Sourcepack
English 4040: Career Exploration through Writing
Instructor: Pat Okker
Librarian: Anne Barker
Career Exploration and Job Hunting Sites.
The Job-Hunter's Bible
See also What Color is Your Parachute? (Ready Ref. HF5383.B56)
University of Missouri Career Center
Purdue University Center for Career Opportunities
The Riley Guide
What can you do with an English Major?
Encyclopedia of Careers and Vocational Guidance (Ready Ref. HF5381 .E52)
Great Jobs for English Majors (HF5382.7 .L347 1994)
Jobs for English Majors and Other Smart People (HF5382.7 .M86 1986)
What to do with your English or Communications Degree (HF5382.5 .U5 K57 2007)
MLA Guide to the Job Search (Ready Ref. PB11 .C37 1996)
Career Opportunities for Writers (Ready Ref. PN151.G84 2000)
For more on specific careers, search the MERLIN library catalog.
Do a keyword search for your career name and phrases such as vocational guidance, job hunting, career development, or careers.
Research on careers and professions.
Occupational Outlook Handbook
Career Guide to Industries
Encyclopedia of American Industries
The websites of professional associations provide a picture of the profession and often include job postings. If you know the name of an association a Google search will usually turn up their site. To identify associations, use The Encyclopedia of Associations (Ready Ref. HS17 .G3) Here are some to check out:
American Journalism Review
American Library Association
American Society of Journalists and Authors
Modern Language Association
National Association of Science Writers
National Council of Teachers of English
National Writers Union
Poets and Writers
Teachers of English to Speakers of Other Languages
Research on employers.
Various databases provide access to published articles about potential employers. Academic Search Premier and Academic OneFile are general sources. Business and Company Resource Center and Factiva are good for business information. Lexis-Nexis Academic provides access to newspapers. ERIC or the Education Full Text are good for information on schools and other educational venues.
Search for articles on a specific employer and narrow the results by adding some of these terms:
corporate culture, organizational behavior, job satisfaction, work environment, personnel management, employee attitude, employee benefits, employee morale, employee turnover, employee complaints.
You might also search for articles authored by people affiliated with an institution or company.
Company or institutional websites can give you a picture of the organization and may include information on employee benefits and job openings.
These directories and encyclopedias may also be helpful:
Business and Company Profiles ASAP
International Directory of Company Histories (Ref. HD2721 .I54 1988)
Missouri School Directory
Handbook of Private Schools (Ready Ref. L901 .H3)
Patterson's American Education (Ready Ref. L901 .P3)
Peterson's Private Secondary Schools (Ready Ref. L901 .P98)
Writer's Market (Ready Ref. PN161 .W83)
Résumés and Interviews.
How to write & design a professional résumé to get the job (HF5383 .M329 2008)
Résumés, cover letters, networking, and interviewing ( HF5383 .E424 2007)
Encyclopedia of job-winning resumes (Ready Ref. HF5383 .F77 2006)
Résumé Resource
Relocating
Wikipedia compiles useful information on cities and towns.
American Fact Finder provides recent census data.
Sperling's Best Places allows you to compare places, including cost of living.
This SOURCEPACK is a service of Ellis Library