My Turn Columns
Instructor: Jennifer Hertelein, Jahq7d@mizzou.edu
Finding "My Turn" columns online
- Go to http://finditatmu.library.missouri.edu/.
- Type "Newsweek" in the blank
- Choose the "Get Journal" link to EBSCO Academic Search Premier.
- Click on the "Advanced Search" link.
- Type (in quotes) "section my turn" in the first search box and select All Text in the dropdown menu.
- Click on individual results to get the full text of the articles.
If you are using these databases from an off-campus location, and you are asked for a login i.d. and password, use your PawPrint (part of your MU email address before the @ sign) and your MU email password.
- Academic Search Premier
A general database containing citations with some full text to articles on a variety of topics. You can limit your search to scholarly (peer reviewed) journals. MU users only
- CQ Researcher
"Packages" of pro/con information on many topics. MU users only
- Sociological Abstract
Citations with some full text to articles on issues relating to society and its issues and problems. Sources indexed here are scholarly (peer reviewed). MU users only
Citations with some full text to articles on issues relating to the individual person's issues and problems. Sources indexed here are scholarly (peer reviewed). MU users only
- ERIC citations with some full text to articles on issues relating to education (preschool through college). Sources indexed here are scholarly (peer reviewed). "EJ" items are journal articles; "ED" items are government documents (can be short like pamphlets or long like books). MU users only
- http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://finditatmu.library.missouri.edu (e-journal lookup service)
If you find an article citation in one of the above databases, but the full text of the article is not included, check here to see if there is another database that carries the journal. Just type the name of the journal/magazine/newspaper you want, and note the dates it is available. If it's unavailable here, check the journal title in the MERLIN Catalog to see if the library has it in paper format. MU users only
The MERLIN library catalog may be scoped for this campus only, or to search books available for quick loan from other campuses.
Take advantage of the catalog's keyword search and its capability to "truncate" (have it search for all words STARTING with a certain word stem). For example, to do a search on single-sex education, try this: single-sex and (educat* or school*) .
This will pick up all plurals, all the variations of "education, educating, educated, educators" etc. -- and using synonyms will increase your search results.
Special Book Series on Controversial Issues:
- Opposing Viewpoints
- Taking Sides
- Reference Shelf
To borrow books from another Missouri library, look for a link to MOBIUS from the search results list or from the catalog record for an individual books (for example, if our copy is checked out).
To find books available for interlibrary loan from other states, use the Worldcat database. further study
Most English classes prefer that you use the Modern Language Association (MLA) style of citation. There are several websites that contain helpful excerpts from the MLA Style Manual. Check Purdue University's site at http://owl.english.purdue.edu/handouts/research/r_mla.html for explanations and examples of how to cite different sources. Ellis Library also has a copy of the latest edition of the entire MLA Style Manual - ask at the Reference Desk at the front of the Information Commons on the First Floor of Ellis Library.
Good luck! Find something interesting!
This SOURCEPACK is a service of Ellis Library