MU Libraries Course Research Guide: HIST 3570 - European Women in the 19th Century
Instructor: Linda Reeder, 218 Read HallPrimary Sources
Primary Resources in History (MU Special Collections)
http://mulibraries.missouri.edu/specialcollections/histmf.php[more]
C19: The Nineteenth Century Index ![]()
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://c19index.chadwyck.comIndexes British and U.S. sources (books, articles, government documents, archival sources) from the 19th Century, but only contains a little full text. The MU Libraries own much of the material indexed here in print or microfilm/fiche. [more]
Birmingham Female Society for the Relief of Negro Slaves
http://mulibraries.missouri.edu/specialcollections/womanstudiesmf.phpMicrofilm set not listed in the MERLIN catalog. 2 reels. Call number: Ellis Library Special Collections, FILM 22:3. Contains pamphlets, annual reports, and minutes relating to the activities of the Society. Members wrote letters and petitions urging others to support the British anti-slavery cause. [more]
Colonial Discourses, Series I: Women, Travel and Empire, 1660-1914
http://laurel.lso.missouri.edu/search~S8/?searchtype=t&searcharg=Colonial+Discourses+Series+One%3A+Women%2C+Travel+%26+Empire%2C+1660-1914&searchscope=1&SORT=D&extended=0&SUBMIT=Search&searchlimits=&searchorigarg=tColonial+Discourses+Series+One%3A+Women%225 reels of microfilm. This collection reproduced ninety-seven rare printed volumes of travel writing and novels by forty-one women writers from 1660-1914. Topics include the development of women's travel writing, evolution of the female aesthetic sensibility, ideologies and narratives of Empire and Anti-Empire, and gender and colonialism. [more]
Ladies of Llangollen
http://laurel.lso.missouri.edu/search~S1/o?SEARCH=37911126&searchscope=1Also Known as: Letters and journals of Lady Eleanor Butler (1739-1829) and Sarah Ponsonby (1755-1831) from the National Library of Wales
5 rolls of microfilm. Letters and journals of Lady Eleanor Butler (1739-1829) and Sarah Ponsonby (1755-1831) from the National Library of Waless. Call number: Ellis Library Special Collections, FILM BOOK 0327 Reels 1-5 [more]
Suffragette Fellowship Collection from the Museum of London
http://laurel.lso.missouri.edu/search~/o?SEARCH=12527179&searchscope=014 reels of microfilm. The printed materials include pamphlets, plays, newspaper clippings, and annual reports of suffragette organizations, such as the Women's Social and Political Union and the Women's Freedom League. Manuscripts include unpublished autobiographies, police and court documents, and correspondence of pioneers of the movement, such as the Pankhursts, as well as many lesser-known women. Reel 14 contains photographs. The numbering of the documents and the index are unclear and inconsistent. The collection lacks a rational organization; it is neither topical nor chronological. To use this collection requires time and patience. [more]
Letters of Jane AddamsMicrofilm (2 reels). Not in MERLIN. Special Collections FILM MISC. Link to description: http://mulibraries.missouri.edu/specialcollections/womanstudiesmf.php (top of page).
Believed to be long hand transcriptions of the originals, the letters describe Jane Addam's experiences and observations during her European travels. The third volume contains copies of letters written during her second European tour, 1887-1888. While in Europe, she studied the traditions and lives of the people, seeking a way of life in which she could put her ideas about social welfare into action. After visiting Toynbee Hall in East London, she decided to establish such a settlement in Chicago, later known as Hull House.
Newspapers
Newspapers on Microfilm in Special Collections (MU Libraries)
http://mulibraries.missouri.edu/specialcollections/news.htmThese newspapers can be browsed alphabetically, by geography or by time period. [more]
Palmer's Index to the Times ![]()
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://c19index.chadwyck.comThis index covers the London Times newspaper from 1790-1905. Part of C19 database. The MU Libraries has the London Times on microfilm in the Special Collections department. [more]
The Social and political status of women in Britain: radical and reforming periodicals for and by women
http://laurel.lso.missouri.edu/search~S8/?searchtype=o&searcharg=10715245&searchscope=8&SORT=D&extended=0&SUBMIT=Search&searchlimits=&searchorigarg=tSocial+and+Political+Status+of+Women+in+BritainEighteen journals chronicling the women's emancipation movement in England. Topics covered include the suffrage question, the position of women at work and in the home, education, temperance, social reform, birth control, and the role played by the churches as organizing bases for women's activities. A number of titles are devoted largely to single issues such as suffrage. Others provide an overall picture of women's issues. [more]
Books
The first two sources on this list are for finding books, pamphlets etc., mainly from the 18th century. In the English Short Title Catalogue, you can search by Library of Congress Subject Heading, and get the ESTC Citation Number, which you can then use to search ECCO and get the full text. To search by ESTC Citation Number in ECCO, you must use the Advanced Search and scroll down.
