Ellis Library Sourcepack for Food Science and Biological Engineering 8402
Professor: Andrew Clarke
Librarian: Brenda Graves-Blevins
Finding books
From the MU Libraries Gateway page, click on MERLIN from the left menu. MERLIN is a catalog of the books, journals, magazines and other materials owned by libraries on this campus, as well as the libraries at the University of Missouri campuses at St. Louis, Kansas City and Rolla.
When you enter a search, by keyword, author, etc., the computer will default to searching only the MU campus, denoted 'MU' in the pull-down menu on the right side of the screen, unless you choose a different library from that menu. By choosing 'ALL MERLIN' from the menu, you can expand your search to include all the libraries in the University of Missouri System. To expand your search still further to find what is available from nearly all the academic libraries in the state of Missouri, click on the MOBIUS button found at the extreme top the the MU Libraries Gateway page.
A record that you find in MERLIN or MOBIUS, provides you with citation information and a call number so that you can find the actual item in a library on this campus or request that an item be sent from one of the other libraries in the MERLIN or MOBIUS systems. Please note that items can only be borrowed from other libraries if they are unavailable from any of of the libraries on the MU campus.
If the item that you want is not available at MU, or through the other MERLIN libraries, or even MOBIUS, you still may request the book through Interlibrary Loan by clicking on the Ill@MU Logon found in the middle of the Gateway page.
Finding articles
Again, from the MU Libraries Gateway page, click on Find a Database from the left menu. Databases are electronic indexes that usually provide you with citations to journal and magazine articles, but citations to book chapters, dissertations and other documents may also be included in some databases. Like the MERLIN Catalog, these databases allow you to search by keyword, author, etc. and to retrieve citations, abstracts and often, even the fulltext of articles.
From the Databases page, if you click on the broad subject division of Science and Technology, you will find another list, further dividing the Science and and Technology division. You may want to look at all the databases assigned to Food Science, but perhaps also to Engineering and Biology, by clicking on each in turn and scrolling through the list.
For the library assignment in this course, the following databases will probably be the most useful to you:
- Biological Abstracts encompasses all disciplines of the life sciences. Coverage includes traditional areas of biology such as botany, zoology and microbiology, as well as related fields such as plant and animal science, agriculture, pharmacology and ecology. Interdisciplinary fields such as biochemistry, biophysics, and biotechnology are also included. Over 6,500 journals worldwide are monitored for inclusion in the database. Coverage is 1980 to date, updating is quarterly and ther some links to fulltext articles.
- CABDirect is produced by CAB International and provides worldwide coverage of agriculture in a very broad sense. Coverage includes plant and animal sciences, forestry, human health and nutrition, veterinary medicine, agricultural biotechnology, ecnomics and engineering. Coverage is 1900 to date, updating is quarterly and ther some links to fulltext.
- Dissertation Abstracts International (DAI) is the subject, title and author guide to virtually every American dissertaion accepted at accredited institutions. It also includes many Canadian dissertations as well as dissertations from Europe and abstrqacts from some Masters theses. All subject areas are covers and author-prepared abstracts are provided. Coverage is 1861 to date, updating is monthly and there is no fulltext.
- Food Science and Technology Abstracts (FSTA) provides coverage of all scientific and technological aspects of the processing and manufacturing of human food products. Coverage includes basic food sciences, food-related human nutrition, biotechnology, hygiene and toxicology, engineering, packaging and all individual foods and food products. Sources for FSTA include more than 2,200 journals, books, reviews, conference proceedings, patents, standards and legislation. Coverage is 1969 to date, updating is weekly and there is no fulltext.
- SciFinder Scholar contains a comprehensive database of the chemical literature and patents, the CAS Registry with information on over 18 million substances, and is highly useful for biotechnology, biology, chemical engineering, toxicology, environmental science, medicine and food science. Coverage is 1907 to date, updating is daily, and ther some links to fulltext.
Important Note: SciFinder is not available directly from the list of Databases, but rather the software must be individuallly loaded on computers. All the computers in Ellis Library have the SciFinder icon on the desktop that you can click on and access the database. If you have trouble finding SciFinder, ask at the Reference Desk. If you want to load the software onto a lab or personal computer, ask at the Reference Desk for one of the Science Librarians, Brenda Graves-Blevins or Janice Dysart. - Web of Science encompasses the Arts and Humanities Citation Index, the Science Citation Index, and the Social Science Citation Index. It covers the most prestigious, heavily cited journals, those with the highest impact factors, in all fields. Coverage is 1990 to date, updating is weekly and there are some links to fulltext.
-
Selected Reference Sources
Journal Citation Reports
READY REFERENCE Z 7403 .S32A History of the University of Missouri
READY REFERENCE LD 3468 .S8The University of Missouri: An Illustrated History
READY REFERENCE LD 3468 .O47Selected Web Sites for Grant Information
http://aaccnet.org/foundation/graduate.asp
This SOURCEPACK is a service of Ellis Library