MU Libraries Course Research Guide: HST 4972: American Human Rights PolicyInstructor: Carol Anderson, 101 Read Hall
Books and E-Books
MU Libraries Book Finder
Also Known as: Find it at MU
Use this link to search for for books in the MERLIN Library catalog and through the MOBIUS statewide library network. Click "Request" to order books from other MERLIN and MOBIUS libraries. If the book is not found in a MERLIN or MOBIUS library, you can request it through interlibrary loan at this URL.
MERLIN Library Catalog
Searches books and other materials (videos, musical recordings, journal titles, newspaper titles, magazine titles, microformat sets, government documents etc.) owned by the MU Libraries.
Example: MERLIN Subject Search: Subject searches are good for NAMES of people, groups, agencies, places or events, as well as conventions/treaties: kissinger, henry or fuerza democrática nicaragüense or geneva conventions 1949 or united nations commission on human rights
Example: MERLIN Keyword Search:globali* (retrieves globalization, globalisation, globalizing, globalised, etc. -but not global),capital punishment OR death penalty (retrieves items with EITHER phrase),inequalit* AND incarcerat* (retrieves items with BOTH/ALL words), and (birth control OR family planning OR contracept*) AND aid [more]
Use the MU Libraries Journal and Article Finder (first item below) if you already know the precise article you are looking for.
To find articles on a topic, use the other databases listed in this section. For databases not containing the full text of the articles, follow the FindIt@MU links from results pages.
MU Libraries Journal and Article Finder
Also Known as: Find it at Mizzou
Search for articles and journals available through University of Missouri Libraries.
Academic Search Complete
Academic Search Premier provides full text for over 4,600 academic, social sciences, humanities, general science, education and multi-cultural journals. In addition to the full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for nearly 8,500 journals. Over 3,500 journals are peer reviewed. Full text backfiles go as far back as January of 1990, while indexing and abstract backfiles go as far back as January of 1984. Provided courtesy of MORENET. [more]
America History and Life
Contains almost 400,000 bibliographic references concerning the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. In addition to covering all key English-language historical journals, selected historical journals from major countries, state and local history journals, and a targeted selection of hundreds of journals in the social sciences and humanities and also included. [more]
A U.S. national bibliographic database covering the journal and research literature in the field of education. Sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education, ERIC blends two files: Resources in Education (RIE), covering the fugitive document literature, and Current Index to Journals in Education (CIJE), covering the published journal literature from over 775 periodicals. The database also includes the full text of ERIC Digest records. These one- to two-page full-text records, targeted specifically to teachers, administrators, and other practitioners, provide an overview of information on a given topic and supply references with more detailed information. [more]
References cover the history of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada, which are covered in America: History and Life), including the key historical journals from virtually every major country, plus a targeted selection of hundreds of journals in the social sciences and humanities that are of special interest to researchers and students of history. In addition to articles, each year Historical Abstracts includes approximately 3,000 citations to useful historical books as reviewed by the most prestigious journals in the field and citations to abstracts of dissertations completed worldwide of particular interest for historical research. [more]
A full-text database consisting of the Arts and Sciences I, II, III, IV, Ecology & Botany and General Science Collections which provide access to the back files of over 300 scholarly journals. Areas included are history, sociology, business, economics, ecology, literature, mathematics, music, political science, population studies, Asian studies, philanthropy and finance. Coverage begins with volume one of each title and continues to within 4-5 years of the present. [more]
PAIS covers the range of the social sciences, with emphasis on national and international economic, political and public policy issues. [more]
Project Muse provides full-text access to more than 100 scholarly journal titles from the Johns Hopkins University Press and other University presses covering the Humanities, Social Sciences, and Mathematics. [more]
Also Known as: sociology
Indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. Search and display cited references for key journals published since 2001, and all journals since 2004. Each individual cited reference may also link to an abstract and/or to other papers that cite that reference. Formerly known as Sociofile. [more]
U.S. and international newspaper articles in full text, date coverage varies by title but generally late 20th/early 21st Century to present [more]
Lexis Nexis Academic offers full-text of legal materials, (court cases, legislation, statutes, regulations, law reviews, and more). Click on the "LEGAL" tab in the navigation bar to access. [more]
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: New York Times
Also Known as: New York Times;historical New York Times; NYT
ProQuest Historical Newspapers digitally reproduces every issue of the New York Times (1851-2006) from cover-to-cover. It provides full page-image and full-text searching of the newspaper. [more]
U.S. State Department Introduction to Human Rights
Traces the development of human rights in the United States from their origins as political theory in 17th-century Europe to their present-day acceptance as an international standard. Includes a human rights timeline.
