Library Services for Off-campus Extension Personnel
Find Journal ArticlesIf you just need one or two articles try the following general magazine and journal article database:
- Academic Search Premier
Index to major journals and magazines in all subject areas. Updated continually. Coverage is 1984 to date. Click on Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journals to limit search results to research articles.
Begin at the MU Libraries' Gateway. Select Find a Database and then All Subjects
Choose an appropriate subject area. Select one of the databases from the list and follow instructions on how to conduct a search. Every database has a slightly different interface, but all have help pages that contain tips and/or tutorials.
Subject related databases of possible interest:
- Business Source Premier
Indexes about 3,300 scholarly and trade business journals
1900 to date. Indexes journal articles that relate to agricultural economics, agriculture, forestry, horticulture and recreation.
- LexisNexis Academic
Provides full-text access to many major newspapers and legal materials including court cases, legislation and statutes. Updated continually.
Indexes and abstracts books, journal articles and technical reports dealing with psychology. Coverage is 1887 to date.
PubMed covers international literature on biomedicine, including the allied health fields and the biological and physical sciences, humanities, and information science as they relate to medicine and health care. Coverage is 1953 to date.
- Sociological Abstracts
Indexes and abstracts journals in sociology as well as books, disssertations and sociological association papers. Coverage is 1952 to date.
Find the Full-text of Journal Articles
- If you're looking at results in one of the databases listed above just click on the button next to the article citation. The article will display if it's available electronically. If there is no online access, you'll be given the opportunity to look for a print copy in the MERLIN Catalog
- If you have an article reference, but are not currently in a database, go to the MU Libraries' homepage and select Find a Specific Article/Journal to enter . Once in you're given the choice to search for a specific article or journal title. If electronic coverage is not available, check the MERLIN Catalog to see if we have a print copy of the journal.
- MU Libraries does not subscribe to all journals. If you find a journal article that you need, but cannot find the full-text using select the option Request through Interlibrary Loan/Request a Copy.
You can also request an article without using the feature by filling out an article request form which is available from Book and Articles Request under About the Libraries on the MU Libraries homepage.
You will need to register the first time you use our interlibrary loan service which is called ILL@MU. Usually you will receive the article electronically via email within a few days of placing your request. For more information go to the following link: Obtain materials not owed by MU Libraries
Save Searches and Auto Alerts
- Many resources have the functionality to allow you to save searches to run at a future date or set up Auto Alerts (a saved search that the provider will run whenever the database is updated and email you the results). Go to the following link for instructions for setting up alerts in specific resources: Saving Searches and Auto Alerts
Find Library Books
- From the MU Libraries' homepage, choose the MERLIN Catalog. Type in words describing the topic you are researching. Once you have a list of hits, select one that looks on-target, then examine the subject headings for that item. Click on that subject heading to retrieve similar items. Go to the following link for directions for having books sent to you: Requesting books from MERLIN
- If you do not find enough books on your topic to meet your needs, change your search to "ALL MERLIN." By doing so you will be checking the library holdings at UMSL, UMKC, UMR and MU all at once.
- Still not enough? Click on the MOBIUS Catalog button. This expands your search to about 50 additional libraries in our network. Click on the following link for having these books sent to you: Requesting books from MOBIUS.
- You may request books not listed in the MERLIN Catalog or the MOBIUS Catalog via Request Books & Articles under the About the Libraries section of the MU Libraries' homepage. For more information go to the following link: Obtain materials not owed by MU Libraries
- Browse new books