Sourcepack
English 1000
Nobel Peace Prize Winners (1970 to present)
Instructor: Juliet Rodeman
-
FINDING BACKGROUND INFORMATION
Nobel Prize Website: NobelPrize.org
-
FINDING BOOKS
MERLIN CATALOG & MOBIUS CATALOG
Subject Search : Search the name of the Nobel Peace Prize winner (type last name first)
Examples :
- Hammarskjold Dag
- Wiesel Elie
- Wiesel Elie 1928 Biography
- Wiesel Elie 1928 Political and Social Views
- Wiesel Elie 1928 Religion
Other subject headings:
- Nobel Prizes
- Nobel Prizes Biography
- Nobel Prizes History 20th century
Also use the Keyword Search to search for more information.
-
FINDING ARTICLES
DATABASES
- Academic Search Premier (1975 to date)
The world's largest academic multi-disciplinary database covering all subject areas. Indexes approximately 8,000 periodicals, including 4,700 full-text periodicals.- Basic Search Example :
- Elie Wiesel
- Elie Wiesel and biography
- Advanced Search Example :
- Elie Wiesel (limit to PE PEOPLE field)
- Elie Wiesel (limit to PE PEOPLE field)
- Basic Search Example :
- MasterFILE Premier (1984 to date)
Indexes over 2,600 magazines and journals, including 1,200 full-text general reference publications
- Lexis-Nexis Academic (coverage varies; back to early 80's mostly)
Provides full-text coverage of current and back issues of major newspapers, journals, and news sources around the world.- Examples:
- Select: General Tab--Search Elie Wiesel (limit to Major U.S. and World Publications)
- Select: News Tab--Search Elie Wiesel (limit to Headline)
- Select: People Tab--Search Wiesel (last name) and Elie (first name)
- Examples:
- ProQuest Historical Newspapers
New York Times---full coverage---1851-2003 Wall Street Journal---full coverage---1889-1989
- CQ Researcher
In-depth, analytical reports on the most current and controversial issues of the day. Examples : "Land Mines" "Middle East Peace"
- Print Index: Readers' Guide to Periodical Literature (1900—present) (REF AI 3 .R48—Ready Reference) Indexes general interest periodicals. There is also an online version of much of the Reader's Guide called Reader's Guide Retrospective, 1890-1982.
-
FINDING THE FULL-TEXT OF JOURNAL ARTICLES
If you're looking at results in one of the databases listed above, just click on the
article linker button next to the article citation. The article will display if it's available electronically. If there is no online access, you'll be give the opportunity to look for a print copy in the MERLIN Catalog.
If you have an article reference, but are not currently in a database, go to the MU Libraries' Gateway page and click "Find a Specific Article or Journal" link on the left hand side of the page. Type in the name of the journal or, if you have the citation, a specific journal article. If electronic coverage is not available, check the MERLIN Catalog to see if we have a print subscription to the journal. MU Libraries does not subscribe to all journal titles.
If you find a journal article that you need, but cannot find the article using
article linker, fill out a journal article request form. You will need to register the first time you use our interlibrary loan service which is calledhttps://ill.mul.missouri.edu/MUU/logon.html. Usually you will receive the article electronically via email within a few days of placing your request.
-
OTHER SOURCES
- Nobel Prize Newsletter
- Gale Virtual Reference Library is a database of encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research.
- Oxford Reference Online Premium is a database of over 100 reference works covering history, literature, art, religion, philosophy, law, science and many other areas.
- Current Biography (1955 to present) (REF CT 100 .C8; latest 10 years on Ready Ref)
- Nobelstiftelsen Peace (Vols. 1-7; v. 3 1951-1970, v. 4 1971-1980, v. 5 1981-1990, v.6 1991-1995; v. 7 - 1996-2000 ( JZ 5537 .P43)
- The Who's Who of Nobel Prize Winners 1901-1995 ( REF AS 911 .N9 .W53 1996)
- World Encyclopedia of Peace ( REF JX 1952 .W63 1986 4 vols.)
Vol. 3 ---Nobel Peace Prize Laureates
This SOURCEPACK is a service of Ellis Library