Constitution of the United States of America: Analysis and Interpretation - Analysis of Cases Decided by the Supreme Court of the United States to June 28, 2002
Supreme Court cases set a precedent and contribute to an evolving body of legal rights in the US.
Foreign Relations of the United States - Paper copies or Full text, 1861-1960
The Foreign Relations of the United States series presents the official documentary historical record of major U.S. foreign policy decisions and significant diplomatic activity. Foreign Relations volumes contain documents from Presidential libraries, Departments of State and Defense, National Security Council, Central Intelligence Agency, Agency for International Development, and other foreign affairs agencies as well as the private papers of individuals involved in formulating U.S. foreign policy. In general, the editors choose documentation that illuminates policy formulation and major aspects and repercussions of its execution.
Country Studies series
Provides full text versions of books previously published (1988-98) in hard copy by the Federal Research Division of the Library of Congress under the Country Studies/Area Handbook Program sponsored by the U.S. Department of the Army. Because the original intent of the series' sponsor was to focus primarily on lesser-known areas of the world or regions in which U.S. forces might be deployed, the series is not all-inclusive. At present, 101 countries and regions are covered.
U.S. House Ways & Means Committee Green Book (1996-2004)
Provides program descriptions and historical data on a wide variety of social and economic topics, including Social Security, employment, earnings, welfare, child support, health insurance, the elderly, families with children, poverty and taxation. It has become a standard reference work for those interested in the direction of social policy in the United States.
Also Known as: Lexis Nexis Congressional
ProQuest Congressional indexes congressional publications from 1789 to date and provides full text for much of it. This database also includes biographical, financial and voting information on current members of Congress. [more]
Congressional Research Service (CRS) reports
The Thurgood Marshall Law Library website offers a browse-by-subject feature for CRS reports on selected topics. CRS reports provide Congress with non-partisan and in-depth legislative research and analysis. The full collection of CRS reports are indexed in the Lexis Nexis Congressional database.
U.S. Congressional Serial Set
The U.S. Congressional Serial Set, 1817-1980 is a vast primary source collection for U.S. political, social, cultural, military and ethnic history, as well as international relations, explorations, genealogy, commerce, industrial development and more. [more]
U.S. National Archives research galleries
Topical galleries include full text documents.
Century of Lawmaking for a New Nation: U. S. Congressional Documents and Debates, 1774-1875
Beginning with the Continental Congress in 1774, America's national legislative bodies have kept detailed records of their proceedings. These legislative records dating from 1774-1875 provide a rich primary source history of the construction of the nation.
Digital National Security Archive
The Digital National Security Archive is a comprehensive collection of significant primary documents central to US foreign and military policy since 1945. The Archive is organized into dozens of topical collections, each containing government documents declassified under the Freedom of Information Act (FOIA). [more]
Lexis Nexis Academic offers full-text of legal materials, (court cases, legislation, statutes, regulations, law reviews, and more). Click on the "LEGAL" tab in the navigation bar to access. [more]
US General Accountability Office (GAO)
Also Known as: GAO
Known as "the investigative arm of Congress," the GAO analyzes policies, programs and performance of the federal government. Full text reports dating back to the 1930s are available through the website.
Catalog of U.S. Government Publications
Also Known as: CGP
This is the most comprehensive database for U. S. federal publications issued from 1976-present. MU Libraries will not own everything shown in this database. [more]
Historical Publications of the US Commission on Civil Rights
Includes full text publications dated 1957 to the present. Suggestion: look for LOCATE PUBLICATIONS section; then click SUBJECT.
