]()
American Memory provides access to written and spoken words, sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps, and sheet music that document the American experience.
Government Sources
Annals of Congress
http://lcweb2.loc.gov/ammem/amlaw/lwac.html![]()
Also Known as: The debates and proceedings in the Congress of the United States...The official record of the proceedings and debates of the United States Congress, published between 1789 and 1824, searchable and browsable online via the Library of Congress. The predecessor of the Congressional Record. The Annals were not published contemporaneously, but were compiled between 1834 and 1856, using the best records available, primarily newspaper accounts. If you'd like to see the print volumes, they are shelved on the 2nd Floor of Ellis Library, call number J11 .R396. [more]
American State Papers, 1789-1838 ![]()
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://infoweb.newsbank.com/?db=ASPA![]()
U.S. Congressional publications, 1789-1838. Predecessor of the U.S. Congressional Serial Set. Material from 1817-1838 overlaps with the Serial Set. Unlike the U.S. Congressional Serial Set, the publications in the American State Papers are not divided into reports and documents and do not include House and Senate journals. [more]
U.S. Congressional Serial Set ![]()
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://infoweb.newsbank.com/?db=SERIAL&s_startsearch=customized&s_home=mulibraries.missouri.edu![]()
Congressional reports and documents, 1817-1980. Reports are usually from committees dealing with proposed legislation and issues under investigation. Documents include all other papers ordered printed by the House or Senate. Documents cover a wide variety of topics and may include reports of executive departments and independent organizations, reports of special investigations made for Congress, and annual reports of non-governmental organizations. Also includes the House and Senate journals. [more]
Making of Modern Law - Legal Treatises 1800-1926 ![]()
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://infotrac.galegroup.com/itweb/mizzou_law![]()
Making of Modern Law - Legal Treatises 1800-1926 provides digital images on every page of 22,000 legal treatises on US and British law published from 1800 through 1926. [more]
Making of Modern Law - Trials 1600-1926 ![]()
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://infotrac.galegroup.com/itweb/mizzou_law?db=MMLT![]()
Making of Modern Law - Trials 1600-1926 contains over 7,000 trial transcripts from Harvard, Yale, and the Library of the Bar of the City of New York give scholars insight on class structure and the making of modern law. [more]
United States Reports ![]()
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://heinonline.org/HOL/Index?collection=usreports![]()
Official Opinions of the United States Supreme Court [more]
Avalon Project - Documents in Law, History and Diplomacy (Yale)
http://avalon.law.yale.edu/subject_menus/major.asp![]()
Key historical documents in searchable full text, browseable by time period or by topic. Covers 2000 BCE to present. [more]
Trans-Mississippi West, 1804-1912
http://laurel.lso.missouri.edu/search~S1/Y?searchtype=o&searcharg=28648309&SORT=D&searchscope=1&Submit=Search![]()
Guide to government sources on western states while they were still territories (State Dept., Justice Dept., Agriculture Dept., Dept. of the Interior, Commission of Railroads). Not an online souce. [more]
Statistics
Historical Census Browser
http://fisher.lib.virginia.edu/collections/stats/histcensus/![]()
1790-1960. Browse or search historical census data down to the county level; compare data on a topic across census years; generate maps. [more]
Historical Statistics of the United States ![]()
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://hsus.cambridge.org![]()
Statistics on population, economics and government. In the advanced search, you can limit by years covered. Statistical tables can be downloaded in Excel and other formats. [more]
U.S. Census of Population and Housing (1790-2000)
http://www.census.gov/prod/www/abs/decennial/index.htm![]()
Contains notes about the census for each decade covered and links to pdf and zip files. [more]

