Find Journal Articles
Search one of the following databases:
- Academic Search Premier
Index to major journals and magazines in all subject areas. Updated continually. Coverage is 1984 to date. Click on Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journals to limit search results to research articles.
-
PAIS
P.A.I.S (Public Affairs Information Service) covers the range of the social sciences, with emphasis on national and international economic, political, and public policy issues. The database provides indexing to periodical articles, books, federal, state and local documents, agency publications, yearbooks, and directories. Coverage is 1972 to date.
-
Social Services Abstracts
CSA Social Services Abstracts provides bibliographic coverage of current research focused on social work, human services, and related areas, including social welfare, social policy, and community development. The database abstracts and indexes over 1,406 serials publications and includes abstracts of journal articles and dissertations, and citations to book reviews.
-
Sociological Abstracts
Sociofile Indexes and abstracts journals in sociology as well as books, dissertations and sociological association papers. Coverage is 1974 to date.
- Web of Science
1990 to date. Includes Science Citation Index Expanded. Indexes over 5,700 major journals in the social sciences, humanities and sciences. Besides author and topic searching, this database allows you to determine which journal articles have cited previously published research. This is called Cited Reference searching. To search by institution, first search by topic. Then analyze the results by institution and view the articles from one of the institutions listed.
Find the Full-text of Journal Articles 
- If you're looking at results in one of the databases listed above just click on the
button next to the article citation. The article will display if it's available electronically. If there is no online access, you'll be given the opportunity to look for a print copy in the MERLIN Catalog
- If you have an article reference, but are not currently in a database, go to the MU Libraries' homepage and select Find a Specific Article/Journal to enter
. Once in you're given the choice to search for a specific article or journal title. If electronic coverage is not available, check the MERLIN Catalog to see if we have a print copy of the journal.
- MU Libraries does not subscribe to all journal titles. If you find a journal article that you need, but cannot find the article using
, click on the option Request through Interlibrary Loan/Request a Copy. ILL@MU is the name for our interlibrary loan service. You can also request an article without using the feature by filling out an article request form which is available from the ILL@MU Logon under About the Libraries on the MU Libraries' homepage . Usually,within a few days, you will receive an e-mail with instructions on how to view the requested article.
Keeping Track of Your References and Making Bibliographies
Find Library Books
- From the MU Libraries' homepage , choose the MERLIN Catalog. Type in words describing the topic you are researching. Once you have a list of hits, select one that looks on-target, then examine the subject headings for that item. Try clicking on that subject to retrieve similar items.
- If you do not find enough books on your topic to meet your needs, change your search to "ALL MERLIN." By doing so you will be checking the library holdings at UMSL, UMKC, UMR and MU all at once.
- Still not enough? Click on the MOBIUS Catalog button. This expands your search to about 50 additional libraries in our state network.
- Most books you find through MERLIN or MOBIUS are requestable online, simply by clicking the "Request Item" link. Books requested through MERLIN or MOBIUS normally take about three working days to arrive.
- You may request books not listed in MERLIN or MOBIUS via Book and Articles Request under About the Libraries on the MU Libraries' homepage .
Find Statistics
- Fedstats
Federal government website for statisics.
- Google Unclesam
Searches state and federal government and US military websites.
- LexisNexis Statistical
Includes statistics from federal and state government, and also from international and private sources.
Further Resources
For further information check the Human Development and Family Research Subject Guide.
This SOURCEPACK is a service of Ellis Library
|