Skip to main content

Navigation

 MU Libraries University of Missouri MU Libraries

MU Libraries Course Research Guide: Humanities Full Text Databases

General text collections

American Memory
http://memory.loc.gov/ammem/index.html
  
American Memory provides access to written and spoken words, sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps, and sheet music that document the American experience.

Early English Books Online Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://eebo.chadwyck.com
  
Also Known as: EEBO
Early English Books Online (EEBO) contains digital facsimile page images of virtually every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America and works in English printed elsewhere from 1473-1700. Access provided through a partnership of the English Department, the College of Arts and Science and the MU Libraries. [more]

Gallica
http://gallica.bnf.fr/
  
Gallica is the gateway to the digital collections of the Bibliothèque nationale de France. Here you will find hundreds of journals, books, photographs, online exhibits. Click on Recherche to search or browse contents.

Internet Archive Text Collection
http://www.archive.org/details/texts
  
Also Known as: Open Access Text Archive
A collection of digital texts in the public domain or with creative commons licenses.

Project Gutenberg
http://www.gutenberg.org/wiki/Main_Page
  
The first creator of ebooks, Project Gutenberg provides over 25,000 works. Audiobooks and digital sheet music are also available from this site.

Government Sources

American State Papers, 1789-1838 Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://infoweb.newsbank.com/?db=ASPA
  
American State Papers, 1789-1838, features not only new bibliographic records for every one of its 6,354 publications, but also superior images created by digitizing every page of every publication from the print volumes issued between 1832 and 1861. Includes information on Indian and white depredations, Indian military personnel, and Indian wars. [more]

Annals of Congress
http://lcweb2.loc.gov/ammem/amlaw/lwac.html
  
Also Known as: The debates and proceedings in the Congress of the United States...
The official record of the proceedings and debates of the United States Congress, published between 1789 and 1824, searchable and browsable online via the Library of Congress. The predecessor of the Congressional Record. The Annals were not published contemporaneously, but were compiled between 1834 and 1856, using the best records available, primarily newspaper accounts. If you'd like to see the print volumes, they are shelved on the 2nd Floor of Ellis Library, call number J11 .R396. [more]

Avalon Project - Documents in Law, History and Diplomacy (Yale)
http://avalon.law.yale.edu/subject_menus/major.asp
  
Key historical documents in searchable full text, browseable by time period or by topic. Covers 2000 BCE to present. [more]

Century of Lawmaking for a New Nation: U. S. Congressional Documents and Debates, 1774-1875
http://lcweb2.loc.gov/ammem/amlaw/lawhome.html
  
Beginning with the Continental Congress in 1774, America's national legislative bodies have kept detailed records of their proceedings. These legislative records dating from 1774-1875 provide a rich primary source history of the construction of the nation.

Making of Modern Law - Legal Treatises 1800-1926 Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://infotrac.galegroup.com/itweb/mizzou_law?db=MOML
  
Making of Modern Law - Legal Treatises 1800-1926 provides digital images on every page of 22,000 legal treatises on US and British law published from 1800 through 1926. [more]

Making of Modern Law - Trials 1600-1926 Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://infotrac.galegroup.com/itweb/mizzou_law?db=MMLT
  
Making of Modern Law - Trials 1600-1926 contains over 7,000 trial transcripts from Harvard, Yale, and the Library of the Bar of the City of New York give scholars insight on class structure and the making of modern law. [more]

Papers of the War Department, 1784-1800
http://wardepartmentpapers.org/
  
[more]

Thomas: U.S. Congress on the Internet
http://thomas.loc.gov/
  
Thomas is a full-text database of legislative information from the U.S. Congress. [more]

U.S. Congressional Serial Set Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://infoweb.newsbank.com/?db=SERIAL&s_startsearch=customized&s_home=mulibraries.missouri.edu
  
The U.S. Congressional Serial Set, 1817-1980 is a vast primary source collection for U.S. political, social, cultural, military and ethnic history, as well as international relations, explorations, genealogy, commerce, industrial development and more. [more]

U.S. Congressional Serial Set Maps Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://infoweb.newsbank.com/?db=SSMAP
  
