Content
Human Development and Family Studies 2400 Principles of Human Development
Find Background Information
- Gale Virtual Reference Library database of encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources including the Encyclopedia of Sociology, the Encyclopedia of Social Theory, the Encyclopedia of Children and Childhood, Psychologists and Their Theories for Students, and Human Development.
Find Journal Articles
Search one of the following databases:
- Academic Search Premier
Index to major journals and magazines in all subject areas. Updated continually. Coverage is 1984 to date. Click on Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journals to limit search results to research articles.
- Education Full-text
Indexes education journals, 1983 to date
-
PAIS
P.A.I.S (Public Affairs Information Service) covers the range of the social sciences, with emphasis on national and international economic, political, and public policy issues. The database provides indexing to periodical articles, books, federal, state and local documents, agency publications, yearbooks, and directories. Coverage is 1972 to date.
-
PsycINFO
PsycINFO indexes and abstracts books, journal articles and technical reports dealing with psychology. Coverage is 1887 to date.
-
Social Services Abstracts
CSA Social Services Abstracts provides bibliographic coverage of current research focused on social work, human services, and related areas, including social welfare, social policy, and community development. The database abstracts and indexes over 1,406 serials publications and includes abstracts of journal articles and dissertations, and citations to book reviews. -
Sociological Abstracts
Sociological Abstracts indexes and abstracts journals in sociology as well as books, dissertations and sociological association papers. Coverage is 1974 to date.
-
Social Work Abstracts
Social Work Abstracts indexes research articles in social work and related fields. Coverage is 1977 to date.
- Scopus
Indexes journals, conference proceedings and web sites in the sciences and social sciences. Coverage is 1996 to date though earlier material is being added regularly.
Find the Full-text of Journal Articles 
- If you're looking at results in one of the databases listed above just click on the
button next to the article citation. The article will display if it's available electronically. If there is no online access, you'll be given the opportunity to look for a print copy in the MERLIN Catalog - If you have an article reference, but are not currently in a database, go to the MU Libraries' homepage and select Find a Specific Article/Journal to enter
. Once in
you're given the choice to search for a specific article or journal title. If electronic coverage is not available, check the MERLIN Catalog to see if we have a print copy of the journal. - MU Libraries does not subscribe to all journal titles. If you find a journal article that you need, but cannot find the article using
, click on the option Request through Interlibrary Loan/Request a Copy. ILL@MU is the name for our interlibrary loan service. You can also request an article without using the
feature. Click on Request Items-LL@MU under About the Libraries on the MU Libraries' homepage . Usually,within a few days, you will receive an e-mail with instructions on how to view the requested article.
Keeping Track of Your References and Making Bibliographies
- Zotero-- Firefox extension to help you collect, manage and cite your research sources
- Endnote--Commercial software, free to MU students, that allows you to collect references and create bibliographies.
Find Library Books
- From the MU Libraries' homepage, choose the MERLIN Catalog. Type in words describing the topic you are researching. Once you have a list of hits, select one that looks on-target, then examine the subject headings for that item. Try clicking on that subject heading to retrieve similar items.
- If you do not find enough books on your topic to meet your needs, change your search to quot;ALL MERLIN. quot; By doing so you will be checking the library holdings at UMSL, UMKC, MST and MU all at once.
- Still not enough? Click on the MOBIUS Catalog button. This expands your search to about 50 additional libraries in our network.
- Most books you find through the MERLIN Catalog or the MOBIUS Catalog are requestable online simply by clicking the quot;Request Item quot; link. Books requested through the MERLIN Catalog or the MOBIUS Catalog usually take about three working days to arrive.
- You may request books not listed in the MERLIN Catalog or the MOBIUS Catalog via Request Items-ILL@MU under the About the Libraries section of the MU Libraries' homepage.
Further Resources
- For further information check the Human Development and Family Research Subject Guide.