U.S. State Department Bureau of Democracy, Human Rights and Labor
The Department of State is the leading U.S. foreign affairs agency. The Department advances American interests around the world by advising the U.S. president's foreign policy. The Bureau of Democracy, Human Rights and Labor focuses on these issues in particular and can help inform U. S. bilateral diplomacy, multilateral engagement, foreign assistance, and use of economic sanctions.
Treaties and Agreements
- If necessary, consult this treaty guide from the University of Colorado.
- Find full text treaties in University of Minnesota Human Rights Online Library
Office of the United Nations High Commissioner for Human Rights - Major Human Rights Instruments
Includes texts of the UN Charter, the Universal Declaration of Human Rights, the covenants on Economic, Social and Cultural Rights and Civil and Political Rights, and the seven core international human rights treaties.
HeinOnline is most useful for providing full text when the exact citation to a primary source legal document is already in hand. However there is a browse feature which allows some amount of "drilling down" into subjects of interest. When using this source, first click on the "Library" of interest, for example, "Treaties and Agreements Library." Then click the SEARCH tab in the upper navigation bar. [more]
Treaties in Force
A list of treaties and other international agreements of the United States in force on January 1st of each year. This is NOT limited to documents pertaining only to human rights. Organized by country (bilateral treaties) and subject (multilateral treaties). This is available in electronic full text through the Lexis Nexis Academic database.
The United Nations maintains a system of depository libraries in the United States each of which are designed to serve the general public. The depository which serves Missouri residents is located at Missouri State University in Springfield, Missouri. Reference Librarian Ann Fuhrman is the UN Specialist. If you have questions about UN materials, contact her at (417) 836-3077 or email AnnFuhrman@MissouriState.edu.
Office of the United Nations High Commissioner for Human Rights - Country Pages
Also Known as: OHCHR
Individual human rights reports by the UNHRC for countries around the world, including the United States.
Yearbook of the United Nations
Summary of United Nations activities since its inception on July 1, 1947. [more]
United Nations Official Document System (ODS)
The United Nations Official Document System (ODS) provides full-text access to all types of official United Nations documentation, beginning in 1993. ODS also provides access to the resolutions of the General Assembly, Security Council, Economic and Social Council and the Trusteeship Council from 1946 onwards. [more]
Office of the United Nations High Commissioner for Human Rights - Document Search for Treaty-based Bodies
Includes documents from the Committee against Torture, the Human Rights Committee, the Committee on the Elimination of Discrimination Against Women, the Committee on the Elimination of Racial Discrimination, the Committee on Economic, Social and Cultural Rights, the Committee on the Protection of the Rights of All Migrant Workers and Members of Their Families, and the Committee on the Rights of the Child.
Office of the United Nations High Commissioner for Human Rights - Document Search for Charter-based Bodies
Allows users to search for human rights documents from the General Assembly, the Economic and Social Council, the Human Rights Council, and its predecessor, the Commission on Human Rights. Dates of coverage vary.
Official Records of the United Nations Economic and Social Council
Records of the Economic and Social Council from the first meeting January 23, 1946 to the present. [more]
Official Records of the United Nations General Assembly
Official records of the General Assembly. University of Missouri library has extensive, but incomplete holdings since the Assembly's first session. [more]
United Nations Documentation Research Guide
An indispensable guide to finding documents and publications issued by United Nations. Includes a special section on Human Rights.
UN-I-QUE: United Nations Info Quest
A ready-reference file designed to provide quick access to document symbols/sales numbers for UN materials. Focuses upon documents and publications of a recurrent nature: annual/sessional reports of committees/commissions; annual publications; reports periodically/irregularly issued; reports of major conferences; statements in the General Debate; etc.
Search, compare and graph statistics for a country or region of the world. Includes statistics on internally displaced persons, health, corruption (police, business and political) and much more. Sources for statistics include the CIA World Factbook, the UN, the World Health Organization, the World Bank, World Resources Institute, UNESCO, UNICEF, OECD and more.