Also Known as: Serial Set Maps
Readex’ Digital U.S. Congressional Serial Set Map collection includes high quality images of about 52,000 maps of all kinds, dating from the 1400s to the 1970s. The collection ranges from global maps to maps of building interiors; from interoceanic canals to city sidewalks. It covers an incredibly diverse range of topics. It includes but goes far beyond the typical political and land use maps, maps of military conflicts, trails, roads and waterways. There are maps on almost every conceivable topic in history, including alien labor, underwater tunnels, nightclubs, asteroids, shipwrecks, medical care, women’s rights, nearly every tribe of American Indian, and much more. These maps are part of the full Digital U.S. Congressional Serial Set database, but this special map module was created to facilitate access by geography, subject and date.

U.S. Statutes at Large Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://web.lexis-nexis.com/congcomp
  
U.S. Statutes at Large provides full-text access to the laws of the United States from 1789 to the present. Includes public laws, private laws, concurrent resolutions, presidential proclamations, treaties with foreign nations (through 1849) and all treaties with Native American tribes. [more]

U.S. Supreme Court Records and Briefs 1832-1978 Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://infotrac.galegroup.com/itweb/mizzou_law
  
U.S. Supreme Court Records and Briefs 1832-1978 contains nearly 11 million pages of records and briefs brought before the U.S. Supreme Court in the period 1832-1978. [more]

Journals & Newspapers

American Periodical Series Online Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://search.proquest.com/americanperiodicals/advanced?accountid=14576
  
American Periodical Series Online is full-text collection of over 1,100 magazines and journals published between 1741 and the early 1900's. Uneven but growing coverage after 1900. [more]

DigiZeitschriften
http://www.digizeitschriften.de/
  
Also Known as: Das Deutsche Digitale Zeitschriftenarchiv
DigiZeitschriften is a digital archive of academic journals, similar to JSTOR. It contains over 3 million pages from all subject areas. Although the tables of contents are available to all, not all articles are available in full text to non-subscribers. To see only those journals available to all, click on Open Access.

Early American Newspapers. Series I, 1690-1876 Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://infoweb.newsbank.com/?db=EANA&s_search_type=customized
  
Also Known as: Early American Newspapers; America's Historical Newspapers; Archive of Americana
This collection provides images and full-text content access to a selection of historic newspapers based on Clarence Brigham's authoritative bibliography, History and Bibliography of American Newspapers, 1690-1820 and additional subsequent bibliographies. [more]

Historic Missouri Newspaper Project
http://newspapers.umsystem.edu/Archive/skins/missouri/navigator.asp?BP=OK&GZ=T&AW=1080831627453
  
Searchable, full-image online copies of select years from 14 Missouri newspapers. Most newspapers are 19th Century only, but the Columbia Missourian and Hannibal Courier have significant 20th Century holdings. [more]

Illustrated Civil War Newspapers and Magazines Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://staging.lincolnandthecivilwar.com/welcome.asp
  
Contains 65,000 pages with articles, illustrations, cartoons and maps drawn from 49 periodicals, including 15 campaign newspapers published from 1860 to 1865, from four viewpoints? Union, Confederate, Abolitionist, and British. Every page has been scanned to grayscale or color standards at up to 1200 dpi. The database also includes essays detailing the background and importance of each of the publications and on Civil War topics. [more]

JSTOR Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://www.jstor.org
  
JSTOR is a full-text database consisting of the Arts and Sciences I, II, III, IV, Complement, Ecology & Botany and General Science Collections which provide access to the back files of over 300 scholarly journals. Areas included are history, sociology, business, economics, ecology, literature, mathematics, music, political science, population studies, Asian studies, philanthropy and finance. [more]

LION: Literature Online Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://lion.chadwyck.com
  
Also Known as: Lion database
LION: Literature Online provides access to English language literature in full-text, reference works, bibliographies, web pages and full-text journals. [more]

Project Muse Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://muse.jhu.edu/muse.html
  
Project Muse provides full-text access to more than 100 scholarly journal titles from the Johns Hopkins University Press and other University presses covering the Humanities, Social Sciences, and Mathematics. [more]

Specialized text collections

American Civil War: Letters and Diaries Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://cwld.alexanderstreet.com
  
American Civil War: Letters and Diaries offers full-text searchable letters and diaries of soldiers and noncombatants on both sides of the U.S. Civil War. The database can be searched and browsed in many ways, including by U.S. state, topics described, year of writers death, Union or Confederate loyalty, and other variables. [more]

American Verse Project
http://quod.lib.umich.edu/a/amverse/
  
The American Verse Project, a collaboration between the University of Michigan Humanities Text Initiative (HTI) and the University of Michigan Press, provides an electronic archive of volumes of American poetry prior to 1920.

