English 1000
Motifs and Archetypes in The Princess Bride
Instructor: Scott Mitchell (email)
Assignment: In the paper focus on one common archetype or motif from folktales that is present in The Princess Bride. Research this archetype or motif and how it is commonly used, and then in your paper, make a specific argument about how and why Goldman uses that motif. Use your research to support this argument. You must have at least four scholarly sources, a works cited page, and in-text citations.
Reference Books About Literary Motifs and Archetypes
Archetypes and Motifs in Folklore and Literature: A Handbook. Armonk, N.Y: M.E. Sharpe, 2005. Reference GR72.56 .A73 2005
Companion to Literary Myths: Heroes and Archetypes. London: Routledge, 1992. Reference PN56.M95 D4813 1992
Dictionary of Literary Themes and Motifs. New York: Greenwood Press, 1988. Reference PN43 .D48 1988
Grote, David. Common Knowledge: A Reader's Guide to Literary Allusions. New York: Greenwood Press, 1987. Reference PN43 .G68 1987
Man, Myth & Magic: The Illustrated Encyclopedia of Mythology, Religion and the Unknown. New York: Marshall Cavendish, 1995. Reference BF1407 .M34 1995
Thompson, Stith. Motif-Index of Folk-Literature; a Classification of Narrative Elements in Folktales, Ballads, Myths, Fables, Mediaeval Romances, Exempla, Fabliaux, Jest-Books, and Local Legends. Bloomington: Indiana University Press, 1955. Reference GR67 .T52
Oxford English Dictionary - for definitions and word histories
Sources for Book and Film Reviews and Scholarly Criticism
Film Review Annual. Englewood, NJ: J.S. Ozer, 1982. Reference PN1995 .F463 - The 1988 volume includes the full text of 8 film reviews of The Princess Bride and references to five more reviews in magazines and newspapers.
http://scholar.google.com If using Google Scholar from off-campus locations, be sure to set your Scholar Preferences to recognize University of Missouri, so that you will have access to full-text articles in our databases.
Reader's Guide Retrospective Indexes magazine and some scholarly journal articles up to 1982.
JSTOR Full text of journal articles going back to whatever year they were founded, with a moving wall of 5 years.
LION: Literature Online is the main index for literary scholarship, including film studies and folklore.
- Choose Criticism & Reference from the sidebar.
- Choose Criticism to search both the MLA International Bibliography and ABELL, the Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature.
- Choose Reference to search a variety of literary encyclopedias and handbooks.
- Choose Web Sites for a select collection of links.
FIAF is the main film studies database.
Communication and Mass Media Complete includes television and film studies.
Art Index covers all aspects of the visual arts.
GenderWatch provides access to materials all aspects of gender studies.
The Alternative Press Index indexes alternative, radical, and left periodicals, magazines, and newspapers.
Academic Search Premier indexes the core journals in all fields and many popular and news sources.
Lexis Nexis Academic is a major source for the full text of newspapers, many magazines, television and radio transcripts, and a collection of blogs. To find book reviews in Lexis Nexis choose "News", then under select sources choose "Book, movie, music, play, and video reviews".
If an article looks interesting, but there is no immediate link to full text, use the gold
button to run a search for full text in other databases and a search for print versions in the MERLIN Catalog.
Finding Books Using the MERLIN Catalog
The MERLIN catalog uses broad subject headings. Some useful headings are:
-
Folk literature - themes, motives
- Folklore - europe
- Fairy tales - history and criticism
Citing Your Sources
See the library's page on citation styles for examples of how to format your in-text citations and bibliography.
Zotero is a plugin for the Firefox browser. When Zotero is installed, you can download your citations from a library catalog, a database, or other bibliographically marked Web site into a file that will auto-format a bibliography for you. To keep your Zotero citations with you from one computer to another, you can download Portable Firefox, store it on a thumb drive, and download Zotero onto it.
For Assistance With Research, Contact a Reference Librarian
Librarians who contributed to this Sourcepack: Rachel Brekhus, Anne Barker