2008 World Population Data Sheet
The Population Reference Bureau's 2008 World Population Data Sheet and its summary report offer detailed information about country, regional, and global population patterns. Topics include: population, birth, death, health, migration, urbanization, poverty, environmental conditions and more. [more]
EuroStat Data Explorer
EuroStat Data Explorer provides access to statistical tables, data series and publications from Eurostat, the Statistical Office of the European Communities. [more]
Includes statistical information on a wide variety of areas provided by more that 70 agencies of the US federal government. [more]
Historical Statistics of the United States
Historical Statistics of the United States presents the numerical history of the United States. It contains more than 37,000 annual time series of quantitative historical information covering virtually every quantifiable dimension of American history, all from the earliest times to the present. [more]
AMA Physician-Related Data Resources by County
Also Known as: American Medical Association Physician Statistics by County
Discover the total number of physicians in any U.S. county, or in a given medical specialty in a county. From the AMA Physicians Masterfile.
Child Welfare Resource Center Statistics
Find reports, databases, and other sources of statistics and demographic data on children and families in the United States, child abuse and neglect, child welfare services, children and youth in foster care, and domestic and international adoption. [more]
The Dartmouth Atlas Project is run by the Center for Evaluative Clinical Sciences at Dartmouth Medical School. It's goal is to "accurately describe how medical resources are distributed and used in the United States." Using information compiled by the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services, the data covers hospitalizations of people aged 65 to 99 in the traditional Medicare system who are free to select any participating physician or hospital. Data is available from 1994-2003. [more]
Sponsored by the Food and Agricultural Organization of the United Nations. Covers international statistics in agriculture, nutrition, fisheries, forestry, food quality, and more. [more]
National Center for Health Statistics
The main portal for delivery of data gathered by the U.S. National Center for Health Statistics, including the Vital & Health Statistics Series, the National Health Care Survey ( NCHS ), the National Health Interview Survey (NHIS), the National Health and Nutrition Examination Survey (NHANES), and more.
National Center for Education Statistics
Also Known as: NCES
The National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), located within the U.S. Department of Education and the Institute of Education Sciences, is the primary federal entity for collecting and analyzing data related to education. [more]
Pew Forum on Religion & Public Life
UNESCO Institute for Statistics Data Centre
The UNESCO Institute for Statistics collects the data for more than 200 countries from Member States and international organizations. The Data Centre contains over 1,000 types of indicators and raw data on education, literacy, science and technology, culture and communication. [more]
TRI - Toxic Release Inventory
A system for tracking the release of chemicals into the environment. Search by company, geographic location, or chemical for a given year. [more]
In MERLIN, you can locate personal papers by using a KEYWORD search for the person's name and (papers OR sources).
Example: Truman and (papers OR sources OR correspondence OR diaries)
You can use the same trick to get primary source documents of this kind related to a place or a subject.
Example: Bosnia* and (papers OR sources OR correspondence OR diaries)
Eleanor Roosevelt Papers: The Human Rights Years, 1945-1948
Covers Eleanor Roosevelt's post-White House years, the part of her life that has received the least attention from biographers and students of history, but which, in many ways, is the time when she wielded influence we are only now beginning to understand. It contains 410 documents selected from more than 90,000 documents the Papers staff has collected from 263 archives in fifty states and nine nations. The introduction contains several pages of political biography of Eleanor Roosevelt. [more]
Amnesty International, USA
This is the United States section of the international human rights organization, Amnesty International, dedicated to research and action focused on preventing “abuses of the rights to physical and mental integrity, freedom of conscience and expression, and freedom from discrimination, within the context of its work to promote all human rights.”
Human Rights Watch
Also Known as: HRW
International non-governmental organization dedicated to “protecting the human rights of people around the world.”
National Economic and Social Rights Initiative
Also Known as: NESRI
An organization dedicated to promoting human rights in the United States.
United Nations Committee on the Elimination of All Forms of Racial Discrimination: NGO "Shadow Reports"
Includes links to supplemental submissions by many non-governmental organizations (NGOs) composed in response to the United States efforts to comply with the UN Committee on the Elimination of all forms of Racial Discrimination. NGOs submitting reports include: Amnesty International, Human Rights Watch, and the American Civil Liberties Union. These submissions are in response to the United States Department of State Report referenced in this guide.
