Content
English 1000 Library Sourcepack:
Hip Hop
Instructor:Jesse Adolph jlatfc@mizzou.edu
#1 Tate Hall, MU English Department
Office phone (573) 882-0681
_____________________________________________________________________________________________
BOOKS
Selected Books on Hip Hop
It's bigger than hip-hop : the rise of the post-hip-hop generation
MU Ellis E185.61 .A725 2008
Hip-hop revolution : the culture and politics of rap
MU Ellis ML3918.R37 O33 2007
"It's bigger that hip hop" [electronic resource] : popular rap music and the politics of the hip hop generation
Hip hop in American cinema
MU Ellis PN1995.9.H46 D66 2007
Rhythm and blues, rap, and hip-hop
MU Ellis ML102.P66 H6 2006
From Black power to hip hop : racism, nationalism, and feminism
MU Ellis E185.625 .H55 2006
Why white kids love hip-hop : wankstas, wiggers, wannabes, and the new reality of race in America
MU Ellis ML3531 .K58 2005
Shamanism, racism, and hip-hop culture : essays on White supremacy and Black subversion
MU Ellis BF1621 .P43 2005
Hip hop matters : politics, pop culture, and the struggle for the soul of a movement
MU Ellis ML3531 .W38 2005
The hip hop generation : young Blacks and the crisis in African American culture
MU Ellis E185.86 .K58 2002
Hip Hop divas
MU Ellis ML3531 .H57 2001
Hip hop America
MU Ellis ML3531 .G46 1998
Black girlhood celebration : toward a hip-hop feminist pedagogy
MU Ellis LC2731 .B757 2009
Party crashing : how the hip-hop generation declared political independence
MU Ellis E185 .G55 2008
Stealing empire : P2P, intellectual property and hip-hop subversion
MU Ellis HM846 .H38 2008
All about the beat : why hip-hop can't save Black America
MU Ellis E185.615 .M3538 2008
Other people's property : a shadow history of hip-hop in white America
MU Ellis E184.A1 T36 2007
A rhyme is a terrible thing to waste : hip hop and the creation of a political philosophy
MU Ellis ML3531 .U85 2006
Buying whiteness : race, culture, and identity from Columbus to Hip Hop
MU Ellis PR408.R34 T39 2005
Can't stop, won't stop : a history of the hip-hop generation
MU Ellis ML3531 .C5 2005
Queens reigns supreme : Fat Cat, 50 Cent and the rise of the hip-hop hustler
MU Ellis HV6452.N7 B76 2005
If an item is not available on campus, you may be able to obtain it through MERLIN or MOBIUS.
Selected Subject Headings
- Hip Hop
- Hip Hop Brazil Sao Paulo
- Hip Hop California Los Angeles
- Hip Hop Culture -- See Hip-hop
- Hip Hop Dance Brazil Sao Paulo
- Hip Hop Feminism United States
- Hip Hop Fiction
- Hip Hop In Motion Pictures
- Hip Hop Miscellanea
- Hip Hop Music -- See Rap (Music)
- Hip Hop New York State New York
- Hip Hop New York State New York Pictorial Works
- Hip Hop Pictorial Works
- Hip Hop Poetry
- Hip Hop Political Aspects
- Hip Hop Religious Aspects
- Hip Hop Social Aspects
- Hip Hop Social Aspects United States
- Hip Hop South Africa
- Hip Hop Southern States
- Hip Hop United States
- Hip Hop United States History
- Hip Hop United States Terminology
Location Guide
Finding Articles
Use these databases to identify articles on your topic:
Academic Search Premier provides the core journals in all fields ABI/Inform ATLA Religion Database PsycINFO
Sociological Abstracts Scopus Film Literature Index America History and Life CQ Researcher Education Full Text ERIC Google Scholar JSTOR Lexis/Nexis Academic LION Project Muse MEDLINE (Ovid) Technology Research Database (TRD) WorldCat
Possible key/subject/title words
hip hop
grandmaster flash
misogyny and hip hop
femininity and hip hop
masculinity and hip hop
white corporate influence and hip hop
turntablism
breakdance
beatboxing
censorship and hip hop
russell simmons
tony tone
bling and hip hop
women and hip hop
jessica care moore
imani perry
FINDING THE FULL-TEXT OF JOURNAL ARTICLES
If you're looking at results in one of the databases listed above, just click on the
article linker button next to the article citation. The article will display if it's available electronically. If there is no online access, you'll be given the opportunity to look for a print copy in the MERLIN Catalog.
If you have an article reference, but are not currently in a database, go to the MU Libraries' Gateway page and click "Find a Specific Article or Journal" link on the left hand side of the page. Type in the name of the journal or, if you have the citation, a specific journal article. If electronic coverage is not available, check the MERLIN Catalog to see if we have a print subscription to the journal. MU Libraries does not subscribe to all journal titles.
If you find a journal article that you need, but cannot find the article using
article linker, fill out a journal article request form.You will need to register the first time you use our interlibrary loan service which is called https://ill.mul.missouri.edu/MUU/logon.html. Usually you will receive the article electronically via email within a few days of placing your request.
Search Techniques
Boolean Logic
- Truncation symbols (?, *, !, +) will provide variant spelling after the root word.
- A wildcard (?, *) is a character that may be used in a search term to represent one or more other characters.
- TOO FEW hits: OR to add synonyms; individual key words, NOT whole phrases; drop concept(s) with AND; truncate; consider other databases
- TOO MANY hits: AND another concept into search; use other available limiters in the database
- Do an advanced search and take advantage of the fields provided.
Internet Information
- Google Directory
- Google Blog Search
- Evaluating Internet Information (from Johns Hopkins University)
Selected Links
MTV Music News
Lil Wayne
Hip Hop Directory
Original Hip-Hop Lyrics Archive
SOHH
Hip Hop Music Videos
Hip Hop Directory. Com
BET
Davey D's Hip Hop Daily Corner
Defsounds
Hip Hop Kidz
Six Shot
Rap Dictionary
Hot 107.1
Naughty by Nature
Hip Hop Archive
The Boards
Hardcore Hip-Hop Reviews & Interviews
T.I.
LL Cool J
Young Jeezy
Queen Latifah
Snoop Dogg
Lil Kim
Kanye West
Run DMC
Mos Def
Digital Underground
Cypress Hill
dead prez
Selected Organizations
Hip Hop Association
Hip Hop Journalism Association
World Hip Hop Association
Gospel Hip Hop Association
Hip Hop Caucus
Cite your Sources
If you use articles you obtained in full-text version directly from a library database, the citation protocol will be different than if you had found the article in paper copy in the library.
• zotero http://www.zotero.org/compatible with Mozilla
Tutorials & Videos
Paula Roper
168 Ellis Library
University of Missouri
Columbia, MO 65201
573/882-3326
roperp@missouri.edu