Content
Sourcepack
English 1000
Music & History
Instructor: James Miller
Background Sources
American Decades READY REF E169.12.A419 1994 Encyclopedia of American Social History REF HN57.E58 1993
Books
Search the MERLIN Library Catalog to find books.
Select the Keyword search and type in the words describing your topic.
Example: Sacco and Vanzetti
Articles
To find journal, magazine and newspaper articles, you need to search an index for your topic. The MU Libraries offer indexes in both print and electronic format. For this assignment, try searching these indexes:
- Academic Search Premier
A multi-displicinary database covering all subject areas. - America: History and Life
Iindexes articles on U.S. history in history-related journals. - Historical Abstracts
- Indexes articles on world history (non U.S.) in history-related journals
- Readers' Guide to Periodical Literature (Ready Ref AI3.R48) indexes articles in general interest periodicals from 1900-present.
Once you have identified the citations for articles you need, you can search http://finditatmu.library.missouri.edu/(the MU Libraries' electronic journals lookup service) to check if the journal is available full-text electronically. Just type the name of the journal/magazine/newspaper you want and note the dates available.
If it is not available in Findit@MU, search for the journal title in the MERLIN Library Catalog to see if the library has it in paper format.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers This database provides the full-image for the New York Times from 1851-1999 and the Wall Street Journal from 1889-1985
This SOURCEPACK is a service of Ellis Library