Content
Sourcepack
English 1000 Exploring Media Bias
Some research tricks
- Clarify your questions and the types of information you need to answer them.
- Think about where types of information are typically published.
- Use a variety of words: nature, environment, landscape, ecology.
- Use truncation to find word variants: ecolog* = ecology, ecologic, ecologist, etc.
- Use both broad and narrow terms.
- Examine records for subject headings or descriptors.
- Put OR between words to search for more.
- Put AND between words to narrow your results.
- Search authors with surname first for more precision.
Background Resources
- The Gale Virtual Reference Library provides specialized online encyclopedias for background information.
- CQ Researcher provides pro/con and background on a wide variety of issues.
- Oxford Reference Online Premier provides concise reference sources.
Finding Books
- The MERLIN catalog shows materials in the MU Libraries.
- The MOBIUS catalog shows materials from Missouri academic libraries.
- WorldCat shows materials from many libraries worldwide.
Finding Articles
Use these databases to identify articles on your topic:
- Academic Search Premier provides the core journals in all fields.
- Newsbank
- Newspaper Source
- Lexis/Nexis Academic
- Choose News, then among many categories:
- General News
- World News
- Arts & Sports News
- News Transcripts
- University News
- Choose News, then among many categories:
- Alternative Press Index
Internet Information
- Google Directory
- Google Blog Search
- Evaluating Internet Information (from Johns Hopkins University)
Click on
to locate a copy of the article online, in the library, or through ILL@MU.
To locate older materials, use the following databases and reference tools.
- C19: The Nineteenth Century Index
- The American Periodicals Series Online (1740-1900)
- Eighteenth Century Collections Online
- The Reader's Guide to Periodical Literature (1890-) (Ready Ref. AI3 .R48)
To find your way around Ellis Library
This SOURCEPACK is a service of Ellis Library