United States Human Rights Network
A coalition of organization and activists dedicated to promoting human rights in the United States topics of activism include: civil rights, homelessness, immigration, and workers rights.
University of Minnesota Human Rights Library
A comprehensive portal linking to thousands of human rights documents and organizations (IGOs and NGOs). Includes a unique search device for multiple human rights sites.
Citing Your Sources
University Wisconsin Madison Writing Center
Quick, printable reference guide to Chicago and Turabian citation styles.
Free, easy-to-use Firefox downloadable software that collects, organizes, manages, stores, and outputs citations in various formats.
Writing an INTERESTING Paper adapted from Murray S. Davis, "That's Interesting," Philosophy of the Social Sciences, 1971 vol.1, pp.309-344
Interesting papers and articles find some way to draw unexpected conclusions and show a contrast between "what might be expected" and what is found. For example:
A - The Characterization of a single phenomenon
- what seems to be a disorganized (unstructured) phenomenon is in reality an organized (structured) phenomenon.
- what seems to be an organized (structured) phenomenon is in reality a disorganized (unstructured) phenomenon [or organized/structured in a different way.]
- What seem to be assorted heterogeneous phenomena are in reality composed of a single element.
- What seems to be a single phenomenon is in reality composed of assorted heterogeneous elements.
- What seems like an individual phenomenon is in reality a holistic phenomenon. (sociologizing)
- What seems like a holistic phenomenon is in reality an individual phenomenon. (psychologizing)
- What seems to be a local phenomenon is in reality a general phenomenon.
- What seems to be a general phenomenon is in reality a local phenomenon.
- What seems to be a stable and unchanging phenomenon is in reality an unstable and changing phenomenon.
- What seems to be an unstable and changing phenomenon is in reality a stable and unchanging phenomenon.
- What seems to be a phenomenon that functions ineffectively as a means for the attainment of an end is in reality a phenomenon that function effectively.
- What seems to be a phenomenon that functions effectively as the means for the attainment the attainment of an end is in reality a phenomenon that functions ineffectively.
- What seems to be a bad phenomenon is in reality a good phenomenon.
- What seems to be a good phenomenon is in reality a bad phenomenon.
B - The Relations Among Multiple Phenomena
- What seem to be unrelated (independent) phenomena are in reality correlated (interdependent) phenomena.
- What seem to be related (interdependent) phenomena are in reality uncorrelated (independent) phenomena.
- What seem to be phenomena which can exist together are in reality phenomena which cannot exist together.
- What seem to be phenomena which cannot exist together are in reality phenomena which can exist together.
- What seems to be a positive co-variation between phenomena is in reality a negative co-variation between phenomena.
- What seems to be a negative co-variation between phenomena is in reality a positive co-variation between phenomena.
- What seem to be similar (nearly identical) phenomena are in reality opposite phenomena.
- What seem to be opposite phenomena are in reality similar (nearly identical) phenomena.
- What seems to be the independent phenomenon (variable) in a causal relation is in reality the dependent phenomenon (variable).
- What seems to be the dependent phenomenon (variable) in a causal relation is in reality the independent phenomenon (variable).
"The 'standard form' of the books and articles in which the research is presented is the following:
- The author articulates the taken-for-granted assumptions of his imagined audience by reviewing the literature of the particular sub-tradition in question ('It has long been thought…'),
- he adduces one or more propositions which deny what has been traditionally assumed ('But this is false…'),
- he spends the body of the work 'proving' by various methodological devices that the old routinely assumed propositions are wrong while the new ones he asserted are right ('We have seen instead that…'),
- in conclusion, he suggests the practical consequences of these new propositions for his imagined audience's on-going social research, specifically how they ought to deflect it onto new paths ('Further investigation is necessary to...')."
Gale Virtual Reference Library
This set of reference sources contains, among other things, Governments of the World: A Global Guide to Citizen's Rights and Responsibilities and the Worldmark Encyclopedia of the Nations. You can search within a single source, or across many sources. [more]