Researching Regionalism and Race, Gender and Sexuality
Instructor: Debbie Lelekis
- Search the libraries at MU. (MERLIN Catalog)
- Search the libraries of colleges and universities in Missouri. (MOBIUS Catalog)
- WorldCat Searches the libraries of colleges and universities in the U.S.
- Google Print Searches the full text of many recent and out of print books-use for narrower topics
If you do not find what you need on the MU campus, expand your search to Missouri or U.S. libraries. Books requested online from Missouri Libraries (Mobius) usually arrived in 2 to 3 working days. Books requested online through WorldCat take from 7-10 days on average.
Finding Journal Articles
Good databases to search for topics in literature and history are:
- Academic Search Premier (a good multi-disciplinary database with some full text)
- America: History and Life (U.S. history with some links to full text)
- JSTOR (multi-disciplinary database, all scholarly journals, but leaves out past 5 years for most)
- LION (literature, some full text)
The easiest was to find a journal article online is to search one of the databases listed above. Many of the articles will be full text.
If you are trying to find out if a particular journal is available full text. http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://finditatmu.library.missouri.edu.%20
- The Literary Index database indexes the many multivolume literature criticism reference book sets published by Gale. These books include literary criticism from all periods on individual authors and literary works.
- Contemporary Literary Criticism ( Reference Stacks. PN779 .C6)
- Black Literature Criticism ( Reference Stacks PS153 .N5 B556 1992)
- Twentieth-Century Literary Criticism ( Reference Stacks. PN94 .T88 )
- Nineteenth-Century Literature Criticism ( Reference Stacks PN761.N5)
- Literature Criticism, from 1400-1800 ( Reference Stacks PN80 .L57)
- Poetry Criticism (Reference Stacks PN1010 .P499)
- Short Story Criticism (Reference Stacks. PN3373 .S386)
Other helpful books and book sets in the first floor Reference Stacks area located near the main elevators of Ellis Library:
- African American Experience on File (Reference Stacks, E185 .A2533)
Includes chronology, maps, list of important federal and state laws affecting the African American population.
- Encyclopedia of African American Culture and History (Reference Stacks E185 .E54 1996)
- Encyclopedia of American Social History (Reference Stacks HN373 .E63 2001)
This three-volume set is divided into Parts, each including several chapters. Parts of particular interest for this course are Part I: Periods of Social Change, Part III: Ethnic and Racial Subcultures, Part IV: Regionalism and Regional Subcultures, Part V: Space and Place, and Part XI: Family History.
- Encyclopedia of European Social History (Reference Stacks HN373 .E63 2001)
- Historical Statistics of Black America (Reference Stacks E185 .H543 1995)
- United States Government Documents On Women 1800-1990 (Reference Stacks HQ140 .H84 1993)
Organized by topic, for instance "education of women" and "divorce and child support," this bibliography gives Government Documents call numbers and a short summary of the content and/or purpose of each document.
- What American Women Did, 1789-1920 (Reference Stacks HQ1154 .C663 2001)
This book is a year-by-year chronology of important events but also of the overall state of various areas affecting women each year.
Citation Guides for MLA Style
- University of Illinois MLA style guide
- Other MLA links:
- MLA site on documenting World Wide Web sources.
Online Search Tips
Always keep in mind what you are searching (citations? text? summary/abstract? time span? etc.)
To expand your possibilities:
- Use a truncation symbol ,
usually * example : region* to find items containing the words starting with these six letters, including region, regions, regional, regionalism, regionalist, regionalists, etc.
- Use alternate search terms by typing OR or using a "one of these terms" box example: fairy tale or fairytale or folk tale or folktale
- Where possible, make the search engine search full text , not just default fields.
To focus your search:
- Search for an exact phrase by enclosing it in quotation marks or using an exact phrase search box. example: "booker t"
- Require more than one word or phrase by using AND example: inequality and "solitude of self"
o both expand your possibilities and focus your search at the same time :
- Use parentheses to set off groups of alternate terms example: (debat* or argu* or disagree*) and dubois and washington