Content
Sourcepack
English 1000 Narrating the Wartime Experience
Instructor: Stephanie KartalopoulosLibrarian: Anne Barker
Some research tricks
- Clarify your questions and the types of information you need to answer them.
- Think about where types of information are typically published.
- Use a variety of words: nature, environment, landscape, ecology.
- Use truncation to find word variants: ecolog* = ecology, ecologic, ecologist, etc.
- Use both broad and narrow terms.
- Examine records for subject headings or descriptors.
- Put OR between words to search for more.
- Put AND between words to narrow your results.
- Search authors with surname first for more precision.
Finding Books
- The MERLIN catalog shows materials in the MU Libraries.
- The MOBIUS catalog shows materials from Missouri academic libraries.
- WorldCat shows materials from many libraries worldwide.
- Google Books searches the text of books cover-to-cover. Look for the Find this book in a library link in the right sidebar when the full text is not available online.
Here are some useful terms for searching:
war stories, war poetry, war correspondents, propaganda
media, television, journalism, press coverage, narrative, rhetoric, historiography, personal narratives, correspondence, diaries
pictorial works, comic books, posters, graphic novel, in art, in music, in literature, language
Finding Articles
Use these databases to identify articles on your topic:
- LION: Literature Online
Choose Criticism & Reference, then Criticism - Communication and Mass Media Complete
- Academic Search Premier provides the core journals in all fields.
- PsycInfo
- Art Index covers all the visual arts, including film
- FIAF covers film and television
Click on
to locate a copy of the article online, in the library, or through ILL@MU.
Visual and Multimedia Sources
- ArtStor
- Associated Press Multimedia Archive
- Internet Archive
- Google Images
- Google Video
- American Memory
To find your way around Ellis Library
This SOURCEPACK is a service of Ellis Library