Avalon Project - Documents in Law, History and Diplomacy (Yale)
http://avalon.law.yale.edu/subject_menus/major.asp
  
Key historical documents in searchable full text, browseable by time period or by topic. Covers 2000 BCE to present. [more]

British Women Romantic Poets
http://digital.lib.ucdavis.edu/projects/bwrp/
  

Digital Library of the Caribbean
http://www.dloc.com/
  
Also Known as: DLoC

Digital Scriptorium
http://www.scriptorium.columbia.edu/
  
Digital Scriptorium is an image database of medieval and renaissance manuscripts from many diverse collections.

Documenta Catholica Omnia
http://www.documentacatholicaomnia.eu
  
Also Known as: Multilanguage Catholic E-Books Database
Official versions of primary sources from the Catholic Church, many in Latin. Also includes some English-language and other European language items in ancient and medieval history, such as Thucydites' History Of The Peloponnesian War, and the Anglo-Saxon Chronicle. [more]

Internet Medieval Sourcebook
http://www.fordham.edu/halsall/sbook.html
  

Internet Sacred Text Archive
http://www.sacred-texts.com/index.htm
  
Also Known as: ISTA
Site description: "This site is a freely available archive of electronic texts about religion, mythology, legends and folklore, and occult and esoteric topics. Texts are presented in English translation and, where possible, in the original language."

North American Women's Letters and Diaries Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://nwld.alexanderstreet.com
  
North American Women's Letters and Diaries provides access to full-text letters & diaries by 687 North American women from colonial times to 1950. [more]

Opera del Vocabolario Italiano Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://www.lib.uchicago.edu/efts/ARTFL/projects/OVI
  
Opera del Vocabolario Italiano contains 1,849 vernacular texts, most written prior to 1375. [more]

UM Digital Library
http://digital.library.umsystem.edu
  
UM Digital Library is a repository of digitized Missouri materials. [more]

Victorian Women Writers Project
http://www.indiana.edu/~letrs/vwwp/
  
The goal of the Victorian Women Writers Project is to produce highly accurate transcriptions of works by British women writers of the 19th century. The works include anthologies, novels, political pamphlets, religious tracts, children's books, and volumes of poetry and verse drama.

Women Romantic-Era Writers
http://www.bbk.ac.uk/english/ac/wrew.htm
  

Wright American Fiction
http://www.letrs.indiana.edu/web/w/wright2/
  
Wright American Fiction offers full-text of American novels published from 1851-1875. [more]

Language Corpora

Dictionary of Old English Corpus Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://tapor.library.utoronto.ca/doecorpus/
  
Dictionary of Old English Corpus is a complete record of surviving old English except for some variant manuscripts of individual texts. [more]

Online Corpora
http://corpus.byu.edu/
  
Here are several freely-available corpora that have been created by Mark Davies, Professor of Corpus Linguistics at Brigham Young University

Opera del Vocabolario Italiano Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://www.lib.uchicago.edu/efts/ARTFL/projects/OVI
  
Opera del Vocabolario Italiano contains 1,849 vernacular texts, most written prior to 1375. [more]

ARTFL Project Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://humanities.uchicago.edu/ARTFL/
  
ARTFL Project is a collection of nearly 2000 texts, ranging from classic works of French literature to various kinds of non-fiction prose and technical writing from 13th through the 20th centuries. [more]

Bible in English Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://collections.chadwyck.com
  
Bible in English is a collection of 20 different versions of the English Bible from the tenth to the twentieth century, including 12 full Bibles, 5 New Testament texts, 2 versions of the Gospels only, and translations by William Tyndale of the Pentateuch, Jonah and the New Testament. [more]