Subject Librarians
Janice Dysart
(573) 882-1828
DysartJ@missouri.edu
Subject Specialist for:
Architectural Studies
Atmospheric Science
Biochemistry
Biology
Chemistry
Human Development and Family Studies
Nutrition
Personal Financial Management
Physics
MU Libraries Course Research Guide: Horror Films and the Family
Instructor: Kim McCaffreyBackground Information
American Decades ![]()
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://galenet.galegroup.com/servlet/eBooks?ste=22&docNum=CX3468399999&q=morenetuomcolumProvides information about what was going on in the United States decade by decade from 1900 to 1999. Includes information on the arts, business, fashion, politics, sports, religion, science, social trends, education and media. [more]
CQ Researcher ![]()
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://library.cqpress.com/cqresearcherEach week, CQ Researcher writes a detailed, 20+ page analysis of "hot issue" from the news. Each analysis includes a Chronology section which will help you determine what was happening in specific decades with regard to family issues. Use Browse by Topic on the left side of the screen to select Family and Domestic Life. Then select the topic and report of interest. [more]
Encyclopedia of Children and Childhood: In History and Society ![]()
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://go.galegroup.com/ps/aboutEbook.do?pubDate=120040000&actionString=DO_DISPLAY_ABOUT_PAGE&inPS=true&prodId=GVRL&userGroupName=morenetuomcolum&searchType=BasicSearchForm&docId=GALE%7C5CUHPresents the social and cultural history of childhood from antiquity to the present including education, parenting, child labor, economics, images of childhood, children's literature, play, toys and games, health, physiology, law, the criminal justice system and social welfare.
Gale Virtual Reference Library ![]()
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://infotrac.galegroup.com/itweb/morenetuomcolum?db=GVRLGale Virtual Reference Library is a database of encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research. [more]
Google News Timeline
http://newstimeline.googlelabs.com/
International Encyclopedia of Marriage and Family ![]()
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://go.galegroup.com/ps/aboutEbook.do?actionString=DO_DISPLAY_ABOUT_PAGE&inPS=true&prodId=GVRL&userGroupName=morenetuomcolum&searchType=BasicSearchForm&docId=GALE%7C9780028658834&contentSegment=9780028658834Includes articles specific to countries and to religious traditions, examining the history of family life within these cultures and discussing how families have been affected by political and social change.
Social Trends and Indicators ![]()
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://go.galegroup.com/ps/aboutEbook.do?actionString=DO_DISPLAY_ABOUT_PAGE&inPS=true&prodId=GVRL&userGroupName=morenetuomcolum&searchType=BasicSearchForm&docId=GALE|9780787677473&contentSegment=9780787677473Provides in-depth statistics on social issues with expert analyses. Data is drawn from Federal agencies, newspapers and stock exchanges. Individual volumes are titled: 1. Work & Leisure; 2. Community & Education; 3. Health & Illness; and 4. Crime & Justice.
Articles
Academic OneFile ![]()
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://infotrac.galegroup.com/itweb/morenetuomcolum?db=AONEAcademic OneFile is a multidisciplinary database indexing both magazines and journals.
Academic Search Premier ![]()
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?authtype=ip,uid&profile=ehost&defaultdb=aphBroad database indexing recent (1984 and later) scholarly journals and some magazines across many subject areas. [more]
America History and Life ![]()
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?authtype=ip,uid&profile=ehost&defaultdb=ahlContains citations and abstracts of books, dissertations, and journal articles published worldwide. Covers all aspects of U.S. and Canadian history, culture, and current affairs from prehistoric times to the present. You can limit your results to a specific historical period by entering date ranges. [more]
FIAF ![]()
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://ovidsp.ovid.com/ovidweb.cgi?T=JS&MODE=ovid&PAGE=main&NEWS=n&D=iitp,bfmp,idft,trfa,iifp,lopiFIAF indexes the film and television literature from 300 periodicals. [more]
Film Literature Index
http://webapp1.dlib.indiana.edu/fli/advancedSearch.jspFLI indexes 150 film and television periodicals from 30 countries cover-to-cover and 200 other periodicals selectively for articles on film and television. The periodicals range from the scholarly to the popular. [more]
Reader's Guide Retrospective 1890-1982 ![]()
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://vnweb.hwwilsonweb.com/hww/jumpstart.jhtml?CustID=0000114818&prod=RGRReaders Guide Retrospective is a database containing comprehensive indexing of the most popular general-interest periodicals published in the United States and reflects the history of 20th century America. [more]
Sociological Abstracts ![]()
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://www.csa.com/htbin/dbrng.cgi?username=columbia&access=columbia8&db=socioabs-set-cCSA Sociological Abstracts abstracts and indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. [more]