English Short Title Catalogue
http://estc.bl.ukThe ESTC lists works printed ca. 1473-1800 in the British Isles, Colonial America, United States, Canada, and other territories governed by Britain, regardless of language, and works in English and other British vernaculars printed elsewhere. [more]
Women and Victorian values, 1837-1910: advice books, manuals, and journals for women
http://laurel.lso.missouri.edu/search~/o?SEARCH=39890272&searchscope=0Microfilm. Reproductions of books, grouped by the following subjects: Cookery and Domestic Life, Education and Etiquette, Entertainment, Fashion, Society and Beauty, Language and Literature, Marriage, Mothers and Daughters, Religion and Morality, Women and Work, Women's Health, Women's Rights and Status and Miscellanea. [more]
MU Libraries Book Finder ![]()
http://mulibraries.missouri.edu/search/bookfinder.aspx?Also Known as: Find it at MU
Use this link to search for for books in the MERLIN Library catalog and through the MOBIUS statewide library network. Click "Request" to order books from other MERLIN and MOBIUS libraries. If the book is not found in a MERLIN or MOBIUS library, you can request it through interlibrary loan at this URL.
MERLIN Library Catalog
http://laurel.lso.missouri.edu/search~S1/Searches books and other materials (videos, musical recordings, journal titles, newspaper titles, magazine titles, microformat sets, government documents etc.) owned by the MU Libraries. [more]
Hints for searching for Books:
1. If you are looking for books ABOUT a particular person, do a SUBJECT SEARCH for the person. Type the person's name, last name first, in the search blank. Ex.: Pankhurst, Emmeline.
2. Organizations, like people, may be searched as AUTHOR or as SUBJECT, if you are looking for publications either BY or ABOUT the organizations.
3. Don't forget the * when searching by keyword. Ex.: brit* and suffrag*
4. To find books written during the period you are researching, you can use the Advanced MERLIN Search and set date limits.
Journal Articles
Findit@MU Article Finder for MU Libraries
http://ew3dm6nd8c.search.serialssolutions.com/?SS_Page=refinerEnter the journal title, volume, page and year for a specific article to link right to the complete article. If the article isn't online, link to shelf locations in campus libraries and order forms for interlibrary loan and document retrieval services.
Academic Search Complete ![]()
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?authtype=ip,uid&profile=ehost&defaultdb=a9hIndexes journal and some magazine articles across many academic subjects. Time periods indexed vary (1984 is earliest). Full text coverage varies by journal (earliest full text 1990). Good starting point for article research. [more]
Historical Abstracts ![]()
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?authtype=ip,uid&profile=ehost&defaultdb=hiaSecondary sources (journal articles, dissertations, some books) on the history of Europe, Asia, Latin America and Africa, with some links to full text. [more]
JSTOR ![]()
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://www.jstor.orgSearches digitized versions of high-quality scholarly journals on many subjects. Full-text coverage extends from the first issue to about five years ago for most journals. [more]
Project Muse ![]()
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://muse.jhu.edu/muse.htmlProject Muse provides full-text access to more than 100 scholarly journal titles from the Johns Hopkins University Press and other University presses covering the Humanities, Social Sciences, and Mathematics. [more]
Legal
Making of Modern Law - Legal Treatises 1800-1926 ![]()
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://infotrac.galegroup.com/itweb/mizzou_law?db=MOMLMaking of Modern Law - Legal Treatises 1800-1926 provides digital images on every page of 22,000 legal treatises on US and British law published from 1800 through 1926. [more]
Making of Modern Law - Trials 1600-1926 ![]()
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://infotrac.galegroup.com/itweb/mizzou_law?db=MMLTMaking of Modern Law - Trials 1600-1926 contains over 7,000 trial transcripts from Harvard, Yale, and the Library of the Bar of the City of New York give scholars insight on class structure and the making of modern law. [more]
Citing Sources
Your instructor requires you to use the Chicago citation style (see this Quick Guide) for an idea of what this looks like.
Zotero
http://www.zotero.org/Free, easy-to-use Firefox downloadable software that collects, organizes, manages, stores, and outputs citations in various formats.
ECCO - Eighteenth Century Collections Online ![]()
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://infotrac.galegroup.com/itweb/morenetuomcolum?db=ECCOWithin this large database of 18th-century books and pamphlets, see especially: Macaulay, Catharine. Loose Remarks On Certain Positions To Be Found In Mr. Hobbes¹s Philosophical Rudiments Of Government And Society. [more]
